Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Hula Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Hula Chicken

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on January 04, 2012

      This was outstanding. I made the recipe as-is, except I didn't think it was enough liquid, so I doubled the sauce, which ended up being too much, and boiled over. Yikes! I also cut an onion and orange bell pepper into bite-sized chunks, and added those to the crockpot as well. The leftovers were great as well. I served this with coconut rice, and the sauce from this dish was amazing with the rice. This is a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2013

      This is an easy crockpot recipe that my family LOVED. It's a great change from the "everyday" chicken dishes~ DD was still talking about it this morning~ SHOCKING ~ ** I added a slurry of cornstarch and water to the juice about 2 hrs. before serving to thicken the sauce **

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2012

      I thought this was a fantastic recipe! I love slow cooker chicken recipes that use white meat. This was very flavorful and beyond easy. I used frozen skinless chicken breasts but only three (they were big). Set to 7 hrs on low and it was perfect. A few other tweaks: Reduced the soy, skipped the bouillon and swapped in 1 Tbsp of red curry paste for a little kick. Topped with a bag of frozen veggies and that was that! The sauce was great as-is.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2012

      Great chicken! Made with b/s chicken thighs and I did thicken the sauce at the end. Was a good combo of sweet and salty. Served mine and DHs over white rice and DSs over penne noodles (they don't eat rice). Made for Zaar Stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2011

      We enjoyed this slow cooker chicken and pineapple dish. I agree that the sauce is better served as is vs. thickened. Next time I might use chicken thighs vs. breasts as they tend to be more moist and tender. Thanks for the post! Made for Everyday is a Holiday tag, December, 2011.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2011

      I thought this was great! I agree with Nif that the thinner sauce is perfect for this recipe. I loved drizzling it over the chicken, carrots, pineapple and served it all over rice. It was delicious and so easy. Thanks! Made for the I Recommend tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2011

      This is a perfect slow cooker meal. I did use the tip for thickening the sauce and it worked great. Served over rice with some broccoli for an easy healthy meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2011

      I really enjoyed this! The carrots and pineapple taste great, and the sauce is so good over rice. I thickened it up a bit with cornstarch. Made for ZWT and Saucy Silverados.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2010

      Pull out the hula skirt, give me a lei, light some candles and serve a fabulous dinner for the family! Wow I am so impressed with this dish. I used it on a night when everyone was coming in at different times of the night and held it on "warm" in my crock for 3 hours past it's cooking time for the last diner and it was still perfect!! The little bit I had leftover worked so well the next day for lunch too! Truly wonderful!! Thanks for sharing this in the Went to the Market tag game!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2010

      My family loved this. Unfortunately I wasn't able to have any because I am dieting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2010

      We used frozen chicken breasts and it was not well recieved at our house. Would not make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2010

      Turns out just too salty (even with low sodium soy sauce), but that may just be my taste preference - I never cook with added salt, but I like the general idea...gonna try to work with this to suit my tastes better. thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2010

      We really enjoyed this and it was perfect for me as I like to put dinner in the crock pot when I get off work in the early afternoon and still have it done by dinner time. I thickened the sauce as suggested although next time I would transfer the sauce to a pan on the stove top to do that. The crock pot just didn't get hot enough quickly enough. I also cut the cooked chicken into bite-sized chunks and served over rice. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2010

      This was very yummy! It was a tad on the sweet side but I did use low sodium soy sauce and low sodium chicken broth instead of bouillion so maybe that took away some of the salt. Still this is an amazing recipe and went very well with my healthy diet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2009

      this turned out quite well considering I don't make a lot of crockpot recipes, this is one I will make again soon, I used 3 large minced garlic cloves in place of the garlic powder and also added in some cayenne pepper, I used skin on thighs that I browned firstly in oil and did thicken the sauce after cooking, thanks for sharing Niffie we enjoyed this with cooked rice, I made this for Kk's forum tag game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2009

      This was very tasty. My chicken didn't pick up the flavor as much as the carrots and pineapple did. Next time I will marinate the bird and cook it less (it was a little dry). But I love the flavors and we had the juice over brown rice. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2009

      This was really easy and very good. I served it with instant brown rice and some stir fried broccoli and zucchini. With the leftovers we boxed it up with the veggies and had rice bowls to take to work the next day. Very nice dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2009

      This was so easy to prepare, which deserves high praise in my book. I did, however, have an observation about the recipe directions. Chicken bouillon is included in the ingredient list, but the directions don't specify when to incorporate the bouillon in the cooking process [or did I miss something?]. So I just tossed it into the crock pot along with the spices. The carrots cooked just right for our tastebuds, so we we had a complete meal of chicken breasts and tender-roasted baby carrots. I will make this dish again, but I think I'll try marinating the chicken breasts for several hours in the sauce first, to enhance the "hula" flavor in the chicken breasts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2009

      I enjoyed this dish; very easy to put together, and the aroma wafting throughout the house was great! It is very darkly colored when finished and has a great teriyaki taste. Made in the crockpot, it was served over white rice. Made for RSC#13.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2009

      notes:I LOVE the aroma this gives off in the house as it cooks. I also LOVE crockpot cooking as it is a favorite of mine to make a great meal and look like I slaved all day. Very easy to put together, less than 5 min. Most of the ingredients are available in the pantry or freezer. I love the sweetness of the chicken and the carrots. I will make this again but will reduce the honey amount to reduce sugar content. I can see adding several different veggies with this dinner. I served with a side of mashed potatoes. Very good. 4 stars Good Luck to you Chef. Made for RSC#13

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Hula Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (314 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 339.8
     
    Calories from Fat 28
    52%
    Total Fat 3.2 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 75.5 mg
    25%
    Sodium 1522.3 mg
    63%
    Total Carbohydrate 51.5 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    9%
    Sugars 47.5 g
    190%
    Protein 28.3 g
    56%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites