52 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent recipe... Some of my kids are pretty picky and they even loved it! I was afraid from the reviews that it may be too salty, but I made it exactly by the recipe and it was great. I will make this again for sure!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SabsK1 July 19, 2011

Very good recipe! I used 8 boneless pork chops and made 1 1/2 times the sauce ingredients. Cooked for 7 hours on low and they were very tender. One hour before they were done, I added some water with cornstarch to thicken up the sauce. Served with mashed potatoes and green beans. Yum!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carol R. May 19, 2013

Usually I follow recipes to the "T" the first time but on this one, I doubled the sauce as many suggested, and only used the 1/2 C of soy sauce as many had stated it was overwhelming. The pork chops were very tender, but to me the sauce tasted a great deal like French Onion soup. Not necessarily a bad thing, but just not what I had expected.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MissRed1970 January 24, 2010

I really enjoyed this dish. I didn't have ginger, nor did I use red pepper flakes because I was afraid the kids wouldn't like it, and it was still flavorful and delicious. My 4 children loved it - they pulled out the orange marmalade as a dipping sauce for the pork. I served with rice and garlic roasted asparagus.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mdenny January 10, 2012

I made this as directed except I forgot the optional red peppers and wish I'd remembered them as it would have made it just that more perfect. This has all the elements of a great recipe (IMHO) easy to prepare, (got to love the crockpot) everything on hand, great taste with a wonderful blend of flavors and spices, tender meat, and great presentation. Thanks Kitten for another great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 October 15, 2011

I tried the same recipe on allrecipes.com (Peking Pork Chops). They weren't BAD. But the flavor wasn't something I really enjoyed. I also didn't add as much soy sauce as recommended because people stated that it was too salty. So I did 1/4 cup of water and 1/4 cup of soy sauce. When it was almost done (an hour left) I added a tablespoon of cornstarch to thicken the sauce. I think the only other difference between this recipe and the other was onions and pepper flakes. I didn't add those. Loved the tenderness of the chops, but they were a little dry (I think I only did them 4-6hrs) They were better reheated. But as I stated, just wasn't thrilled by the flavor.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KinMa April 26, 2011

Super yummy and easy. My family raved about this recipe. I didn't have catsup so I used about 3 oz tomato paste, white wine, sherry and added some whole grain mustard. I doubled the gravy and used one inch thick bone-in pork chops. The meat was fork tender and the gravy was a hit.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bcude February 23, 2010

Simple, quick, used common ingredients - this is a keeper! My chops were about 1/2 inch thick and boneless, so I decided only to cook them for 5 hours. They could have gone an hour less. My changes were based on many of the reviews. I doubled the sauce, but not the soy sauce, only used 1/4 tsp pepper flakes (because of the kids, but my husband said it was enough anyway), and didn't really measure the garlic. My 4 year old loved it. He even had seconds! Thanks yet again, Kittencal!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mark & Stacy February 18, 2010

Sorry this was not what I expected. The soy sauce was way too overpowering and too salty. I would cut back on soy sauce and use lower sodium soy sauce if I was to make again. Chops were very tender.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marykaia November 12, 2009

Flapping with joy over this one, Kitten. Another winner recipe. So easy. Like ridiculously easy! And a flavor that is really unique. We loved these. I did not brown them first, just layered in my crock pot, covered with onions and garlic, stirred up the sauce and dumped it over. Cooked on high for 1.5 hours, then on low for 3. Falling off the bone and just marvelous. Changes: had to substitute for the ketchup (who runs out of ketchup?). used v-8 thickened up with some wondra flour. i know, but it was all i had. didn't matter, turned out beautifully. will make again and will be in regular rotation. i don't even like pork and these are to die for. thanks, again! UPDATE - made the very next night for a friend's family...cooked them almost til done, then put in large disposable pan, they reheated. RAVE reviews and asked for recipe. Just wonderful. :]

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Messy44 October 31, 2009
Crock Pot Pork Chops