283 Reviews

Want this chowder to be really over the top? Make recipe as stated but add these spices: 1 1/2 tsp. white pepper, 1 tsp. dried basil, and 1/2 tsp. thyme. We garnished ours with: bacon, sour cream, shredded cheddar cheese, and lots of sliced green onions (the green part) YUM!!

22 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melanie Adrienne January 21, 2011

Stacylu, 5 stars for flavor and ease! I went a little nuts at my roomates suggestions and started adding other good stuff to this recipe which is aother good reason for 5 stars. Let's see...we added whole kernel and creamed corn. I used grilled, cajun spiced sausage instead of bacon because it's what I had on hand. I didn't realize until too late that I used herbed chicken broth. I didn't have chives either. I didn't set out to make so many additions to this recipe but it turned out great anyway! I served with buttermilk cornbread. I will have the leftovers today for lunch and tonight with grilled cabbage. Thanks for posting!!

14 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Smilynn January 14, 2003

Fantastic! I only had 3 large russet potatoes, so I used 3 sweet potatoes and the combined flavor was out of this world! This has become one of my go-to recipes. Thank you.

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kelsharitt December 08, 2010

WONDERFUL AND EASY! The hardest part is dicing up all the potatoes! I skipped the onions and added chopped celery, chopped carrots, paprika, garlic powder, natures seasonings, 1 can cheddar cheese soup, velveeta cheese, and did about 1/2 of the cream cheese since I used some velveeta. This is my second time making it and I will continue to make it! We think it tastes better than from a restaurant! Thanks for sharing!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
erising November 17, 2010

I'm giving this recipe 3 stars because it is a great start, but I had to do some doctoring to make it more "chowder like". The recipe was very simple and went together quickly. However, I have to agree with others that the consistancy was not what I was hoping for with a name like chowder. I followed the recipe to a "T" at first, besides adding two cups of cubed ham at the start. I let it cook for around 9 hours and checked on it. It was very watery and a tad bit on the bland side (personal preference), so I did some altering. I took a ladle and scooped out what looked to be about the equivalent of about two of the cans of broth. I then removed two cups of the potatoes, mashed them, then returned them to the pot and stirred in. The consistancy was perfect after that. To adjust the flavor to my liking, I added two tablespoons of minced garlic and a teaspoon of thyme. My husband and I thought it was perfect after that. I plan on putting this recipe, with my alterations, into regular rotation in our house. Thanks for sharing this recipe, it was a great base for us!

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mmm..Spaghetti February 15, 2011

I only gave this recipe 4 stars because I had to do some tweaking, but once I did it was VERY good! I ended up mashing the potatoes to get more of a "chowder" consistency. I also added a can of corn and some cayenne pepper. Without that, it was a bit bland. BF requested that I make this many times again. Thanks for the recipe!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chickn January 04, 2011

I like the simplicity of the recipe and the basic ingredients regularly on hand. The whole family liked it which is exceptional. Thanks for the tasty recipe!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heather Thompson March 05, 2003

Delicious and simple! This chowder was a hit with my family of three. I made the recipe exactly as written and served it with crumbled bacon, shredded cheddar and scallions. I believe diced celery and carrots would be a great addition. This recipe is a keeper. Thanks, stacylu!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tsquaredg February 16, 2011

Yummy! Very easy and the finished product is delicious! I used cream of celery soup and vegetable broth to make it vegetarian and it was a big hit. Very creamy (used reduced fat cream cheese) and flavorful. Will definitely make again!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie F November 18, 2010

Delicious! I added an extra can of Cream of Chicken soup and an 8 oz package of diced ham to the crockpot when I got home from work. I also mashed a few of the potatoes as some had suggested...perfect consistency! Husband thought it was "Very Good" :-) and my son cleaned his bowl as well!

Definitely a recipe I will be making again!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CarRod February 17, 2011
Crock-Pot Potato Chowder