54 Reviews

Lennie, had this for dinner and DH will be having the rest for lunch tomorrow. Very good taste! So easy to prepare too. We had some smoked sausage from New Orleans shipped so I put that in and it, was great with the shrimp. We dipped some french rolls in the sauce...delicious. Thanks, this is a keeper!!

50 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dana-MMH April 12, 2002

I made this one yesterday, It needed a little spicing up though, I used some cayenne pepper instead of the red pepper sauce. Yummy!

26 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ThatJodiGirl January 13, 2002

This recipe will light up your life and clear your sinuses at the same time. I followed the recipe to a “T” except that I had to use salt substitute. Oh, and before I forget, I think there may be a typo in the ingredient list – it calls for 3 cloves of garlic, but I suspected that was possibly meant to read “8 cloves garlic”, so I followed my gut instinct. For the smoked sausage I used 1 cup of my homemade smoked andouille sausage and 1 cup of my favourite butcher’s own kickazz chorizo sausage. Due to nothing other than a total lack of planning on my part, I ran short on time, and so I had to do the first stage of the cooking on the High setting – the veggies were beautifully tender after only a little over 3 hours. Then I turned the heat down to Low and added the shrimp – they were done to perfection after only 45 minutes. The one and only teeny weeny weeny shortcoming, and this was 100% just the nature of crockpots in general, was that the sauce was on the runny side. To remedy this, I drained a bunch of the sauce into a small saucepan and thickened it with some filé powder (ground sassafras) and a wee smidgen of cornstarch. My only other comment on the ingredients is that, since you can obviously use any red pepper sauce you like, I used the brand new Tabasco (brand) smoked chipotle sauce which I think turned out to be a perfect compliment to the smoked meats. All in all, this is a rather superior recipe and a great no-brainer to prepare.

22 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mille® February 24, 2003

Wonderful dish full of good vegetables. Very colorful as well. My whole family liked it. I beleive it would have been better with Cajun/Andouille sausage, but I used Polish smoked sausage as that was the best available at the store.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wallyz February 09, 2003

This is a very good recipe. My family always knows what to say when they love something. They all say Big 5 Stars. Mark says 5 star plus 4 and still counting. This is a must save. It has a home right here at my house. I did add Red Pepper Flakes to spice it up. Wonderful Meal for us. Thank You

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Braunda October 11, 2002

This recipe was delicious. It took almost no time to put it together in the morning. I froze the leftovers in individual servings, and just microwaved the singles over the next few weeks. I plan to make it again.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mikecur December 19, 2002

Made this for Super Bowl Sunday in honor of my home state of Louisiana and the New Orleans Saints. Based on Mille's review, I did add gumbo file powder to thicken and also doubled the garlic. Since I had it on hand, I used 1 pound of frozen (31/40 count) uncooked shrimp, thawed, which made for a really easy dish to put together and it was oh so tasty and gone in no time!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Little_Sister February 12, 2010

I made this for my family and we loved it. It smells so nice while cooking and everything blended wonderfully. I did add some rice to mine 2 hours before it was done. We like our jambalaya with rice cooked in and this did the trick. Thank you for sharing with us. DD1 couldn't quite eating it when she would come over. That's what I'm looking for in a recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour June 30, 2013

Fantastic recipe. Ran out of time and made it on the stove the first time, and liked it much better. Added 1/2 chicken breast chopped up both times, and really liked it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bzsoccermom February 19, 2010

I am making this tonight for the third time. The first two times were awesome, but today, I used 4 leftover charcoal grilled smoked sausages, and one brat, and it's the best yet! I love this recipe most of all though, because it's so cheap to make, especially when you use leftovers! Thanks for the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jamc100 June 04, 2009
Crock Pot Jambalaya