Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Mushroom, Barley & Parsley Chowder Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Mushroom, Barley & Parsley Chowder

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on October 14, 2014

      Totally hit the spot! I was in a hurry, so I cooked it on the stove. I topped my serving with a little shredded cheddar cheese. It was very satisfying, easy and healthy. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2009

      There are many things that I liked about this chowder. First, it was very easy to prepare; second, it had wonderful consistency; third, I really liked the taste of the parsley that shone through in the dish. When I tasted the chowder, however, it tasted like it was missing something. I added some sugar, garlic powder, onion powder, and garlic salt, and still it was not quite what I was looking for, so I am not sure what it was I felt was missing. DH felt the same way after trying it. Giving up, I topped my soup with grated parmesan cheese and really thought it added a nice touch. I ended up simmering about 6.5 hours.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2008

      Excellent chowder! I love barley so I upped that a bit. Absolutely delicious with some hot buttered cornbread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2008

      Sincethis is a proven 5 star recipe, I decided to play with it a little to suit our families taste preferences. I added 1 1b of lean ground beef. Cooked that up first before adding to the top of the ingrediants in the crock pot, with 1 tsp garlic powder, 1 tsp onion powder & 1 tsp cajun spice (I use Emeril Lagasse's Essence - Emeril Lagasse's Essence) To the crock pot I added one 4 ounce tin of diced green chili's, 1 seeded and finely chopped jalapeno, 1 Tbsp cajun spice and used smoked paprika instead of sweet. I also upped the beef stock to 2 cups and simmered for 7 hours. This became stew like in consistancy and delicious! Served with cayenne pepper for the hot heads and some nice fresh crusty artisan bread on the side. Made for ZWT4

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2008

      This is a lovely soup. Thick and rich tasting and so weight watcher friendly! I used 8 oz of mushrooms, which was plenty and tomato sauce instead of chopped tomatoes. I made mine on the stovetop and and simmered it for about an hour. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2008

      I chose to make this recipe because I'm trying to follow weight watchers core plan. This is a wonderful comfort food soup. It becomes quite thick and substantial.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2008

      This is a keeper and fits nicely into the Weight Watchers CORE program. I made two changes though. I only had a 28 oz. can of chopped tomatoes and since I love dill, I added 1/2 cup of chopped dill along with the parsley. Then when it was done I added 2 large dollops of FF sour cream. It is SO delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2008

      The house smelled great when I got home, and the soup was delicious and quite thick and hearty. Reminded me of a beef-barley soup my grandmother used to make (before crockpots-all day on the stove!) Thanks for a great dinner and a definite keeper. Will be a good recipe for the motorhome.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Mushroom, Barley & Parsley Chowder

    Serving Size: 1 (278 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 175.6
     
    Calories from Fat 22
    12%
    Total Fat 2.4 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 1.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 816.5 mg
    34%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.6 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 8.2 g
    32%
    Sugars 6.4 g
    25%
    Protein 10.6 g
    21%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes