10 Reviews

I thought this was wonderful. Very easy to do. I did add a little extra soy sauce and corn starch - somehow I ended up with more liquid than I guess you should have - probably a fattier chicken or whatever. Delicious, as usual, Mirjam.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bogey'sMom May 20, 2002

My husband, my grandkids, and my children all thought this dish was delicious!I didn't have any water chestnuts and I used crushed pineapple instead of sliced. I couldn't find my cornstarch, so I ended up using flour to thicken it, and it was still wonderful! Oh, I only had about an hour and a half till dinner, so I cooked it in a saucepan over the stove.Thanks!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 June 20, 2002

Wonderful! Because of a mix-up in some friends schedule I had 6 pounds if thighs which had to be used quickly so chose this. I doubled the recipe. I only had chunk pineapple. I only had one tin of Water Chestnuts so I added a tin of julienne Bamboo Shoots. Chinese wouldn't be Chinese without the counter-point of some chilies to liven things up. A teaspoon of crushed Red Chili Flakes worked well. As you say, not authentic but them peasant cooking no matter the country has always been making do with what's at hand. This freezes well which is good because I have about 9 or 10 meals in the freezer. Thanx, Pierre

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pierre Dance April 20, 2004

This was a great recipe Mirj- thank you so much. I prepared it as directed and it smelled great cooking. My husband commented that I could make it again! A+

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elizabeth Lanza December 05, 2003

I am sorry to say that neither my DH nor I cared for this dish. I followed the directions as written with one exception. I used pineapple chunks in water, not syrup, and used two envelopes of sweet and lo to make up for the lack of sweetness, but it just didn't appeal to either of us. I guess not every recipe is for everyone, and this, unfortunately was one of those. I will not be making this again, tho I am curious as to why it turned out this way. I wonder if subbing the plain pineapple for the sugary kind can be the answer. I am not going to rate this since I did not follow it to the letter, and it would not be a fair rating. However, if it tasted this way with the pineapple in syrup that was called for in the recipe, i would only give it 2 stars. Sorry, Mirj, I wanted this one to work.....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maggie in Florida February 28, 2008

Very good - very easy.Great on game nights . Will be adding this to our dinner rotation. Yum

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Liz Fresh Plate May 11, 2005

This recipe is similar to Philippine Adobe chicken minus the broth, pineapples, and water chestnuts. I was going to be out all day so I couldn't wait until later to put the soy sauce and vinegar so I put it with the other ingredients in the crockpot. I had to add more salt since it needed it.It was okay and would probably make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CAROLYN C. March 28, 2005

Easy & tasty. I included a chopped red bell pepper during the last hour and it added wonderful color and flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Danny's Diner November 17, 2004

Another great recipe, Mirj! I fixed this in combination with Fried Rice #8224 and Chines Broccoli #28465. DH doesn't usually like "sweets" with his meat, like pineapple, but he asked how soon I would be making this one again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lynettejs November 06, 2004

Delicious!! I didn't have the water chestnuts but I added carrots, onions, and bell pepper. The veggies were still a little crispy which I absolutely love!! It isn't very Chinese but we had a baked potatoe on the side and that really complimented the dish nicely!! Love it!! It has been added to1 our favorites list! Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jenni10 July 08, 2004
Crock Pot Kowloon Chicken