91 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is fantastic. I was abit concerned with the amount of salt, especially with using ketchup, but it was perfect. I used imported paprika..1 t. mild, 1 t. hot. Just before serving I stirred in some sour cream and served it over extra wide buttered noodles, a leafy green salad and warm crusty french bread...oh God I gotta run to the store and get the stuff to make it again..this is making me hungry! Great recipe Garnet, I will make this often.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle S. November 17, 2002

"Outstanding" and "Wow" were my husband's comments when he tried this, so I have to give it 5 stars. I used regular stewing beef and it turned out very tender despite only having 6 hours cooking time. I found that the 1/4 cup of flour thickened the gravy almost too much, so I ended up throwing in about 1/4 cup of red wine at the end. I served it over egg noodles as others suggested and sprinkled the top with parsley. It was wonderful - A keeper for sure.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Just Call Me Martha January 12, 2003

This recipe turned out really well. The meat was very tender and served over pasta, it made a delicious supper. I served it with fresh, crusty Italian bread and a green salad.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bert May 29, 2002

I give a 2 only because a majority of these ingredients are NOT included in a traditional Hungarian goulash -- it seems to be simply a stew, at best. I would know because I'm Hungarian and while every Hungarian has their "authentic" recipe, this recipe comes no where close to what our goulash should be. That being said, goulash is a "peasant food" and there is NO WAY they would use brown sugar, ketchup, etc. In addition, where are your vegetables and seasonings (i.e. carrots, celery, diced parsnip, ground carroway seeds, bay leave, tomatoes or even tomato paste, and sometimes sliced green pepper). This may be good recipe but it is also a sham (and almost an insult to my culture's traditional dish) to make a "Hungarian Goulash" this way.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JRedling25 October 07, 2012

I put in some whole mushrooms and spinach, and this was phenomenal. I agree that next time I won't be cooking it for as long - a lot of the juices had evaporated by the time it was all ready. Threw in some noodles about a half hour before serving, and it was great!!! I had just enough leftovers for lunch the next day, but that was it. Definitely going to use this one again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rangergurl March 28, 2011

Wow. Omitted onion, added probably a bit more garlic and a pound of baby carrots. Really yummy, flavorful, tender meat, and I think the carrots complemented the flavor nicely. This is sort of like a fabulous and slightly different beef stew. We had guests over when I made this and they were quite impressed. :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Megicce June 01, 2010

We really enjoyed this, Garnet! It smelled great when we walked in the door today after school and work, and tasted even better! I followed the directions exactly and we ate it over hot buttered egg noodles with homegrown canned green beans and biscuits straight from the oven - yum! It's a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
soonermama October 13, 2011

We loved this! I ended up cooking this on high for about 3 1/2 hours and it was perfect. I added more vegetables: carrots, peppers, more onions and squash as well. Instead of flour, I added a corn starch slurry which worked wonderfully. I did not add any water at the beginning and found that mine really didn't need it. Can't wait to make it again. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yamakarasu October 11, 2011

We were not big fans...I think it was too salty and too floury. It did not taste like a goulash to me at all - maybe it was the combo of too much salt/too much ketchup. I am not entirely sure. Sorry!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BurgundyS March 10, 2010

This is probably the best tasting stew dish I have ever made. I made a half recipe. Cooked it for 8 hours in the crock pot. Even with only 1 pound of beef stew meat, it needed the full 8 hours to get tender. The flavors all blend together well. I served it on wide goulash egg noodles. I will make this recipe again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie Nixon February 21, 2010
Crock Pot Hungarian Goulash