20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Made this recipe substituting 1 cup fresh cut apples in place of cider. It turned out beautifully. Thanks for this great recipe. I tasted it at a party and had to have it. I was going to fly at the seat of my pants with it and I'm so glad I checked on this site first. Thanks Queen! Definitely a keeper.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wantgoodfood January 16, 2011

My uncle made this for Christmas Eve...I don't even like kielbasa and I HATE sauerkraut but this was absolutely incredible. He used fresh kielbasa from a butcher and I think the draining/rinsing the sauerkraut so it's not so bitter did the trick. He also added an apple (I assume small diced) and a dash of worcestershire. MUST TRY this recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VJeandell December 31, 2013

You can't beat crock pot cooking. Throw everything into the crock pot and come home to a yummy meal. I scaled this recipe to 4 servings, and followed the recipe as written. Easy and delicious. Made for Jan 2010 Comfort Cafe.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crafty Lady 13 January 11, 2010

I prepared this exactly as provided in the recipe and cooked on low for 8 hours. AWESOME!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hot Hungarian Chick December 05, 2006

Great recipe, made it today. Only thing I change was the length of cooking time. Six hours on high is too long and cooks away any juice. Had to add more water and set on low. The sauerkraut was really good. Thanks for the recipe.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Riggeroni October 06, 2005

Was liked by all. I didn't have apple cider, used apple juice, also cut back on the brown sugar since DH likes his kraut a bit on the sour side. Only cooked on high for 3 hours cause my c/pot seems to cook hot. Very good and DH loved the left overs for work.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NC Gal August 03, 2008

This was awesome. I veganized it by putting the cooked onion, sauerkraut, sugar, water, and cider in the crock all day. Then when I got home, fried up some vegan sausage and added it to the kraut just before serving. I served it over mashed potatoes which really hit the spot. My boyfriend and I loved it. I found it had a little too much liquid though, and would probably cut the water by 1/2 cup or maybe omitting the water completely. I will definitely be making this again. Thank you.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zaar junkie February 08, 2008

All gone, you got here too late. To make it up to you, tomorrow's lunch is on me. Is McDonald's okay?

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng April 14, 2013

This was delicious, and so easy to put together. And so delicious! :) I replaced the cider with 1 cup of fresh cut up granny smith apples (As suggested by a previous commenter, wantgoodfood).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marymortuary October 10, 2012

I hate giving anything a review of less than 4 stars but this recipe wasn't really a hit with our family. The brown sugar and apple cider gave the sauerkraut a strange taste that we weren't expecting. It also cooked into the kielbasa and changed the taste a lot. I think I may try it again with the the suggestion to add apples instead of apple cider and not rinse the sauerkraut. I need that pickled taste for sauerkraut to taste "right" to me and that taste was missing from this recipe. I'm sorry for the less than stellar review and I will try it again to see if maybe it was something that I did.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PSU Lioness February 22, 2012
Crock Pot Kielbasa & Sauerkraut