Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Slow-Cooker Favorites

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    52 Low-and-Slow Meals
    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    Try Potatoes, Pizza or Cake
    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Effortless One-Pot Treats
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock-Pot Potato Chowder Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock-Pot Potato Chowder

    Average Rating:

    281 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 281

    Sort by:

    • on January 21, 2011

      Want this chowder to be really over the top? Make recipe as stated but add these spices: 1 1/2 tsp. white pepper, 1 tsp. dried basil, and 1/2 tsp. thyme. We garnished ours with: bacon, sour cream, shredded cheddar cheese, and lots of sliced green onions (the green part) YUM!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2003

      Stacylu, 5 stars for flavor and ease! I went a little nuts at my roomates suggestions and started adding other good stuff to this recipe which is aother good reason for 5 stars. Let's see...we added whole kernel and creamed corn. I used grilled, cajun spiced sausage instead of bacon because it's what I had on hand. I didn't realize until too late that I used herbed chicken broth. I didn't have chives either. I didn't set out to make so many additions to this recipe but it turned out great anyway! I served with buttermilk cornbread. I will have the leftovers today for lunch and tonight with grilled cabbage. Thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2010

      Fantastic! I only had 3 large russet potatoes, so I used 3 sweet potatoes and the combined flavor was out of this world! This has become one of my go-to recipes. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2010

      WONDERFUL AND EASY! The hardest part is dicing up all the potatoes! I skipped the onions and added chopped celery, chopped carrots, paprika, garlic powder, natures seasonings, 1 can cheddar cheese soup, velveeta cheese, and did about 1/2 of the cream cheese since I used some velveeta. This is my second time making it and I will continue to make it! We think it tastes better than from a restaurant! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2011

      I'm giving this recipe 3 stars because it is a great start, but I had to do some doctoring to make it more "chowder like". The recipe was very simple and went together quickly. However, I have to agree with others that the consistancy was not what I was hoping for with a name like chowder. I followed the recipe to a "T" at first, besides adding two cups of cubed ham at the start. I let it cook for around 9 hours and checked on it. It was very watery and a tad bit on the bland side (personal preference), so I did some altering. I took a ladle and scooped out what looked to be about the equivalent of about two of the cans of broth. I then removed two cups of the potatoes, mashed them, then returned them to the pot and stirred in. The consistancy was perfect after that. To adjust the flavor to my liking, I added two tablespoons of minced garlic and a teaspoon of thyme. My husband and I thought it was perfect after that. I plan on putting this recipe, with my alterations, into regular rotation in our house. Thanks for sharing this recipe, it was a great base for us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2011

      I only gave this recipe 4 stars because I had to do some tweaking, but once I did it was VERY good! I ended up mashing the potatoes to get more of a "chowder" consistency. I also added a can of corn and some cayenne pepper. Without that, it was a bit bland. BF requested that I make this many times again. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2003

      I like the simplicity of the recipe and the basic ingredients regularly on hand. The whole family liked it which is exceptional. Thanks for the tasty recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2011

      Delicious and simple! This chowder was a hit with my family of three. I made the recipe exactly as written and served it with crumbled bacon, shredded cheddar and scallions. I believe diced celery and carrots would be a great addition. This recipe is a keeper. Thanks, stacylu!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2010

      Yummy! Very easy and the finished product is delicious! I used cream of celery soup and vegetable broth to make it vegetarian and it was a big hit. Very creamy (used reduced fat cream cheese) and flavorful. Will definitely make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2011

      Delicious! I added an extra can of Cream of Chicken soup and an 8 oz package of diced ham to the crockpot when I got home from work. I also mashed a few of the potatoes as some had suggested...perfect consistency! Husband thought it was "Very Good" :-) and my son cleaned his bowl as well!

      Definitely a recipe I will be making again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2010

      This is a very good soup! Great to mix up and forget about on a shopping day. I used this basic recipe and then added to it as a way to clean out my refrigerator. I used up some celery that had seen better days. I added some carrots, chives, and onions. Instead of the bacon, I stirred in some leftover ham when I added the low fat cream cheese to the soup. Stirred in a little chuck of Velveeta, I had left too. The leftovers heated up well, too. It was a winner and will be used on a regular basis!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2010

      This was absolutely awesome. I am so glad I found this recipe. It was easy and incredibly tasty. I chopped up all my veggies the night before and stuck them in the fridge then before dashing out the door to work added everything to my crockpot and let it do the rest. By the time I got home that evening it was ready for the cream cheese. I did it for the most part exactly as directed except I added one can of corn, a few diced carrots and celery stalks as well as added some cooked bacon when I added the cream cheese. Also seasoned it a little for our personal preferences with some garlic salt, pepper and a little paprika. It came out hearty and flavorful. Even better the next day after a long day in the rain for tailgating! Will definitely be making this again and again and again. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2011

      This was *excellent*. I didn't start it early enough, so I cooked it on the stove for about 4 hours. It is a great recipe - a keeper

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2011

      I give this recipe, as written, 3 stars because we thought it was a little bland and didnt quite have that chowder consistency that we like. I did add chopped celery and carrots in the beginning. After letting it sit in the crock for about 5 hours on high and adding in the cream cheese, I tasted it and started adding to what I thought would make it better. I added about 8-9 oz. of velveeta cheese, garlic powder, paprika, dash of hot sauce, italian seasoning, and corn. It was a little thin so after the cheese melted and leaving the top off it thickened a little better but it still wasnt as thick as I prefer my chowders. But it was very good after those additions. Like some others have said, this would be very good with some smoked sausage in it as well. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2010

      So yummy!!! It was a huge hit, and added to my favorite collection of potato soups!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2010

      I thought this was pretty good, and my boyfriend did, too. I wouldn't like it as much by itself, but in a bread bowl it's delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2012

      Sorry, this is my first review even though I've been serving this delicious soup as it is written for over 2 years. Everyone I make this for absolutely looooooves it. I will caution you not to try to save time by using the bacon bits for salad. It will turn your soup pink and tastes horrible. Make sure to get the cream cheese good and soft and don't just add it to the soup. Instead, do as suggested and ladel a bit of the soup into the cream cheese and mix until creamy. Then pour the mixture into the soup. It turns out thick and creamy everytime. My family likes to put shredded colby/jack on top of it. It reminds us of a baked potato. This soup is so easy to make and such a crowd pleaser; I often make a double batch so that everyone can have some after a fun day of playing in the snow.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2011

      I grew up eating potato soup and there is just nothing like it! This recipe definitely comes close and best of all, I can use my crock pot! We didn't have enough basic potatoes, so I used about 4 cups of fingerlings (red and purple). I wasn't sure how that was going to work out, but it turned out great! I also substituted cream of celery soup for the chicken soup because we don't really care for the canned chicken soup. Wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2011

      Loved it but made a few changes. I used the large Eckrich turkey sausage links (sliced them)instead of bacon and let it cook in the pot for the last few hours. The flavor this added to the soup was incredible!! Also, it was not as thick as I wanted so we added instant mahed potatoes to the whole pot until the conistency was just right! I added fresh basil from my garden, 1tsp thyme, and I sauteed the onions (used frozen chopped onions for a time saver) with garlic and olive oil til they were slightly browned. I also added 1 can of yellow corn. In my opinion, these change were PERFECT and at the pot-luck I took this to it was gone in minutes!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2011

      I posted my review without giving it it's well deserved 5 stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 15

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock-Pot Potato Chowder

    Serving Size: 1 (278 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 270.6
     
    Calories from Fat 154
    57%
    Total Fat 17.1 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 7.1 g
    35%
    Cholesterol 35.7 mg
    11%
    Sodium 741.0 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.0 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    9%
    Sugars 2.0 g
    8%
    Protein 8.2 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites