66 Reviews

Sorry this was not what I expected. The soy sauce was way too overpowering and too salty. I would cut back on soy sauce and use lower sodium soy sauce if I was to make again. Chops were very tender.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marykaia November 12, 2009

Flapping with joy over this one, Kitten. Another winner recipe. So easy. Like ridiculously easy! And a flavor that is really unique. We loved these. I did not brown them first, just layered in my crock pot, covered with onions and garlic, stirred up the sauce and dumped it over. Cooked on high for 1.5 hours, then on low for 3. Falling off the bone and just marvelous. Changes: had to substitute for the ketchup (who runs out of ketchup?). used v-8 thickened up with some wondra flour. i know, but it was all i had. didn't matter, turned out beautifully. will make again and will be in regular rotation. i don't even like pork and these are to die for. thanks, again! UPDATE - made the very next night for a friend's family...cooked them almost til done, then put in large disposable pan, they reheated. RAVE reviews and asked for recipe. Just wonderful. :]

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Messy44 October 31, 2009

I had to rate this,,my first rating. My husband loved this recipe and my son in law who hates onions was picking the onions out of the pot. I have also done ribs like this. This recipe is a keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gumdrop September 11, 2009

Thoroughly enjoyable! As with others, I added the extra water. This made the sauce a bit more watery than I would have liked, but I would rather have the sauce than nothing. I also added mushrooms as well, which seemed to compliment this quite nicely.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Goose #2 May 16, 2009

Really good. I recommend doubling(sp?) the sauce. I also added cornstarch to thicken the sauce. After reading the reviews I only added 3/4 of soy sauce. I had no fresh ginger so I used about an 1/8-1/4 of dry ginger. I over cooked the pork chops but that is my fault. I used thin chops and they were done in 3 hours. Thanks Kittencal!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ck2plz March 25, 2009

Sorry Kittencal but I won't make this one again. I have tried and continue to make many of your recipes, most of which rate 4-5 stars for me. I followed the recipe as written but doubled the onions. The chops were tender and moist, however, the soy flavor on this one just over powers everything else to me. This is the first time I have not enjoyed one of your recipes. Thanks for all the others I do enjoy!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MrBob December 14, 2008

These were very good and easy to make. I followed the recipe exactly as written other then I didn't use the optional red pepper flakes. I only cooked this for five hours on low as I didn't want mine to dry out. Very tasty. This was made with ingredients I normally have on hand.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol July 09, 2008

This is the worst recipe I've ever tried. Neither my husband nor I could eat the pork chops. They were too salty and they tasted burnt. I'll never make this recipe again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linda C. April 20, 2016

I really liked this recipe.. I only used 4 pork chops and used less ingredients.. my 2 older kids did not like the onion. But that is my fault and should have diced it up small..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nicole B. December 03, 2015

Excellent! Very tasty, and I'm keeping that as a regular meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle S. November 19, 2015
Crock Pot Pork Chops