18 Reviews

We loved this recipe, though I made a couple of changes. I used prepared pie crusts on the top and the bottom and I used a packet of Hidden Valley Ranch seasoning (simply because I had it on hand). I don't like peas, so I did frozen carrots and frozen broccoli. The filling came out so good and I was totally impressed with myself! I highly recommend this recipe. You can follow the basics and make alterations to suit your liking. I will be making this again very soon!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
1021470 November 24, 2008

This was delicious! Here are the changes I made that worked out well:
- Used fat free half and half instead of milk
- Used ranch recipe soup & dip mix instead of italian seasoning, garlic and paprika
- Added other veggies with frozen peas and carrots--I added 8 oz of frozen peas and carrots as well as at least a cup total of broccoli, red bell pepper and celery.
- I used a square 9x9 casserole dish. I greased the dish with butter and lined the bottom of the pan with one of the dough packages. I then cooked that most of the way then added the filling and topped it all off with the remaining package of dough and placed it back in the oven to bake the top

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twinmom0 February 18, 2013

We really like this one. It is very easy and tasty. I agree that a good helping of garlic is a great addition. I also think it needs salt. We use the cresent rolls, but only one package. We just lay them out in one big sheet, sprinkle with cheese, and cook until browned. Then we just cut pieces of the bread to suit the helping of the pot pie. The crust does not get soggy for leftovers (which we also enjoy).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
e_philp January 26, 2009

Delicious!! This took a long time because of all the cutting, but it was worth it. I boiled the chicken breasts in chicken bouillon and then chopped them into smaller pieces. I found that I only needed two medium potatoes. Like others, I poured the mix into a prepared pie crust and then covered it with another crust. In all it baked for 30-40 minutes at 350. Everyone devoured it & I received much praise! Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joyd November 12, 2006

I made one pie with the dinner roll crust and one with a pre made pie crust for the bottom and the top. I also added 3 cloves minced garlic. Everyone preferred the pie crust over the dinner roll crust. Everyone also really enjoyed the filling, even my VERY picky son. We all enjoyed this and will most certainly will make this again!! Thank you for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TGIF Girl Friday April 05, 2006

Thanks for the Awesome recipe. I think some people may be confused because it is so easy to make. I used canned sliced potatoes and since I only had one can of Cream of Chicken I used Cream of Mushroom for the other. I used low sodium to help cut it down some then let people season per taste. I agree the spices did not seem just right but it is a great start and certainly a HUGE time saver. Before I added the peas and carrots, I took some tongs and stirred it up. The Chicken just fell apart and mixed in great. If you have any large chunks just use the tongs to break it up. Since I like a bottom and top crust I followed some other reviewers tips and used the refrigerated pie crusts. I put the bottom crust in and baked it a few minutes before filling it. I am giving 5 stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bill Butler August 03, 2011

Liked by our entire family. Made a few changes only because it was what we had on hand. Used onion soup mix instead of spices and fresh onion and used two pie crusts instead of one crescent crust. Very good. Thank you for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cook2six March 08, 2011

This is a good idea for pot pie, and I LOVED the crescent roll crust. The spices are all wrong for chicken, though. I would definately omit the garlic, next time. Instead of italian seasoning, I will try greek seasoning.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scrivener1 November 18, 2008

I made this last night and it was great, the kids all loved it as well as my picky husband! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mamaof4 February 03, 2008

Everybody in my family loves this including my toddler

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twsmith November 29, 2007
Crock Pot Pot Pie