15 Reviews

This was very good, and I will make it again. I made two small changes to accommodate our tastes. I made it with chicken breasts instead of pork, and added a little olive oil when I browned it to make up a bit of the richness of pork. Also, I added about 12 ounces of chicken broth to make it a little wetter. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cheri 911 February 09, 2011

Very easy and super tasty. I will make this one again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carianne December 18, 2009

I absolutely love this recipe, and have made it countless times! I was looking for a good Posole recipe and stumbled across this one. Definitely worth the try!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jj_hett October 08, 2009

Very good stoup! I put a big turkey leg in it (removed the skin 1st) added, 1t paprika, 1/2 t. cumin, & 1/2 t. oregano, 2 C. chicken broth, 3 celery stalks (sliced) and used diced tomatoes w/ green chilis. What flavor! Thanks for posting :O)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Your Gourmet Girlfriend December 10, 2008

I've always used my MIL recipe for posole using a turkey carcass, thought I'd give this a try and we all loved it just as much, taste is very authentic. I did add more cumin as it is my favorite spice and added celery. We always enjoy posole with fresh lime wedges, chopped green onions and shredded monteray jack for toppings.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Angela P. February 26, 2008

We love this one - we devour it every time! We serve it with tortillas, and have fresh onion, fresh cilantro, avocado and cheese on the table for folks to add as they choose. Really enjoyable for the whole family.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
e_philp August 10, 2009

I did make this but can't remember enough to review it. I have some in the freezer and will try to remember to review it later.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Tweaker April 11, 2009

Sooo good! My boyfriend made it just as stated, but with fresh roasted green chile instead of canned. This is going to be a staple for us. Thanks so much for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
QueSarah March 23, 2009

What a great, easy recipe! Loved the flavors (even though I bought HOT green chilis by mistake! Will use milder next time :) ) Great recipe for making in the RV. Put it on and take off sightseeing, and it was smelling good and ready when we got back!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Outta Here April 05, 2008

Loved!! changed garlic amount to 3 tablespoons, cumin to 1/2t, added 1can red encilada sauce, and also added 1 can black beans!! Will make again and again!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef GreanEyes February 20, 2008
Crock Pot Posole