14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I was hopeful reading other reviews and was very careful with this recipe. However, I followed the recipe step by step and it wasn't good. Turned out like a lot of others. Sweet Potatoes turned to mush - my daugher said it reminded her of baby food - runny/mushy like soup. The chicken was totally dried out. The sauce had a very interesting taste, kids and DH didn't like (and they aren't picky). I must have done something wrong.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fennchl April 12, 2013

If you look at this recipe and think it sounds weird that's because it is. The only true flavor to the chicken is the cinnamon and nutmeg which isn't appetizing. The sweet potatoes do havve a good flavor but the creamy texture of the sauce ruined them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ams137 March 22, 2011

This dish was somewhat of a disappointment. The sweet potatoes at the bottom after 8 hours on low turn to pure mush. There is no cohesion here either and the flavors just don't quite match together. We really wanted this to work..it sounds nice, other reviews were good, it smelled wonder while cooking..but it didn't work out. Perhaps the sweet potatoes should have been layered (and maybe all the ingredients).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gourmand January 19, 2008

We had this for dinner this evening and we loved it! I reduced for two servings and there was plenty. I did, however, use a whole can of chicken mushroom soup as I wanted plenty of sauce. I also microwaved the sliced sweet potatoes for three minutes before adding the rest of the ingredients. I added a little more garlic salt towards the end and a little more kosher salt as it seemed a little bland, but then I like salt. I added some orange zest, too as another reviewer had suggested. It is a different and unique combination but we loved it. Thank you for something different to do with chicken in the crockpot! MEWMEW

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mewmew January 01, 2008

Loved it! My 4 yr old thought it was great too. He even ate the sweet potatoes. Very good recipe, I doubled the sauce with mine and added a bit more chicken. Keeper recipe, thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Banbha November 13, 2007

This recipe would be best over rice or pasta, I think. Smelled great, looked pretty unattractive (but then a lot of things do when they come from a crockpot) and made some awesomely tender and tasty sweet potatoes. I think next time I would add more chicken since the chicken was a little overpowered by the sweet potatoes, but then I had big sweet potatoes. Definitely something I will make again. It is very filling so I am thinking I could get 6 servings out of it if it were put over rice or noodles.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Auggy December 05, 2006

This was pretty gross. My whole family didn't like the sweet potatoes, and we eat sweet potatoes at least once per week. The chicken was edible when we scrapped off the sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Soukii December 04, 2006

Quick, simple, easy to do! Can't wait to experiment with varieties too! Hubby gave two thumbs up so you know it's good, TRUE! Next time HE suggests adding white potatos too, Chopped chicken in small pieces...used allspice as well,YES! Might try craisins in next time...HOW will it taste? GUESS!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mickeydownunder November 18, 2004

Absolutely delicious! I served this with rice & rusty bread rolls (lots of carbs!) to mop up all the lovely sauce. The kids really loved it too which is amazing for my fussy children. Definately a keeper. Thanks for sharing this great receipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
xanthe September 01, 2004

I am eating this as I am typing. This is delicious and very warming. It is a rainy day here in Arizona today and it was such a treat to come home at lunch to a warm meal ready to dish up from my crockpot. The chicken is really tender and I like the spices. I think when I reheat this meal I will use some orange zest for some additional flavor. The sweet potatoes were also tender and good too. I ran out of nutmeg so I mixed what I had with some allspice for the coating. That worked just fine. Thank you for a tasty and unique recpie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amber of AZ April 02, 2004
Crock Pot Orange Chicken With Sweet Potatoes