Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Pork and Sauerkraut Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Pork and Sauerkraut

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on January 26, 2013

      This recipe was very easy and delicious. My husband, who never cooks, made this for the family, and everyone loved it. I would definitely make it again. He made it using pork chops and it was perfect! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2013

      This recipe was so delicious! My boyfriend raved over how good the pork was! I used cumin instead of caraway seeds because I didn't have any and did not use butter or salt. It was so moist and tender!!! I served it with mashed potatoes and rolls. This recipe will be our New Year's Day tradition from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2008

      Growing up my mom would just throw some porkchops in a baking dish and throw Sauerkraut on top and bake till the meat fell off the bone. This recipe sounded like the "grown up" version. I cooked on low and at exactly 8 hours the meat was falling apart delicious! I also put some quartered potatos and onions on the bottom of the crockpot and then did the rest as recipe stated. I enjoyed, but next time i will leave off the brown sugar, it wasn't my thing. I bet without the brown sugar it will be perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 29, 2012

      Excellent! we love the flavor and a recipe that will be in my favorites folder. I followed the recipe with no changes.Thanks for sharing

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2008

      Delicious!! Our new favorite meal!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2007

      This was very good, tender and not overly sweet form the brown sugar. I took this over to mother-in-laws tonight for dinner. I did not melt the butter. I just sliced it very thin and put it over the top. I made this for ZWT III 2007 - United States Region - Family Pick

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2014

      I used 2.5lb pork tenderloin, hint less caraway, hint less brown sugar. At 6.5 hours I checked it and at 7 hours I was shoveling it in. Absolute keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2014

      We have Pork and Sauerkraut every New years, and the kids don't really eat it, But Its a New Years Tradition. It wouldn't feel like New years with out the smell of Pork roast and Sauerkraut .I buy a Pork Roast Butt, rinse it off, add 2 large cans of Sauerkraut, the Pork Roast and lots and lots of Pepper, a little garlic, and a can or 2 of water from the sauerkraut cans , enough to almost cover the roast. Let it cook all day in the crock pot, at least 8 hours on high or low, the fat juices from the pork calms down the sour kraut and it is delish! a must serve with home made mash potatoes !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2013

      Honestly, for me, the Pork Loin just turns out too dry after cooking for 6-8 hours. I swapped in the Pork Country Ribs last time and they were great. Even DH preferred them over the Loin. They were fall apart tender and juicy. Oh, and I do NOT "drain & rinse" the sauerkraut .. I mean that's where a LOT of the flavor comes from. a big no-no in this house. Otherwise did everything exact to the recipe. (I think that by draining & rinsing, the sugar CAN make this - as some mentioned - too sweet. Hence don't do that.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2013

      This recipe is a keeper. It was so easy. I drained the sauerkraut, skipped the sugar and butter. I might consider using 1/4 the sugar next time. Apple sauce worked well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2011

      This was the best pork and sauerkraut dinner I've had, and I've had pork and sauerkraut every New Year's day of my life. I used a center cut loin roast, and I did rinse and drain the sauerkraut, and added in a bit of apple juice for moisture. I omitted the butter with no problems. DH did say the sauerkraut was a bit too sweet for him, so next year I may cut back on the brown sugar. (Mashed potatoes are indeed a must.) Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2011

      Really great! My parents were from PA so I grew up eating PA Dutch foods. I make this every year for New Year's Day. There are only 2 of us so I use about a 2# loin roast, 2 cans of kraut, and 2 apples. Cook on low for about 7 hours. I mix the kraut, apples, brown sugar, and caraway beforehand. I put a little under the roast and the rest on top. I brown the roast first. I leave out the butter and salt. IMO the caraway is a must! AWESOME with real mashed potatoes. Would maybe like to try dumplings on top. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2010

      I made this on New Year's Day to appease my husband, both of us having grown up in central- Pennsylvania. I didn't think I liked the pork and kraut combination, but this was absolutely DELICIOUS! I actually made this on the stove using a 1 lb pork tenderloin and halving the other ingredients, since it was just the two of us. I followed all of your instructions, except that I left it in a covered pot on the stove over medium/ medium low for about an hour or a little more. Absolutely Delicious. A new New Years tradition for us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2009

      No salt needed! My pork loin was salty enough on its own. This recipe turned out great. My 7 year old and husband requested seconds! My husband also said to keep the recipe. I cooked it on "AutoShift" for 4 hours. Then I set it to high for 3 more hours. I used 1/4 teaspoon of cumin instead of caraway. I also cut the pork loin (raw) into 6 chunks. It fell apart once done. I served it over rice. Thank you!!!!! PS I have never cooked a pork loin roast before now. This is a perfect recipe for a beginner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2009

      We loved this. It was a super easy way to use the porkloin I got on sale. We used fennel seeds instead of caraway since it was what we had. Also used a little less sauerkraut since I didn't have as much as specified. This was moist and delicious. We served it with brown rice and mixed veggies. Really wonderful comfort food!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2009

      It's a family tradition to make pork and sauerkraut on New Year's Day in our house. I'd always just tossed the roast in the crock pot and dumped the sauerkraut on top adding a few seasonings. I was never thrilled with the results but no one was complaining. I came across this recipe this year and figured "what the heck". Well I LOVED it! The meat was SO tender and the brown sugar helped to take the edge off the "sour" of the sauerkraut (something I'd never liked). Even my kids ate it and didn't complain! THAT'S a big deal! :o) We loved it so much I've now made it two other times since New Year's Day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2007

      This was EXCELLENT! 4.5 stars!!! I used everything called for EXCEPT, I added four potatoes (skins on, quartered) on the bottom, then I mixed the remaining ingredients, plus I thinly sliced two onions (cut in halves to break the rings up) & added that to the drained & rinsed kraut, and I added a half-cup of water to make it bit more juicy.... Left the butter out altogether (I used two "cubes" of frozen chicken fat instead--much ymmmmier!!). I cooked it on high in my over-achieving "professional" style crockpot, for just about 4 hours. The meat was so tender and juicy, but still holding together enough that I could cut into thick wedges. *Made for ZWT 3 US Regional*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Pork and Sauerkraut

    Serving Size: 1 (497 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 778.0
     
    Calories from Fat 333
    42%
    Total Fat 37.1 g
    57%
    Saturated Fat 15.5 g
    77%
    Cholesterol 265.5 mg
    88%
    Sodium 1246.3 mg
    51%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.1 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 5.1 g
    20%
    Sugars 14.1 g
    56%
    Protein 88.2 g
    176%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites