Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Hungarian Goulash Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Hungarian Goulash

    Average Rating:

    91 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 91

    Sort by:

    • on November 17, 2002

      This is fantastic. I was abit concerned with the amount of salt, especially with using ketchup, but it was perfect. I used imported paprika..1 t. mild, 1 t. hot. Just before serving I stirred in some sour cream and served it over extra wide buttered noodles, a leafy green salad and warm crusty french bread...oh God I gotta run to the store and get the stuff to make it again..this is making me hungry! Great recipe Garnet, I will make this often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2003

      "Outstanding" and "Wow" were my husband's comments when he tried this, so I have to give it 5 stars. I used regular stewing beef and it turned out very tender despite only having 6 hours cooking time. I found that the 1/4 cup of flour thickened the gravy almost too much, so I ended up throwing in about 1/4 cup of red wine at the end. I served it over egg noodles as others suggested and sprinkled the top with parsley. It was wonderful - A keeper for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2002

      This recipe turned out really well. The meat was very tender and served over pasta, it made a delicious supper. I served it with fresh, crusty Italian bread and a green salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2012

      I give a 2 only because a majority of these ingredients are NOT included in a traditional Hungarian goulash -- it seems to be simply a stew, at best. I would know because I'm Hungarian and while every Hungarian has their "authentic" recipe, this recipe comes no where close to what our goulash should be. That being said, goulash is a "peasant food" and there is NO WAY they would use brown sugar, ketchup, etc. In addition, where are your vegetables and seasonings (i.e. carrots, celery, diced parsnip, ground carroway seeds, bay leave, tomatoes or even tomato paste, and sometimes sliced green pepper). This may be good recipe but it is also a sham (and almost an insult to my culture's traditional dish) to make a "Hungarian Goulash" this way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2011

      I put in some whole mushrooms and spinach, and this was phenomenal. I agree that next time I won't be cooking it for as long - a lot of the juices had evaporated by the time it was all ready. Threw in some noodles about a half hour before serving, and it was great!!! I had just enough leftovers for lunch the next day, but that was it. Definitely going to use this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2010

      Wow. Omitted onion, added probably a bit more garlic and a pound of baby carrots. Really yummy, flavorful, tender meat, and I think the carrots complemented the flavor nicely. This is sort of like a fabulous and slightly different beef stew. We had guests over when I made this and they were quite impressed. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2011

      We really enjoyed this, Garnet! It smelled great when we walked in the door today after school and work, and tasted even better! I followed the directions exactly and we ate it over hot buttered egg noodles with homegrown canned green beans and biscuits straight from the oven - yum! It's a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2010

      We were not big fans...I think it was too salty and too floury. It did not taste like a goulash to me at all - maybe it was the combo of too much salt/too much ketchup. I am not entirely sure. Sorry!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2010

      This is probably the best tasting stew dish I have ever made. I made a half recipe. Cooked it for 8 hours in the crock pot. Even with only 1 pound of beef stew meat, it needed the full 8 hours to get tender. The flavors all blend together well. I served it on wide goulash egg noodles. I will make this recipe again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2009

      Very good goulash recipe. I have made the more traditional goulash recipe with paprika, but the combination of ingredients in this sauce adds a little something extra. I did flour the meat with seasoned flour and brown before I put in the crockpot, and I did add some paprika and sliced peppers. I also served it over cavatelli with some buttermilk biscuits to mop up the gravy - a really hearty, comfort food meal. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2014

      PEOPLE! Please learn it! It's NOT an authentic hungarian goulash, NOT even a hungarian goulash, because our goulash is a SOUP!!!! And basic is a stew, but not like this! Ketchup, brown sugar, bay leaves?!?! Oh, gosh. I don't know who is the "mother" of this recipe, but please, don't call it goulash!!!!
      I'm Hungarian, I think I know it....
      Here is the recipe:
      this is indeed a thick liquid soup ? the preparation starts exactly the same way as of a stew but then more water is added, plus vegetables (a few carrots, parnsnips and a lot of cubed potatoes). In terms of spices, it contains caraway seeds. So, it has really a soup consistancy. This one is made of beef only.
      There a two SECRETS of a good goulash: the ingredients you add to it and the ones you don?t. In my opinion the secret ingredient of a perfect Hungarian stew (besides a good quality Hungarian paprika of course) is onion. A lot. More. A lot more!! For 1 kg meat (two pounds) I would use about 3-4 big onions. That seem to be a lot but this will create your thick sauce. As you?re simmering the stew on very low heat for about 1,5 hours, the onions melt into a sweet, spicy sauce, so you won?t have any pieces of it at the end.
      What you NEVER ever would add to a pörkölt are any of the following ones: flour, butter, canned tomatoes (all three I see in many ?authentic? recipes).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2013

      Growing up, my Mom made an AMAZING Hungarian Goulash. Now that I have a family of my own, I wanted to make that same goulash for them - but, ALAS! Mom couldn't find her recipe & didn't even REMEMBER it! (Damn old age!!!!), I tried this recipe, and though the TASTE is correct, the consistency is a lot different. Mom's goulash had a sauce that was almost water-y, not thick & hearty like this one. I will definitely use this recipe again, but I will probably leave out, or at least severely lessen, the amount of roux (flour & water) I use at the end. Thanks so much for helping me recreate a family tradition!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2013

      Amazing! Will definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2013

      Excellent!!! Cant wait to make it again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2013

      Hubby made this last night and it was AWESOME! Maybe next time we'll try it with mushrooms, carrots, etc. And I think some cayenne pepper for some kick. But as I said, it was awesome as is! :) Thanks Garnet!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2012

      Its a keeper. Good the first day, even better the next.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2011

      We loved this! I ended up cooking this on high for about 3 1/2 hours and it was perfect. I added more vegetables: carrots, peppers, more onions and squash as well. Instead of flour, I added a corn starch slurry which worked wonderfully. I did not add any water at the beginning and found that mine really didn't need it. Can't wait to make it again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2010

      Different. Tasted decent enough to finish the plate, but hubby had me give the leftovers away. I will say it was partially because I used our super-lean homegrown beef and cooked it for the full 8 hours, which is too long with no fat and it dried out the meat a little much. The flavors in the sauce were very strong, though. Hubby said it was very BBQ sauce tasting. I don't know if I will make it again or not; if I do, I will use more onion and not cook it as long.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2010

      This is really good.My hubby and I both thought so. It was even better the next day.The only changes I made were that I scaled back to 1/4 c. ketchup and used smoked paprika instead of regular.I served with pasta.Yum!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2010

      This was good I guess, I've never had hungarian goulash so I don't really have anything to compare it to. I cut the salt down to 1/2tsp as suggested by someone else. It was good, easy, and the house smelled great as it was cooking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Hungarian Goulash

    Serving Size: 1 (252 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 258.8
     
    Calories from Fat 63
    24%
    Total Fat 7.0 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 2.9 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 96.7 mg
    32%
    Sodium 1178.0 mg
    49%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.5 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 8.5 g
    34%
    Protein 34.2 g
    68%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites