20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The taste was really just ok to me. Got 4 stars for ease of making and for How easy it fell off the bone. Next time I'm going to do fresh squeezed OJ instead of lemon and add some pepper flakes and kind of go for an Asian flavor. Kind of a Panda chix flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
enestvmel February 20, 2011

We loved this recipe. I uselimeade instead of lemonade, it was what was on hand. Also I have a lemon tree so we cut up two lemons and added it to the pot. I used leftover broth with some cornstarch and made a sauce to drizzle over the chicken and rice. Better than lemon chicken at the Chinese restaurant.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shadethecat April 04, 2010

My son loves citrus flavored meats, this got two thumbs up, he loved it. Was very authentic asian tasting. I used boneless chicken breast and served with couscous. So easy as well!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Angela P. January 07, 2010

I was hoping it would be more lemony. I'm going to try again but add in some lemon zest. It was super easy to prepare though and the chicken came out perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
plannermom April 02, 2008

This recipe was okay. I used 4 large bone-in chicken legs with the thighs attached. I served it over white basmati rice. It was quite easy to make and smelled good, but ended up sweeter than I or my guest would have preferred. I might try it again without the added brownsugar and adding in some soya sauce. Don't know if I'll bother remaking this though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sashayy May 15, 2007

This was delicious! Not too lemony and not too sweet. I made it with chicken breasts and served it over rice. It was a big hit with my husband and kids. Quick and easy with very little prep. Great recipe, thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Go Gators November 02, 2006

What a treat this was!! We used a can of frozen margarita mix (thawed) instead of the lemonade and it was delicious. The chicken came out so tender and juicy and flavorful. It just fell off the bone after about 5.5 hours on low in the crockpot. This will certainly be an often-repeated dish in our house. Thanks so much LeahG!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Memling February 19, 2006

Let me start off by saying I followed every directions perfectly. My husband and I just did not like the flavor. I love lemon, but this had an extreme "fake" lemon flavor. Also it was not as moist as I like chicken to be. It was eatable, but I will not make it again. I just think it is not for everyone.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littlePirate February 17, 2006

This was quick to throw together. I think that you have to love lemon-flavoured dishes to love this recipe. We both like lemon, but this was a bit too lemony for us. If that makes sense!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
esm4877 February 05, 2006

Why am I only limited to 5 stars on a 10 star recipe? This is by far one of my favourite recipes I've found on 'zaar because it's fast, easy and delicious. I plan on spreading the good word about this to everyone I know. The lemon wasn't too overpowering and the flavours were well balanced. Thank you for a wonderful addition to my cooking repertoire.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Salmon of Doubt January 22, 2006
Crock Pot Lemon Chicken