10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was a great recipe. The ham came out so succulent. 7lbs was way to big for my crock pot, so shaved it down to 4lbs. Filled the crock pot with mountain dew and dumped all the cherries on top of the meat and poured half the cherry juice into the mixture. Cooked on low for about 8 hours and then drained the juices but garnished the meat with the cherries. My girlfriend comes from a big Italian family and they take holiday cooking very seriously, so she was a bit skeptical when I told her I was going to try this recipe. However she was completely blown away by the results. The meat maintained it's moisture for several days and even after being microwaved. Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iokenwa April 06, 2010

What a suprise, my husband loved it. We love pineapple and ham to start with, but what great flavor and it was very tender. A keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ygbif March 22, 2009

I made this recipe for Christmas. The only thing I did different was cook it in the oven for 3 hours, the ham did not fit in my crock pot.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mmsbin December 30, 2008

I made this recipe for Easter dinner and admit that I did not use Mt Dew... forgot to buy it. So... I subbed apple juice. Necessity is the mother of invention! :) The crushed pineapple stuck to the ham well and I put the cherries in little pineapple "nests"... and they stuck on well also. I basted four times during the four-hour cooking time (on HIGH)... however, next time, I am only going to cook for 3 hours.... as my crockpot seems to be turbo-charged.... or maybe 2 hours on HIGH and 2 hours on LOW. Anyhoo... the ham was outstanding and it couldn't have been easier. I don't think I'm gonna bake a ham in the oven again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Impera_Magna March 23, 2008

This was a big hit at the last holiday dinner, we'll be making this often

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef23 March 18, 2008

This is an excellent recipe. The house smelled wonderful when I came home from work and the left over's made great sandwiches. This will be made over and over again in our house. Made and reviewed for ZWT3

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AshK July 04, 2007

My first ever crock pot meal...and what a success! Thank you for this wonderful recipe! The ham was very tasty and moist- my whole family loved it! So easy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
melpetri May 15, 2007

When I try this I will give it my stars rating. Can't go wrong with MT Dew. I may try it with a tavern ham. Sounds wonderful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
domesticatedmom April 18, 2007

This was very easy and gives your ham a different taste than the "plain,usual" ham.We will have this again.And I LOVE the crockpot part!Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kellychris April 09, 2007

My husband does something similar like this except with ginger ale. Tastes great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen's Kitchen March 23, 2007
Crock Pot Mt. Dew-Pineapple Ham