38 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This chicken was very tasty and moist. I used four large bone in breast halves and cut each into three pieces. Since I did not use a whole bird and the pieces were small; I only cooked them for 5 1/2 hours before adding the lemon juice. I used white wine instead of sherry, doubled the amount of garlic (we love it), and added about 1/3 cup of chicken stock that I had on hand. I served this with couscous, steamed broccoli and a fresh fruit plate. Thank you evelyn/athens, this made a lovely dinner. Update 3/23/07 The first time I made this I use an OLD 1970's "Harvest Gold" crock pot. DH bought me a new stainless slow cooker and this was the first recipe I made in it. I used 3 large bone in chicken breasts and this time I did not cut them up. I cooked them on low for 5 1/2 hours before adding the lemon juice, and they turned out dry. My new slow cooker cooks a lot quicker/hotter then my tired 30 year old one. I will probably use the whole chicken from now on. This recipe is so delicious, I'm salivating.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JT'sMom March 23, 2007

This is a really good recipe! The extra steps aren't too time consuming. This is very versatile. I have used it in recipes, on salads or all alone.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kennasmommy March 05, 2007

This was SOOO good wow! The flavour was fantastic. Best chicken recipe I have made in the crockpot by far. Delish!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
soulmatesforever January 03, 2007

My family LOVED this. I had long ago given up making lemon chicken (or any whole chicken recipe) in the slow cooker because the skin turns to pale mush. But the browning of this chicken in a skillet adds just a little bit of time and trouble, yet so much flavor and texture to the chicken! I have made it twice now and it is considered a new family favorite.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
appleydapply November 08, 2006

I used boneless chicken breasts, which definitely don't require the full 7 hours. It was good - probably would have been even more tender with other chicken pieces. Next time, I'll make a gravy out of the juices.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bachelorette October 18, 2006

I loved it!! It made the house smell really homily all day, flavours great, meat really moist. To top it off i used the skimmed off fat to cook a variation of your Greek Potatoes!! hmmmm added some brocolli and the meal was complete. Thank you Ev

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tulip-Fairy September 22, 2006

I can't really add to the other reviews ..... I can only recommend this recipe! The final result makes that little extra effort in the beginning worth every minute. Thanx Evelyn for another repeater!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CountryLady August 18, 2006

Ok, I did change this a little bit, but it was sooooo good. I used a whole chicken I cut up and skinned. I only used 1 T butter and a nonstick skillet to brown the chicken. I added paprika to the chicken before browning, but left the garlic off. I sauteed all the garlic in the drippings after browning the chicken. After cooking in the crockpot I added some fresh black pepper and about 1 T sugar to the juices, and also thickened them up a bit. I served it with some mixed vegetable couscous and we were all happy! (also added a generous bit of flat leaf parsley to the finished product)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kitchenslave03 August 10, 2006

The taste was not great for me.Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Msjin May 27, 2006
Crock Pot Lemon Chicken