26 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This would have been horribly overcooked had it cooked for 6 hours! I cooked mine for 3 1/2 hours on low and it was mushier than I would have liked, WAY past al dente. I also kept stirring every so often because if I didn't, the outside would have been overcooked/burnt. I also added more milk and it did make it creamy. The flavor is decent, but I think macaroni and cheese just isn't made for a crock pot unfortunately. But I wanted to give it a try since we love mac/chs and I love using my crock pot! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef of 5 March 16, 2008

To quote my 6 year old grandson: "Papa, You Rock!" My 3 year old granddaughter: "Awsome!"

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Buddy P December 22, 2007

The taste was really good, but it turned out all lumpy...not creamy like I had hoped. I used a mix of Colby & Jack cheese...maybe that's why? Anyways, good taste, disappointing appearance and texture.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AutoShop Mama July 17, 2007

REMEMBER the old Frozen Morton's mac 'n cheese?? This tastes THE SAME.. MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amberngriffinco June 28, 2006

I loved this recipe. My husband is very hard to please when it comes to his mac and cheese, but he love this one. I too only cooked it for 4 hours. I also added some chopped ham one time and the next time i put bacon pieces. It turned out great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kelly Lawson March 29, 2006

Ahhh the perfect comfort food! Okay now this is what I did: Mine was done in 4 hrs, instead of cooking spray I used buttered flavored crisco, added minced onions(because we love the crunch and flavor), used a 50/50 blend of sharp/mild cheddar, added cubed ham to make it a 'dinner' rather than a side dish, I did add 1 c. more milk-I was worried that the w/the addition of onions and ham would perhaps ruin it. This was perfect, noodles were cooked thoroughly-had just slight burning on the side of the crockpot. Super Supper. Thank You Branwyn!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lets.eat December 16, 2005

Just as a few other people mentioned, this was very dry and not as creamy as I would have liked. I also cooked it 1 hour less than was indicated after looking at other peoples reviews.I think more milk and only 4 hours of cooking my correct the problem but I am not sure if I want to give it a try.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boxxr August 14, 2004

I needed a macaroni & cheese recipe to make at a camp this w/e. I made it as a preview at home, & frankly wasn'tall that impressed. But I ended up making it for camp anyway & was so glad I did. I doubled the recipe & as far as I know, that is the ONLY change I made. But it came out much better the 2nd time. It was much "cheesier" & not so bland. THe kids loved it & the program director wanted the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Judy from Hawaii June 13, 2004

It was okay. Not nearly as good as regular mac and cheese. I was a little disappointed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
polkaranger May 25, 2004

I make a recipe very similar to this but add either 1/4 cup melted butter or 2 tablespoons vegetable oil. I also only use 3 cups of shredded cheese. Additionally, I cook it on low for 2.5 to 3 hours, which seems to be plenty of time. Otherwise, the edges get brown and crunchy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HappyMommy1422 March 04, 2004
Crock Pot Macaroni and Cheese