Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Little Red Rooster Breakfast Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Little Red Rooster Breakfast

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on August 25, 2002

      This was unbelievably awesome! I threw everything in the pot and my husband turned it on when he went to bed at 2 AM. The only change I made was using salted butter and 6 slices of bacon. I was not sure how thick to slice the potatoes, so I did approximately 1/4" slices (unpeeled). I also figured that I was supposed to crumble the bacon :) The only problem I had is that since I have a large crockpot (6 1/2 qt.), smaller recipes seem to cook much faster, so I used the low setting and after 6 hours the edges were burning a little bit. I have been told that the crockpot should be at least half full and it wasn't, so I am either going to have to buy a smaller crockpot, or double the recipe! Since these were sooooo great, I am sure no one would mind. It was so nice to come down in the morning and only have to whip up a big batch of scrambled eggs and toast! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe...it is difficult to cook a nice breakfast for a family of six and this made it easy. P.S. I was going to take a picture, but they ate them so fast, I couldn't get one! I will try next time...thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2004

      I put this in the crockpot Saturday night and on Sunday morning we awoke to the most marvelous smells! This was delicious! I cooked it on low however and to solve the problem another reviewer had of the potatoes being grey I tossed them in a mixture of of cream of tartar and water. I got that tip from a cookbook and it works like a charm. Thanks for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2003

      I gave it 4 stars because it was easy to put together, smelled great while cooking and tasted good when done. I would consider this a "family only" recipe simply because the potatoes didn't keep their nice white color like you'd expect in a hash-brown recipe. They were greyish color. It didn't effect the taste but I wouldn't like to serve them to company.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2007

      Had seen something similar but decided to try this one. ADD A TIN OF TOMATOES----makes for lovely flavor and stops it drying out. Enjoy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2007

      Sorry, but this was a disaster for me. I wish I had read all of the reviews first, so I would have known to cook it on low or add some liquid or something. By the time I made it back to the kitchen (8 hours and 5-10 minutes after starting) it was well beyond dried out. It was dark brown across the top and burnt in spots and all around the edges. There was a thin layer of bland but edible food in the very middle of the crockpot. The best parts were spots where I had left the bacon a little under-done with a fair amount of fat still attached. Those pieces came out less leathery and the surrounding potatoes retained a little more moisture and had the benefit of some flavoring from the bacon grease. I wouldn't make this again without major modifications to the recipe, but thanks anyway.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2005

      I found this rather dry. It did have a good taste though. It may need more layers of potatoes and something to make it more moist.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2005

      I read some of the other reviews, and cooked this on low for 8 hours. It was rather dry, and the bacon was almost burnt. I think it needs some liquid. If I make this again, I think I will add sour cream or mushroom soup...or cut the cooking time down to 3-4 hours on low.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2003

      The family enjoyed this recipe. I did however find that the edges were burned. Possibly unsing the low setting would help with this. The worst problem was that I couldn't sleep because of the wonderful aroma.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2002

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Little Red Rooster Breakfast

    Serving Size: 1 (436 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 539.2
     
    Calories from Fat 205
    38%
    Total Fat 22.8 g
    35%
    Saturated Fat 11.3 g
    56%
    Cholesterol 52.8 mg
    17%
    Sodium 388.2 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 67.7 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 8.5 g
    34%
    Sugars 4.2 g
    16%
    Protein 17.4 g
    34%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes