9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Don't know what made this dish the best MIkey, ease of prep, wonderful taste and blend of flavors or the presentation. It all went together to make for a wonderful dinner. The pork was fall apart tender but nice and moist - not dry at all. Followed the directions exactly and served over steamed jasmine rice. Didn't change a thing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 October 17, 2009

I decided to stop the cooking after 7 hours. I tasted the pork and it was tender. Perfect. To brown the pork, I used extra virgin olive oil. I used a 28 ounces can of diced tomatoes, didn't want to waste. And I didn't do the sauce at the end. Thanks Mikekey for posting this recipe. The taste was grea, seasoning also. Didn't have to add something. Made for Please Review my recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette October 21, 2008

I didn't bother with sauting the onions or browning the meat. I just threw everything in my crock pot. I didn't use the bouillon granules. Instead I used about a cup of chicken broth. This was really good! I had it with mashed potatoes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crazycook in PA July 06, 2009

What an incredible dish Mike. We loved it. Rich, thick, hearty and the flavor....ohhh so good. It smelled wonderful while cooking, but tasted even better. I let it cook for the full 8 hours and followed the recipe exactly. You don't want or need to mess with perfection. Served it on a bed of jasmin rice...it couldn't have been any better. Kudos....bk

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato June 16, 2009

Excellent! There's not much I can add that has not already been said - this makes for a great meal. The aroma alone making for a five! Made as posted resulting in a meal that looked as good as it tasted. Wouldn't change a thing. Thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gerry November 12, 2008

This is terrific!!! Found that I only had a can of Rotel Tomatoes(didn't want to go to the market) so used it. I liked it! Otherwise, followed the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caroline Cooks February 27, 2008

Loved this! I threw this together in the morning knowing I would not be home until late and wanted to have a warm meal waiting for DH, all he had to do was mix the flour slurry together. I had some leftovers when I got home and it was fantastic. I did wish I had a few more carrots (DH hogged them all) but other than that it was perfect as written. I will definitely be making this again. Thanks Mike!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KLBoyle January 04, 2008

This was terrific! We served it over rice and was a filling meal for a busy week-night. I did omit the mushrooms - as one of my boys doesn't care for them - and I added garlic - then realized it wasn't called for. Tasted great though!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LiisaN May 15, 2007

Delicious over rice! The minor changes I made to this recipe was using a bouillion cube instead of granules and also adding 1 (16 oz) can of tomatoe juice along with the can of tomatoes as my crockpot runs hot and it was going to stay on "warm" after the 8 hours for another couple of hours until we got home. Very good and wonderful after a busy day. Thanks for sharing this keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellie_ May 03, 2007
Crock Pot Pork Marengo