Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Pot Roast Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Pot Roast

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on March 14, 2003

    • on February 08, 2003

      What a wonderful rescipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2003

      The pot roast was delicious! My fiance loved it. The meat is very juicy and very tasty. Note: Add the vegetables at the end (30 minutes before it ends). Crock pot time: [HIGH] 4:15:00 to about 4:30:00

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2009

    • on February 21, 2008

      None of the other reviewers mentioned the salt, so maybe it's just me.... I made this recipe for dinner yesterday, and the aroma in the house was AMAZING! However, when I saw "2 tablespoons of salt," I thought, "Surely not!" I cut the salt by 50%, and it was still almost too salty for my husband and I to eat. Thus, I assumed there was a typo, and the recipe should call for 2 TEASPOONS of salt. I will make this change on my recipe. I believe I also will add water or beef broth next time (as Chef #430361 did) to provide more juices for the gravy. In spite of the salt issue, my husband and I liked the flavor of the roast very much. We'll be making this roast again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2008

      Loved this pot roast! Very easy to make, very tender when done. Really liked the flavor the red wine gave to this. Even my finicky daughter went back for a second helping! I made a 2# roast and cooked it on low for 7 hours (it was probably done at 6 hours, but it didn't hurt it any). Made it with wide egg noodles instead of potatoes. Great gravy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2007

      Fabulous - full of flavor and not dry at all. Added 1/2 can of beef broth at beginning. Plenty of liquid for gravy. Love not putting vegetables in with roast. Left roast in crock pot with seasonings for about 5 hours before starting to cook. Great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2006

      This was okay - just kindof dry and not very flavorful. It was very easy to make. I did decrease the salt quite a bit and used a smaller roast. I only had 3/4 cup of liquid for the gravy, so after adding water to make up the difference, it seemed a little flavorless.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2006

      FABULOUS....THE BEST! I did make 3 changes, one being major. I decreased the salt to 2 tsps. and think 1-1/2 tsp is more than sufficient. I substituted savory for rosemary, personal preference only. Having a late start, I slow cooked the roast on stovetop for 3 hours. This is,handsdown, a delicious recipe Becky F!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2006

      Something went terribly wrong :-( I followed directions exactly and had to throw it out! (The only thing I did do differently was to increase the cooking time because it never got tender.) The meat was so tough you couldn't even cut it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2006

      I made this roast tonight, and it was good! The house smelled so good all afternoon as it cooked, the meat came out very tender, and the gravy, although a little thin, was great on mashed potatoes. I'm not a pot roast lover, but will make this again, especially if my husband likes his roast beef sandwiches he'll be having in his lunch tomorrow.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2006

      Amazing... Was sceptical that it would cook within the time stated, but it was done to perfection. Very tender meat and the gravy was so tasty. I blended the sauce and added a knob of butter to take away the acidity of the wine. Only thing I changed was the amount of salt - surely 2 tablespoons should be 2 teaspoons??!! Thankyou

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2006

      Yummmmmmmyyy! I did not have garlic cloves so I used the equivalent garlic powder, it made this a little bit too salty so next time I will try less salt. I also added canned (drained) mushrooms to the pot. It was perfect. I served this with garlic mashed potatoes and asparagus. This was the best pot roast I have ever made.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2005

      Put it together the night before to marinate the beef. Made it very tender and flavorful. Used an immersion blender right in the crockpot after removing the beef, which made a delicious gravy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2005

      Absolutely Fantastic! I made this the night before so the wine and spices would marinade the roast. All I had to do in the morning is plug it in. I served it with Garlic Mashed Potatoes and Green Beans. The best part of the meal was the grrravy. LOL I could of licked it off my plate.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2005

      fantastic! it was so tender we could cut it with our forks. thanks for a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2005

      I subbed a 1.7 kilo (around 3.5 lb) lamb leg (bone in) for the rump roast and only used 2 teaspoons of salt. It was brilliant - an easy 5 star dish!!!! If you do substitute lamb for the rump roast, you might want to add some extra seasoning to the gravy - stock cubes, soy sauce, tomato sauce, paprika -whatever is to your taste, otherwise it may taste a little bland.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2004

      I didn't expect this to be so good, since I had a buffalo roast and didn't have red wine. However, it was so incredibly good. I served it w/leftover rice and Green Beans and Garlic#38029. I ate so much that when my dh pulled out the oreos afterwards, I only had room for 1! Amazing! By the way, I subbed beef broth w/a little red wine vinegar for the wine. It was my first rib roast and I am SO proud of myself (and grateful to 'zaar!). Thanks, BeckyF!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2003

      A very nice roast, especially when low-carbing. I did not add the flour/make the gravy at the end. We just used the pan juice which served as a fine gravy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Pot Roast

    Serving Size: 1 (220 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 485.7
     
    Calories from Fat 248
    51%
    Total Fat 27.6 g
    42%
    Saturated Fat 10.8 g
    54%
    Cholesterol 170.1 mg
    56%
    Sodium 703.5 mg
    29%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.4 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.7 g
    2%
    Protein 47.5 g
    95%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites