Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Slow-Cooker Favorites

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    52 Low-and-Slow Meals
    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    Try Potatoes, Pizza or Cake
    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Effortless One-Pot Treats
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Pork Roast and Sauerkraut Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Pork Roast and Sauerkraut

    Average Rating:

    63 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 63

    Sort by:

    • on January 01, 2007

      Barb, this was delicious. My husband introduced me to pork roast and sauerkraut as his family's tradition for New Year's Day a number of years ago, and each year I look for a new way to prepare it. This year, I took your recipe as a starting off place. Whereas I wanted the onion soup flavor, I had the time and inclination to make the dish from scratch rather than using a mix. I caramelized some onions and garlic in butter and olive oil and added that plus 2 c of beef broth and 1/4 white wine as the roasting liquid. I omitted the sugar and added some sprigs of thyme for a savory version. It turned out so well-- beautiful honey color and fabulous texture. This was so very good over mashed potatoes, and the meat was absolutely fall-apart tender. Terrific dish-- thanks! --Heather (P.S. Although he surely enjoyed this, my husband did miss the "sauer" part of the kraut, which gets a bit lost using this method).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2011

      Oh, yum! Made for New Year's Day dinner and it was awesome! Even with the partying from the previous night, if you can make it to the crock pot and dump the ingredients in, a fabulous meal awaits you! The hardest part of the process was staying out of the pot. (Had to keep "checking on the meat"). By the time it was ready to be devoured, I was half-full. The flavors were perfect, and I recommend adding a teaspoon of caraway seed if you like them. I cooked it for 3 hours on high, then the remaining 5 on low and it was tender and delicious. It tasted just like my grandma's. We devoured it with mashed potatoes which I agree is the best choice, but it would probably be good served with sauteed dumplings or gnocchi, or potato, cheese, or onion pierogies as well. Thanks, Barb, for sharing your recipe. This will be a regular here!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2010

      Wow!! This pork roast was so tender and easy to make. I put all this together in the morning, around lunch time I added chopped onions and apples (about 1/2 cup each), and by dinner time the smell was amazing and the pork just fell apart. Husband really enjoyed this as it was his first time having sauerkraut. Thanks a bunch!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2010

      This is the best sauerkraut and pork I have ever had! Yum! I used 2 (14 oz) cans of sauerkraut with caraway seeds. I did NOT rinse and drain my sauerkraut. I added about 1/2 c. of apple juice, and 1/2 of an onion. I cooked it on low for abou 8 hours.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2012

      Incredible. I am slowly introducing my husband into the world of sauerkraut being that I'm from a Pennsylvania/German/Austrian family. This recipe was amazing. Like most reviewers, I reduced the cooking time to 8 hours on low instead of going for the 24. I will most definitely be making this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2012

      I added one peeled and chopped apple, and only cooked it for 9 hours on low. After removing all the solids to a serving dish, I used the cooking juices to make a simple gravy. Served with mashed potatoes, it really was incredible.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2012

      Very good recipe, but 24 hours (even on low) in the crock-pot was too long! The top layer of my sauerkraut burned. :( I was able to take the burned stuff off, but with the brown sugar mixed with it, it was a sticky mess. My crock-pot is still soaking.

      The taste of the roast, however, was wonderful. Even my two kids, who don't usually like 'kraut, loved this meat and asked for more. I made some buns (search "40-Minute Hamburger Buns" on this site) and we ate them as sandwiches. Was a great meal, but I think I'll just cook it on low for 8-10 hours next time, instead of 24. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2012

      Very nice recipe. I too only let it cook for about 8 hours and it came out nice and juicy and tasty. I also only used half the brown sugar. We loved it, thank you for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2012

      First off, let me say to all those who give so-so or poor reviews to recipes that they have not tried before as written and make significant changes to ingredients or execution-don't write a review. You are reviewing a different recipe. Create a page with your version instead.
      There...that said, I LOVE this. I have made this two New Year's Days in a row and am now making it for the third. It is always a hit-especially for some reason for thouse who don't usually like sauerkraut! Last year was the first time I served it over mashed potatoes (I make pigeon, cow, or black eye peas in the Southern New Year's tradition. It seemed like too much starch.) and it was even better.
      The only change is that I put the ingredients together and let it rest overnight in the fridge and then cook on low for 8-10 hours on low.
      This is my new tradition for New Year's, putting aside the regular cabbage and pork. I also sneak it in durning the year during cold weather. Great comfort food!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2011

      The 24 hour cooking criteria for this is silly. It would liquify. That comment should be pulled from the recipe.
      I tried it today and it was good, not great. Not a big fan of sweet and sour.
      After 10 hours of course it fell apart. That would happen to a Goodyear Tire too.
      I should have stopped it at 8 hours when the meat still had some texture.
      I used a quality 4 lb. center cut roast.
      What suprised me is the onion soup did not over power. It was an excellent blend of sweet and sour.
      I added 1/2 cup of onions half way through.
      Again, I thought it was good but it just rubs me wrong to add brown sugar to sauerkraut. Everyone liked it in the family and ate it with mashed.
      Won't make it again. Give me the standard stuff.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2010

      This was amazing! My non-sauerkraut eating family LOVED it! I substituted 1 cup of apple cider and 1 cup of juice from the sauerkraut for the water. The pork roast melted in your mouth. It's the perfect combination of sweet and salty. It MUST be served over mashed potatoes. I have never seen a crockpot with a 24-hour setting. I cooked it for 10 hours on low. It was perfect. This one is going in my recipe book!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2010

      This was very fast and convenient for busy days. very good thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2010

      Thanks for an easy and tasty recipe ! I used country style boneless pork ribs - it was good and husband and MIL liked it - will make this again. I did not cook for 24 hours since it was ribs and not a roast - just started the crock at 9am and it was definitely ready by 7pm.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2010

      Cooked 12hrs in crock on low. Was delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2010

      I was a bit worried about this recipe but it turned out to be really yummy. Cooked for the 24 hours specified which I thought would dry out the pork, but the pork was delicious. Definitely needs to be paired with the mashed potatoes to cut the saltyness of the onion soup mix. It was so easy to put together, I'd make it again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2010

      Being from Alabama, like another reviewer said, I had also never heard about Pork roast and Sauerkraut. I made this last night and my husband has raved about it ever since. He took some to work with him today and said he couldn't wait for lunch. I will definately make this again, it is so easy and good! The mashed potatoes go great with it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2009

      it was really good..i used some of the sauerkraut juice and apple juice for the water...abit less of the brown sugar...it was falling apart tender...will use the leftover kraut on brats tomorrow..i served it with mashed potatoes and green beans

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2009

      I was really excited about making this but it just didn't turn out as I expected. I will say up front that, after reading the other reviews, I decided to sub the 2 cups water with part sauerkraut juice (I got the bagged kind) and half apple juice. Halfway in I realized I didn't have any apple juice in the house and used some leftover beef broth from the night before's dinner. I think that was the big mistake that I made. The sauerkraut was quite bitter even after teh 1/2 brown sugar. The meat itself was very tender and barely needed a knife to cut but didn't have that much flavor all in all. I will attempt this recipoe again but be sure to use all apple juice or water for the liquid and maybe dry rub the roast for awhile before putting in the slow cooker to soak in more flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2009

      This was very easy to make. After 7 hours on High in the crockpot it was so tender, I may reduce the cooking time. I'll reduce the brown sugar next time as I'm not that big of a sugar fan. Thank you for posting. Made for *Zaar Cookbooks 2009* game

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      This was very good. I put all ingredients in crock pot and put it on high for about 4-5 hours, then turned down to low for another 3-4 hours. Everyone loved it even the kids! Thanks for making our News Year Day dinner a winner!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Pork Roast and Sauerkraut

    Serving Size: 1 (388 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 456.7
     
    Calories from Fat 78
    17%
    Total Fat 8.7 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 2.5 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 156.4 mg
    52%
    Sodium 2184.7 mg
    91%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.3 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 6.4 g
    25%
    Sugars 30.6 g
    122%
    Protein 52.4 g
    104%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites