28 Reviews

Wow, loved it. When I deboned the lamd, I removed all visable fat. The only difference I made was to sit the raw meat on the juiced lemon rinds after immersing. When the meat was cooked I removed it from the crock pot, and made a gravy with the juices (no fat came to the surface at all). Then put the meat back into the pot and kept warm until serving.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Josey1964 April 12, 2009

Delicious and so easy to do. Used fresh oregano (1 tablespoon). I would consider re-naming it fall of the bone lamb, the leg I used was 3 1/2lb and the meat succulent. Thank you Bokenpop for a keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat January 21, 2007

Awesome....a real hit with everyone. Key is, leave the lid on.....don't open it up. Trust that the meat will be tender. I think mine would have been tons more tender if I had left the lid shut.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jenni R. July 06, 2015

Excellent flavor. Big hit with the family served on white rice with pan fried asparagus.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tysonhager February 23, 2013

I was lazy, so I just grabbed large handfuls of fresh mint, rosemary and oregano, laid it in the liquids, squeezed one lemon and put the two rinds on top, as one poster suggested and then laid the lamb on top of it all. I used jarred minced garlic and smothered it all over the lamb, as well as sea salt and pepper b/c someone complained it was bland. Put in crockpot on high for 6 hours and everybody loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jimnyo December 22, 2012

This was ok but didn't have as much flavor as my family likes. I think next time I make it I'll add some spices.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Lil' Momma Jenn September 05, 2012

This was a nice change of flavor for lamb. We did not use the mint vinegar, our lamb is grass fed Dorper and very mild, it sounded a bit overwhelming. But, the other ingredient tastes were delightful and different, the meat tender and moist. We will use this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
texomamorganlady September 10, 2011

I got mixed reviews from my family. Some liked the vinegar & mint. Some didn't. I myself did not care for that part of the recipe. If I decide to make this again I will omit the mint vinegar or just make some on the side for the ones who do like it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Lill April 05, 2010

I had high expectations because of the many good reviews, but I was disappointed. The lemon flavor did not compliment the lamb, rather it dominated it. Overall the recipe lacked the richness and savor of most crock pot lamb recipes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rotkin February 26, 2010

I used this recipe twice. It was delicious! We liked it so much, we are having it for Thanksgiving this year!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cheryldoss November 07, 2009
Crock Pot Leg of Lamb