390 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I'll start off by saying that I've NEVER made a good lasagna. This may be because of the intense hands-on time required for boiling noodles, layering, etc. I have, however, tasted plenty of good lasagna (props to Stouffer's and, of course, Mom!). I changed out several things, but this, bottom line, was awesome! I did exchange the beef for ground pork and used dried garlic and onion then added 3 Tbsp brown sugar to the tomato mixture (used 1 oz tomato sauce more than written) to help cut some of the acidity (next time I may add a bit more as it was still a bit too acidic for my taste). I also used 16 oz. cottage cheese and stirred-in 1/2 lb. cooked chopped spinach and 1 egg; in addition, I used 16 oz lasagna noodles. Finally, I didn't have enough mozzarella on hand so I used 4 oz mozzarella, 8 oz cheddar, and an extra 4 oz of parmesan. Still had a great flavor. I had 3 nice layers, saving a bit of the cheese to put on top. I think that even 4 hours may be a tad too long, though, but I can't tell for sure. I ended-up cooking mine 4 hrs. 45 min (because I got doing other things and forgot the time) and a few edges were a bit tough. Like other reviewers, I may use a bit of water around the edges next time (yes, there will be a next time). Overall, though, I'd have to say AMAZING. Thanks so much for making my (lasagna) dreams come true!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SandwichQueen July 07, 2009

I just got done making this, and I have to say, "WOW!" I have made many recipezaar recipes, but have never been compelled to review them..until now! I made as directed, but did onion and garlic powder instead of fresh. I also added about 1/2 tsp extra oregano, omitted the salt, and threw in about 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes. I used only 8 oz of pasta and added 3/4 c of water around the edges...it turned out sooo delicious! This will be on our regular roation from now on. Thanks for a brilliant recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HealthNutSarah June 24, 2009

Yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Megamommy8880 June 16, 2009

This is amazing. I've made it twice now and my family loves it. I even brought leftovers to work to share with a co worker, who also happens to be a chef that graduated from culinary school and HE loved it. He could not believe there was a crock pot lasagna

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
klb42183 June 04, 2009

This was very easy and tasty. I did, however, miss the crunchy corners from the usual oven-baked lasagna. My BF was a little skeptical of the lasagna from a crock-pot, but he enjoyed it. This made a TON, so we have lunch & leftovers for other meals. Will make again for its ease. I ended up cooking mine about 4 hours, with no extra water, and it did not burn at all.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Southern Bug May 31, 2009

This was a great, easy lasagna to make. It made for a great dinner when I was away just before dinnertime. As recommended by other reviewers, I cut back the salt, and added water to prevent burning. I also used 1 1/2 lbs of ground beef and cooked on low for about 3 1/2 hours. Served with Caesar salad and garlic toast. Will definitely make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deepfreeze May 27, 2009

Flavor for this was good, but it was a little too dry cooked on low for 4 hours in my crock pot. I see other reviewers added some water, and if I try again I will do so. Also, I didn't add the cheese to the top until the last half hour or so to prevent it from burning.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pedspeech May 24, 2009

This is my first time to comment on a recipe, but this one was so good and so easy I just had too. I was very skeptical of this recipe, but it turned out great. I did make my own meat sauce, and did add the 1/2 cup of water. I also watched it and pushed the cheese off of the sides as it cooked so it did not burn as others did. I do not think this is one you can put in the crock pot and leave it, I cooked mine for 3 hours and if it had cooked any longer the pasta would have been to done for my taste. It was wonderful and made enough to have for lunch tomorrow. Thank you for a great easy lasagna.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mandiis May 15, 2009

This was so good, I think it really allowed the flavors to mesh better. I will never make lasagna the old way again. Thank you for making another meal easier to prepare and taste great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Uniqleeme May 15, 2009

Great Lasagna! It was so tasty. Even my picky husband helped himself to seconds. Kids liked it too! A keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NurseGirl2004 May 07, 2009
Crock Pot Lasagna