56 Reviews

Flapping with joy over this one, Kitten. Another winner recipe. So easy. Like ridiculously easy! And a flavor that is really unique. We loved these. I did not brown them first, just layered in my crock pot, covered with onions and garlic, stirred up the sauce and dumped it over. Cooked on high for 1.5 hours, then on low for 3. Falling off the bone and just marvelous. Changes: had to substitute for the ketchup (who runs out of ketchup?). used v-8 thickened up with some wondra flour. i know, but it was all i had. didn't matter, turned out beautifully. will make again and will be in regular rotation. i don't even like pork and these are to die for. thanks, again! UPDATE - made the very next night for a friend's family...cooked them almost til done, then put in large disposable pan, they reheated. RAVE reviews and asked for recipe. Just wonderful. :]

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Messy44 October 31, 2009

I had to rate this,,my first rating. My husband loved this recipe and my son in law who hates onions was picking the onions out of the pot. I have also done ribs like this. This recipe is a keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gumdrop September 11, 2009

Thoroughly enjoyable! As with others, I added the extra water. This made the sauce a bit more watery than I would have liked, but I would rather have the sauce than nothing. I also added mushrooms as well, which seemed to compliment this quite nicely.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Goose #2 May 16, 2009

Really good. I recommend doubling(sp?) the sauce. I also added cornstarch to thicken the sauce. After reading the reviews I only added 3/4 of soy sauce. I had no fresh ginger so I used about an 1/8-1/4 of dry ginger. I over cooked the pork chops but that is my fault. I used thin chops and they were done in 3 hours. Thanks Kittencal!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ck2plz March 25, 2009

Sorry Kittencal but I won't make this one again. I have tried and continue to make many of your recipes, most of which rate 4-5 stars for me. I followed the recipe as written but doubled the onions. The chops were tender and moist, however, the soy flavor on this one just over powers everything else to me. This is the first time I have not enjoyed one of your recipes. Thanks for all the others I do enjoy!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MrBob December 14, 2008

These were very good and easy to make. I followed the recipe exactly as written other then I didn't use the optional red pepper flakes. I only cooked this for five hours on low as I didn't want mine to dry out. Very tasty. This was made with ingredients I normally have on hand.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol July 09, 2008

Quick, easy and flavorful! I was looking for something fast and this was great because I happened to have all the ingredients in my pantry. I threw everything in the crockpot with 4 FROZEN pork chops (about 1/2 inch thick) and cooked on low for 3 hours and it was perfectly cooked. The meat was falling apart it was so tender. I can't imaging cooking it for 7 hours unless you are doing a roast or loin! I normally add my own twist to recipes but this one I followed pretty exact. I did however cut the soy sauce in half (I used low-sodium) only because I ran out of it and the flavor was very good -- it did not overpower the dish. I did not add any salt. I used powdered ginger. I would definitely not omit the crushed red pepper! It adds the right amount of spice to balance the sugars without being too hot. The onions were delish. I only had half an onion. Next time I will use more. You do not have to add any water or stock. The consistency of the sauce is thin but I prefer that. I served it with cous cous. It was a lovely combination. Will definitely make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen M. July 27, 2015

Yum! I made this with thin cut chops and double sauce. I did make a few changes. I used half a cup of soy and half a cup of teriyaki marinade. I also threw in some sesame oil, hoisin sauce, and a green pepper. My guy has always said he hates pork chops so I figured I'd try serving in a way he's never had before and he demolished the pot! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lissa B. July 16, 2015

Excellent recipe. Very tender, moist and tasty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
juliea.nordin July 13, 2015

I made this for supper tonight and it was a keeper, as my husband says. I followed the recipe to a "T" except I didn't add the second round of garlic; this might be a miss print. I did double the sauce and thickened it with corn starch. I served it over noodles with green beans. Awesome!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jmbruno May 23, 2015
Crock Pot Pork Chops