26 Reviews

Everyone really loved this recipe. I used extra sharp NY cheddar cheese (3cups) sharp cheddar (1 cup)and it was very tasty. Be sure to safe some to sprinkle on top. I was not sure if the recipe intended for the "chef" to precook the noodles or not, but I finally just got brave and poured the uncooked noodles in. Am I ever glad I did. We have five kids, ages 3 thru 12 and all enjoyed. The noodles cooked up beautifully, don't know why I worried! Not a crockpot dish to cook and enjoy at your leisure though, as it will overcook. You will want to time it out so that you are ready to eat when it is done. It overcooked in my crockpot a little so I would cut the cooking time back an hour next time. Delicious!

41 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evelyn December 28, 2001

Yummy!!! I subsituted rotini for the elbows and added minced onion, garlic powder, and chopped jalepenos. I cooked it all up for just four hours. The noodles cooked up perfectly. The eggs in the recipe make it reminicient of a crustless quiche. I will skip the mixing in a seperate bowl next time. This is a winner for ease and taste!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dannielle February 16, 2002

It was an easy dish, but I found it to be very bland in taste. I think if I would have added a little bit of garlic powder and Onion salt, it would have enhanced the flavor. It wasnt at all what I expected. (I was expecting it to be a little creamy, dont know why i thought that either because of the eggs in it.) But it was still well liked in my home.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~*Miss Diggy*~ July 04, 2002

I was amazed that the macroni cooked so well. I found it to be rather dry and the next time I make it I will add more milk. I think the canned milk as it should give it a creamier texture.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
duckit February 01, 2002

Sorry, but this was not good. I read the reviews and followed the recipe. It was more like rubber cheese-- tires come to mind. The family made me promise to never make this again. But thank you for submitting this :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
angeladufay June 19, 2010

I noticed something while reading the reviews of this dish--the people who claimed it didn't turn out were the ones who got worried, and peeked and stirred, contrary to the specific instructions. I wanted to peek and stir, but I remembered this, and resisted the urge. I did mess with the recipe a bit--I only used one egg, and 17 ounces of evaporated milk (a big can and a little can). I like cheese, so I used more than was called for--the full 4 cups of sharp cheddar in the pot, as well as some feta I wanted to use up. I sprinkled even more cheddar, as well as parmasian and romano on top. I'm very happy with how this turned out, and I chose the perfect snowy day to try it. This is a recipe I'm going to keep--this would be a fantastic potluck dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CorianneCooks February 24, 2010

Delicious!!!! Very very cheesy! I fixed it for our family New Years Eve dinner and everyone raved about it. My 5 and 4 year olds really loved it too. Great family recipe! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
griffiths_melissa January 12, 2010

This was a great and very easy recipe! I changed the recipe a little. I cooked the pasta first since many people mentioned that it turned out dry. I also added dry mustard, pepper, garlic powder and a pinch of cayenne. I also used 1/2 cheddar cheese and 1/2 light velveeta. I used whole wheat pasta as well. Will be making again! It's great for a busy night! I cooked it for 1 1/2 hours on medium and 1 hour on high.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sconehead October 26, 2009

This was overdone. I wish I had read the reviews before making it. I had to throw it all in the trash. The grand kids said EWWW.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lady Mick February 13, 2009

Mine was also done at 3 1/2 hours on low--for a double batch--and I also had to stir mine so that the outside wouldn't burn. The flavor was pretty good (with the addition of 1 Tbs of dijon mustard), but I'm not sure about the texture... It was worth a try! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dwynnie October 20, 2008
Crock Pot Macaroni and Cheese