283 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great Recipe! The whole family loved this soup. We used to order potato chowder when we went out but now I've noticed the kids don't any other except what mom makes. Thanks for the great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
live2cookmom January 18, 2009

My family thought this was great! This deserves 5 stars just for how easy it is to make. Thanks so much for sharing, I'll definitely be making this one again and again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mymzi January 16, 2009

My family enjoyed this chowder for our Sunday dinner. I did add corn & carrots to add some color & more flavors. I had to use water & boullions for broth. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Lil' Momma Jenn January 11, 2009

great recipe! Loved the taste, I added some seasonings (cumin, etc), celery and omitted one can of stock for cream of celery soup. Served with sour cream and cheese. My husband loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jerseygirl1978 January 07, 2009

Will definitely make this again!! I like that I could have the naked soup, which is nearly fat free using the right ingredients, and then add the cheese and bacon on top for the rest of the family. Using the low fat cream-of-whatever soup, neufchatel cheese and fat free broth, it's 4 WW pts per serving. And best of all, it's delicious!!! I sort of halved the recipe using half of everything but the cream-of-whatever soup (whole can) and broth (32 oz). I added 1 c frozen corn, which I thought the soup needed for texture. That's what brought it up to 4 points. Without it (and the cheese & bacon, of course!), it's only 3 points.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amy020 January 01, 2009

I was not impressed with this soup. It was just ok. The picture makes it look so good and tasty, however it lacked a strong flavor. It needed more spice and less cream.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef LLB December 31, 2008

This is SO good! Since I don't eat meat, I made it vegetarian: vegetable broth instead of chicken, cream of mushroom instead of cream of chicken, no bacon. Added a cup and a half of frozen corn after reading other reviews and it was awesome! Hubby who is a total carnivore and very picky loved it too. Easy and delicious! Thanks Stacylu!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AG in LA December 12, 2008

I know it's potato chowder, but I took other reviewers suggestions and made it into corn chowder. I added 2 stalks of celery with the potatoes and onion. Also poured in a can of corn and creamed corn after cooking the 10 hours. I had no cream cheese on hand so I substituted velveeta. It tastes great!! Oh, and I added a bay leaf at the beginning with the veggies. I love the way a bay leaf adds a different touch to things. Thanks for a great addition to my cookbook. I'll be dumping my old recipe for this one.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs.Chance December 07, 2008

I have to say, this is pretty good for how simple the recipe is. The only changes I made were, a little salt and pepper, and I added some shredded cheddar which thickened it up just a little and gave it a little more color. I used red skinned potatoes because that's what I had, so I didn't cook it quite as long as the recipe said. Very good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ericka B December 07, 2008
Crock-Pot Potato Chowder