9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was a good recipe and fairly easy. We used chicken breasts as well and by boyfriend liked it so much he handed out the recipe the next day to someone at work.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ceashel April 20, 2002

This is a good recipe. It is easy to prepare and the leftovers are as good as the night before (if there are leftovers). I used chicken breast instead of chicken pieces, but that was the only change that was made.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BeckyF March 29, 2002

Review for chicken only. I did not try the topping. The chicken itself came out tasting good and tender but just don't expect the mango flavor to come thru. The sauce was sweet and I poured it over the rice pilaf which was nice but no one would know it was mango after cooking for that long.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Tweaker September 17, 2008

I altered the recipe based on the other comments. I used extra curry and vanilla yogurt (no plain at my grocery store!), and it was delicious. Also, I loved the idea of cutting up half the mango and putting it on top. We only made about 2 breasts, so next time I'm going to make more chicken and use two mangoes (one for the sauce, one for dicing on top). Love it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stellanoctis April 25, 2007

Wow I don't know what I did wrong. The mango turned out mushy and tasteless. It was just bland; the chicken (I used thighs) didn't absorb any of the flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
db8_girl October 30, 2005

We enjoyed this recipe, but liked some parts of it better than others. I was not all that fond of the cooked mango. I have only eaten cooked mango in baked goods before. I think when I make it again, I will not use the mashed mango, but will dice some fresh mango & use it as a topping after cooking. The chicken itself was great. I used thighs. Cooked perfectly at 4 hours on low and 1/2 hour on high. I didn't have that strong cooking smell that I associate with chicken in the crockpot being done, so turned up the heat at the end. It came out perfectly: tender, but not mushy like some crock pot dishes are. We also greatly enjoyed the topping, with a nice blend of flavors from the ginger and curry. I may try that on other dishes. The only substitutions I made was frozen mango (fresh is not in season) & Splenda for the honey.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Judy from Hawaii November 15, 2004

Easy and very tasty. I used chicken thighs, as we like it dark. Also quadrupled the curry in the topping, which I thought helped -- until then you couldn't really taste it, was overpowered by yoghurt/orange/ginger flavors. Looking forward to having the leftovers for lunch today!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Josh Barratt October 22, 2004

I was impressed with this recipe and will definitely keep it as a favorite. I made it according to the recipe but with chicken breasts. It was very flavorful. I will be handing this one out to my friends!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Renea' October 10, 2004

YUM YUM YUM! I never used mango in a recipe before, but this was amazing! I didn't use fresh lemon (wasn't on hand) so I had to use the bottled stuff. I used chicken breast meat (less fat) and I didn't make the topping (which I probably missed out). Next time I will make the topping! Thanks for the GREAT recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shan19 July 11, 2004
Crock Pot Mango Chicken With Ginger Curry Topping