Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Orange Chicken With Sweet Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Orange Chicken With Sweet Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on April 12, 2013

      I was hopeful reading other reviews and was very careful with this recipe. However, I followed the recipe step by step and it wasn't good. Turned out like a lot of others. Sweet Potatoes turned to mush - my daugher said it reminded her of baby food - runny/mushy like soup. The chicken was totally dried out. The sauce had a very interesting taste, kids and DH didn't like (and they aren't picky). I must have done something wrong.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2011

      If you look at this recipe and think it sounds weird that's because it is. The only true flavor to the chicken is the cinnamon and nutmeg which isn't appetizing. The sweet potatoes do havve a good flavor but the creamy texture of the sauce ruined them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2008

      This dish was somewhat of a disappointment. The sweet potatoes at the bottom after 8 hours on low turn to pure mush. There is no cohesion here either and the flavors just don't quite match together. We really wanted this to work..it sounds nice, other reviews were good, it smelled wonder while cooking..but it didn't work out. Perhaps the sweet potatoes should have been layered (and maybe all the ingredients).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2008

      We had this for dinner this evening and we loved it! I reduced for two servings and there was plenty. I did, however, use a whole can of chicken mushroom soup as I wanted plenty of sauce. I also microwaved the sliced sweet potatoes for three minutes before adding the rest of the ingredients. I added a little more garlic salt towards the end and a little more kosher salt as it seemed a little bland, but then I like salt. I added some orange zest, too as another reviewer had suggested. It is a different and unique combination but we loved it. Thank you for something different to do with chicken in the crockpot! MEWMEW

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2007

      Loved it! My 4 yr old thought it was great too. He even ate the sweet potatoes. Very good recipe, I doubled the sauce with mine and added a bit more chicken. Keeper recipe, thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2006

      This recipe would be best over rice or pasta, I think. Smelled great, looked pretty unattractive (but then a lot of things do when they come from a crockpot) and made some awesomely tender and tasty sweet potatoes. I think next time I would add more chicken since the chicken was a little overpowered by the sweet potatoes, but then I had big sweet potatoes. Definitely something I will make again. It is very filling so I am thinking I could get 6 servings out of it if it were put over rice or noodles.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2006

      This was pretty gross. My whole family didn't like the sweet potatoes, and we eat sweet potatoes at least once per week. The chicken was edible when we scrapped off the sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2004

      Quick, simple, easy to do! Can't wait to experiment with varieties too! Hubby gave two thumbs up so you know it's good, TRUE! Next time HE suggests adding white potatos too, Chopped chicken in small pieces...used allspice as well,YES! Might try craisins in next time...HOW will it taste? GUESS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2004

      Absolutely delicious! I served this with rice & rusty bread rolls (lots of carbs!) to mop up all the lovely sauce. The kids really loved it too which is amazing for my fussy children. Definately a keeper. Thanks for sharing this great receipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2004

      I am eating this as I am typing. This is delicious and very warming. It is a rainy day here in Arizona today and it was such a treat to come home at lunch to a warm meal ready to dish up from my crockpot. The chicken is really tender and I like the spices. I think when I reheat this meal I will use some orange zest for some additional flavor. The sweet potatoes were also tender and good too. I ran out of nutmeg so I mixed what I had with some allspice for the coating. That worked just fine. Thank you for a tasty and unique recpie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2004

      I thought this was very good. I did cut back a little on the nutmeg just because I'm not overly fond of it. This turned out very tasty and different.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2004

      This is delicious!! It's been a long time since I used the crockpot much and will certainly make this again. Sweet potatoes are very healthful. Dori C

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2004

      The combonation of orange, chicken and sweet potatos sounded good but it was to "middle eastern" or "moraccan" for my taste. With regular potatos and without the nutmeg...it would suit me better, I am afraid.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2004

      Delicious and a nice change from the usual crockpot soup-type meals. We don't make sweet potatoes very often and my family loved them in this dish. Thanks for sharing this keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Orange Chicken With Sweet Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (409 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 396.5
     
    Calories from Fat 68
    17%
    Total Fat 7.5 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 2.0 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 62.7 mg
    20%
    Sodium 1278.5 mg
    53%
    Total Carbohydrate 54.4 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 4.8 g
    19%
    Sugars 11.2 g
    45%
    Protein 27.8 g
    55%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites