Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Lentil and Ham Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Lentil and Ham Soup

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on January 06, 2012

      Listed ingredients will not fit in a 4qt cooker. Fortunately, I have a larger one to transfer it into. Cooking now so haven't tasted yet, but expect it to be flavorful and very tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2011

      Well, I had to assume this would be a winner of a recipe since it was from Sue Lau! I cooked it on high for about 6 hours to perfection. Followed the recipe as written, but cut it in half. My ham was not very salty, so I actually had to add salt after cooking. I also added a little 21 Seasoning Salute from Trader Joes at the end. VERY nice lentil soup, Sue! Thanks for posting. My house smells WONDERFUL.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2010

      Very easy to make and I switched out 1/2 of the lentils with yellow split peas. I wanted red lentils, but couldn't find them locally. I found the soup very salty, and it could have been me. I added a meaty smoked ham hock to the crock pot for additional flavor and probably should have added no salt whatsoever. I threw a few cut up potatoes near the end of cooking time to try and soak up some of the salt, but ended up throwing the batch out. I'm making another batch tomorrow . . .

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2010

      This was wonderful! I didn't add the diced tomatoes, I was out. I did add a meaty ham bone, chicken bouillon, ham bouillon and 1 tsp of liquid smoke. My husband had 3 bowls. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2009

      This is very good soup. It is also extremely filling. I omitted the thyme and red pepper flakes and used chicken broth in place of the water. We really liked it and is was very easy to make too. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2009

    • on March 05, 2009

      I made this today on the stove top as I don't own a crock pot. I cooked it for 1 1/2 hours and it's perfect. I used red lentils and grated my carrots, so it looks quite dirrerent to Sue's photo but I bet it tastes pretty similar. I especially loved the garlic, thyme and tomatoes in this-it smelled fantastic as it cooked. I used a meaty ham bone and removed the meat when it cooled, then returned it to the soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2008

      This is delicious and filling. The broth really tastes amazing from the ham and veggies. Thank you for another reliable recipe. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2007

      This is terrific, TRUE! VERY comforting soup too! Nutritious and delicious ANY night or day! Thank you is all I can say!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Lentil and Ham Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (598 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 414.6
     
    Calories from Fat 87
    21%
    Total Fat 9.7 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 3.0 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 52.0 mg
    17%
    Sodium 1543.7 mg
    64%
    Total Carbohydrate 47.1 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 21.5 g
    86%
    Sugars 5.1 g
    20%
    Protein 35.2 g
    70%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fresh thyme

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites