Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Kielbasa & Sauerkraut Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Kielbasa & Sauerkraut

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on January 16, 2011

      Made this recipe substituting 1 cup fresh cut apples in place of cider. It turned out beautifully. Thanks for this great recipe. I tasted it at a party and had to have it. I was going to fly at the seat of my pants with it and I'm so glad I checked on this site first. Thanks Queen! Definitely a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2013

      My uncle made this for Christmas Eve...I don't even like kielbasa and I HATE sauerkraut but this was absolutely incredible. He used fresh kielbasa from a butcher and I think the draining/rinsing the sauerkraut so it's not so bitter did the trick. He also added an apple (I assume small diced) and a dash of worcestershire. MUST TRY this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2010

      You can't beat crock pot cooking. Throw everything into the crock pot and come home to a yummy meal. I scaled this recipe to 4 servings, and followed the recipe as written. Easy and delicious. Made for Jan 2010 Comfort Cafe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2006

      I prepared this exactly as provided in the recipe and cooked on low for 8 hours. AWESOME!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2005

      Great recipe, made it today. Only thing I change was the length of cooking time. Six hours on high is too long and cooks away any juice. Had to add more water and set on low. The sauerkraut was really good. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2008

      Was liked by all. I didn't have apple cider, used apple juice, also cut back on the brown sugar since DH likes his kraut a bit on the sour side. Only cooked on high for 3 hours cause my c/pot seems to cook hot. Very good and DH loved the left overs for work.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2008

      This was awesome. I veganized it by putting the cooked onion, sauerkraut, sugar, water, and cider in the crock all day. Then when I got home, fried up some vegan sausage and added it to the kraut just before serving. I served it over mashed potatoes which really hit the spot. My boyfriend and I loved it. I found it had a little too much liquid though, and would probably cut the water by 1/2 cup or maybe omitting the water completely. I will definitely be making this again. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2013

      All gone, you got here too late. To make it up to you, tomorrow's lunch is on me. Is McDonald's okay?

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2012

      This was delicious, and so easy to put together. And so delicious! :) I replaced the cider with 1 cup of fresh cut up granny smith apples (As suggested by a previous commenter, wantgoodfood).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2012

      I hate giving anything a review of less than 4 stars but this recipe wasn't really a hit with our family. The brown sugar and apple cider gave the sauerkraut a strange taste that we weren't expecting. It also cooked into the kielbasa and changed the taste a lot. I think I may try it again with the the suggestion to add apples instead of apple cider and not rinse the sauerkraut. I need that pickled taste for sauerkraut to taste "right" to me and that taste was missing from this recipe. I'm sorry for the less than stellar review and I will try it again to see if maybe it was something that I did.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2010

      This was fantastic! I took it to two cover-dish dinners and there was less than a soup bowl remaining each time. My only change was to use bratwurst instead of kielbasas, but that was only because these were Octoberfest gatherings. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2008

      Really great - I used smoked sausage and I halved the recipe so I only used the cider ( no water) I cooked this on high for 5 hours then turned to low until dinner-I served this with "spaetzle with brown butter". Thanks for the great recipe--will make agin.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2008

      Outstanding! An easy way for me to give my German husband a taste of home.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2008

      Brought this to work and everybody loved it! Personally I don't like sauerkraut, but even I ate some of this. Thanks for an easy, tasty recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2007

      Very easy and delicious. I kept going back for more. It's a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2007

      Easy and excellent. My kind of recipe. Smelled divine and tasted like we were back in Germany. Thanks Queen, this is a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2006

      Easy comfort food. I cut the recipe in half and cut the cooking time back to 4 hours. I used a spicy smoked Portuguese sauauge. The cider and sugar gives a pleasant slightly sweet flavor ro the Kraut . Thanks for sharing this recipe

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2014

      After reading the reviews I was really excited to try this recipe. Unfortunately, it was totally bland. Even the Kielbasa didn't have any real flavor. I did add some apples like other reviewers suggested instead of apple cider - not sure if that was the culprit? I didn't even rinse the sauerkraut, though I did drain it. I would try this again but not add apples, use the liquid from the sauerkraut instead of water, and not put in the brown sugar. Then maybe it will have some taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2013

      I liked the kraut and the kielbasa, but the juice didn't quite work for me with the other flavors. I thought for sure I would, but now I know. I ended up adding some brown gravy mix and caraway seeds and liked the end result, serving it over mashed potatoes. I'm sure others will really like the flavors of this recipe, but it just wasn't for me. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2008

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Kielbasa & Sauerkraut

    Serving Size: 1 (434 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 435.8
     
    Calories from Fat 281
    64%
    Total Fat 31.2 g
    48%
    Saturated Fat 10.5 g
    52%
    Cholesterol 74.7 mg
    24%
    Sodium 2608.8 mg
    108%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.7 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 7.1 g
    28%
    Sugars 15.5 g
    62%
    Protein 16.1 g
    32%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes