12 Reviews

Ok, I can't believe I haven't rated this recipe yet... I've used it so many times. Two words, Easy and Delicious! SOMETIMES (If I have time) I will brown the chicken and sausage before putting it in the crock, also boneless skinless thighs work really well with this recipe too. I also substitute thyme rather than basil... I also have some 'secret cajun spices' that I will throw into the pot for good measure. Definately a keeper recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CHRISSYG February 16, 2010

I can't add or take away from any of the comments that have already been made. This was a great recipe for my 3 qt. crock pot. I made a few substitutions and it still turned out fabulous. I used chorizo instead of andouille, 1 bell pepper instead of two, and added two more cloves of garlic. It turned out perfectly, and I actually didn't have too much liquid because letting it cook longer thickened the sauce. Definite keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brightdawn1891 April 29, 2012

I have never made Jambalaya before and this turned out great. I added cayenne pepper and paprika to spice it up a bit. I cut down on the broth because of other reviewers recommendations. I found this to be an easy recipe and will keep this recipe to make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JOY1998 July 23, 2007

This recipe is very easy to make. I followed the directions as indicated, however, I used less broth as other reviewers suggested, using 3/4 of a 14.5 oz can versus a 15.5 oz can. Even with this reduction, it was still a bit too liquidy. While my fiance and I liked the dish, it was a little on the bland side for our tastes, and we ended up adding quite a bit more Tabasco to the portions on our plate after I served it. This helped a lot; however, it would have tasted better had I added more Tabasco as I was cooking and gave it time to soak in. While the dish was good, I probably wont make it again and will search for a spicier recipe that suits our tastes a bit more.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Jenny May 23, 2007

This was great-- easy and really tasty. I used cayenne pepper instead of hot sauce which made it spicier, and substituted liquid smoke for the sausage to make it low fat/low cal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whoop_de_doo69 December 05, 2006

We really enjoyed this recipe. I took the advice of other viewers and only added 1/2 of the broth so there wouldn't be too much liquid. Very easy to just throw everything in and leave for the day.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lavan March 01, 2006

My husband and family really enjoyed this. The only thing I noticed was it was too salty. I read the postings before cooking so I did cut back on some of the liquid so it wasnt watery. Other than that it was great!! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
trinagermany December 28, 2005

The flavor was good, but too much liquid and my DH preferred the 'stovetop' variety so that the chicken and sausage is 'browned' a bit rather than steamed. Did use Rotel tomatoes w/gr chilies

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lets.eat September 07, 2005

Excellent tasting recipe. The only things I changed were for personal prference, I omit the salt and the sausage. I also found the recipe a little too watery, but the taste was wonderful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mftaylor April 26, 2005
Crock Pot Jambalaya