11 Reviews

Wonderful easy crockpot recipe! I followed this recipe as stated but added extra minced garlic, crushed red peppers, garlic powder and italian seasoning when mixing it. I forgot the parsley at the end and served this over whole wheat rotini. 6 and 8 year old loved as did my husband and I. Will definitely make again! Love eggplant dishes - especially when they're easy and done in a crockpot! Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RedVinoGirl April 10, 2012

This is a very good and healthy alternative for pasta. I used San Marzano tomatoes and added in basil. I left out the wine. Based on the other reviews, I did add a pinch of red pepper flakes for a touch of heat. The finished product was garnished with fresh basil and freshly grated Parmesan cheese. This is something that I would not hesitate to make again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG September 13, 2011

I did enjoy this dish but based on other reviews, I added some hot sauce at the start of cooking. I left out the pinenuts (allergic) and the cheese (less calories). I added some chopped baby spinach about forty minites before serving.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Happy Harry #2 December 11, 2010

I thought this was pretty good overall, and tasty. As most crock pot recipes, this one doesn't disappoint when it comes to ease. I think I would like this best as a sauce in something, like a lasagna or some other baked pasta sort of dish. I love including eggplant in things, so thanks for the recipe Sharon!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
magpie diner February 05, 2010

I agree this was a bland sauce but I don't mind that as you then have something to work with depending on who is eating it. I served half as made according to recipe and froze half after mixing cooked beef mince through it. Versatility is always a winner with me.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katew July 12, 2009

We just thought this was ok. We love sauces like this, but this one was very bland when done. I was able to doctor it up nicely with a bunch of different seasonings and we loved it after that. I will make it again, but will be sure to have extra stuff around to season it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LizP May 16, 2009

I really enjoyed this. Thank you for expanding my crock pot repertoire. I need more easy, hearty recipes like this. I actually doubled the recipe (I have a very large crock pot) and froze the leftovers for easy meals later. I did not use the green pepper. I used canned diced tomatoes, portabello mushrooms, no sugar, and a dash of red wine vinegar instead of red wine. For part of the water I used V8 juice (just for the sake of using it up). I added extra garlic and some crushed red pepper. The kalamata olives should not be omitted because they really make it good. I used nutritional yeast instead of parmesan, and did not use the pine nuts, but I think they would be good. Next time I will probably throw in some fresh basil with the parsley. I added some TVP during the last 10 minutes (while I cooked the pasta), and I'm glad I did, because it soaked up some of the extra liquid and added a little more texture and protein. My non-vegetarian husband and friend really liked it. The friend suggested adding zucchini next time. I will definitely make it again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Prose February 08, 2009

SHARON THIS IS WONDERFUL!!! Thank you for helping me in the forum and suggesting these recipes. I did sub zucchini for eggplant as that is what I had and the results are great! I left out olives as DH doesn't care for them, used Splenda instead of sugar and of course garden tomatoes instead of canned as you suggested. The whole house smelled delicious and dinner was great. I am taking a huge portion of this on a rigatoni casserole for the potluck picnic this weekend and will update. Oh yes, important to all others using this recipe. I made a second crock to freeze it is that delicious! Substitutions can be made with ease, 2nd crock added chunks of onions and hefty on the garlic as I like a garlic spag. sauce in the cold of winter. YUM

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef1MOM-Connie August 31, 2006

This was great! I loved the taste of this sauce. The tomato base had the rich flavor or roasted tomatoes which I love. We added a just a little bit of vegetarian ground beef for extra protein and to make it a 1 dish vegetarian meal. We also served it on whole wheat spaghetti. Thanks for the wonderful recipe Sharon!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LUv 2 BaKE July 11, 2006

This was gooood. I followed the recipe and I wouldn't change a thing. I cooked it about 45 minutes longer than the recipe suggests in order to get the eggplant soft enough for our tastes. Not one complaint that our meal was vegetarian.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarpea May 31, 2004
Crock Pot Pasta With Eggplant Sauce