36 Reviews

This was great. We served this last night at a church dinner. I cooked 35lbs of pork shoulder. I did one in the crockpot on high it took six hours for a whole shoulder. The other four I did in the oven at 300 degrees. The took only about 5 hours. I did add some water to the sauce and covered them with foil. I found that the sauce came out much nicer in the ones in the oven. The sauce in the crock pot was quite watery, whereas the others carmalized nicely and stayed somewhat thicker. Excellent recipie. We got rave reviews. The flavour of the sauce was great! Thanks Olga Drozd. BTW we served this with Red Green Slaw for Pulled pork Sandwichs (#19623)

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CrinV January 08, 2004

holy sh*t its good-this could be our official H.O.G. food of our chapter picnicks.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bigmike December 29, 2003

I have made this recipe multiple times. I love the smokiness that you get from the liquid smoke. i like to switch it up and sometimes serve it over rice for a change.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GF BooBoo August 29, 2010

I'm afraid this was too sweet for me. Next time, I'll add hots. But, it was nice to have pulled pork without added salt.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marsha Mazz July 12, 2013

I have made this three times already and just realized I hadn't reviewed it! I'm pretty sure everything's been said that needs to be said by all the other reviewers... these are just awesome. I like to spice ours up by adding some dijon mustard.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Swan Valley Tammi July 26, 2012

This recipe is fabulous. To reduce fat content (a minor crime) I use centercut pork roast.
We will make a tripple recipe (9 #) roast and trimm lean, when cool place in freezer bags for quick meals.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
architect1281 September 25, 2010

I thought this was really good, but my family thought it was too sweet. Next time I will cut back on the brown sugar. It did make a nice easy dinner though. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris from Kansas April 02, 2010

PERFECTION! This had to be the best pulled pork recipe I have ever tried! I made the recipe as given and wouldn't change a thing! So delicious and tender. My whole family enjoyed it. Thank you so much for sharing!! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
andreaijohnson March 28, 2010

AMAZING! I used a homemade chili sauce Chili Sauce (Homemade), which made it even more divine! The sauce was absolutely perfect and the meat fell apart beautifully! I think I will make this again for my church pot luck coming up on sunday!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookin_nurse January 15, 2010

THis was great! I was looking for pulled pork that was authentic & this is it! Very easy to make & tasty. Was nice to come home to a great smell in the kitchen couldn't wait to eat it. I like mine a little saucy so I would put extra sauce on when served but my husband liked it just how it was. Will make again for sure!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
986137 August 10, 2009
Crock Pot Old South Pulled Pork on a Bun