387 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was just toooooo easy!! And it was VERY good!! I put this in my crock pot (I have an oblong sized model) and some Italian Parmesan Bread in my bread machine and I went to work. When I came home, my whole house smelled wonderful!! Thanks Dorothy!!

56 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Missy Merrill March 22, 2002

Just a warning. Don't try to rush this recipe by setting the crock pot on high. I did that and the edges burned and left a burn flavor throughout. I know it would have been yummy otherwise. Also, next time I'm going to try replacing half the ground beef with spiced sausage to give it a kick.

55 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susan H July 05, 2002

Absolutely incredible! This was so delicious and easy. Mine was done after only 4 hours. I then turned the crockpot to the warm setting so it wouldn't be overcooked. I think this will become a regular in my house!

48 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dale! June 20, 2002

I added cheddar cheese the 2nd time I made it and it was delicious. You do have to watch closely so it does not overcook.

29 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SHARON October 10, 2002

This smelled so good while cooking....just about drove me mad waiting for it! Unfortunately, it burned and it was only in there for five hours. (BUT I think that's just my crockpot). Still what we managed to salvage was just fabulous. I added some basil and parsley and it was wonderful!!! Definite keeper. It's so much less time-consuming and less messy than my lasagna...and still as good. Thanks!

24 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HoosierMomOf5 June 17, 2002

This was great. I added the water around the edges and used "no boil" lasagna noodles. Will make it again soon!

18 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shell2 January 20, 2003

We had this tonight and it was so delicious and easy to make. I used sausage, half sweet half spicy, riccotta cheese, no salt and added the 1 and 1/2 cups of water that other reviewers suggested.My family loved it, I would give it 10 stars if I could. Thanks Dorothy for a wonderful recipe.

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Robyn:) November 14, 2002

Ooooh, if you're nervous about making your own lasagna, don't be! I made this exactly as the recipe said but then added about 1 1/2 cups water around the lasagna before I cooked it, as per another review. It was excellent! Mine finished cooking in about 5 hours so I turned it to low for the last 3. It was perfect and *much* better than a store bought. Easy, quick prep, fantastic taste. Three checks in my book. Thanks Dorothy!

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TrinkDawg November 13, 2002

UNBELIEVEABLE...Trust the recipe and it will turn out terrific.....you must add one half cup around the outside.....five hours later you wont believe you added it. WE will make this again!!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lisa Vitale December 01, 2002

I made this recipe this am. I was afraid it would be dry, (based on previous reviews), so I poured red wine, (not cooking wine) around the noodles and sauce. It came out great, and incredibly easy! The next time I make this, I will doctor up the sauce with a lot more garlic, green pepper, and hot sauce!!! M

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kmk118 October 24, 2002
Crock Pot Lasagna