11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

GREAT! I used oil in the crockpot instead of butter, and skipped the green chilis. Instead of enchilada sauce, I used leftover salsa. I made this for DH, who loved it and ate it over hashbrowns. Thanks for posting, great recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yogiclarebear January 26, 2009

Love it! I made this for dinner and had 3 happy kids! I didn't have cream so I used 2% milk. I added green pepper and cherry tomatoes from my garden. I was worried that the enchilada sauce would be too spice for my 6 year old so I increased the eggs to a dozen. This may be our new Friday night favorite! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Theresa S. July 27, 2012

I made this for lunch for a work crowd and it went over very well. The only thing I omitted was the enchilada sauce; I served it with black bean salsa instead. Also, I cooked it 3 hours on low, instead of 4. It's a great way to make eggs and perfect for brunch or breakfast for dinner or lunch. Thanks, littleturtle!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
strawberrybird February 14, 2010

I liked the end product, but found it inconvenient to make a breakfast food that took 4 hours to cook. Also, cleaning the crockpot afterwards was a bit of a chore.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TSpoon in UT May 22, 2009

Anything this good that comes out of a crock pot deserves 5 stars. I halved the recipe, used Monterey Jack cheese, used double the green chilies (1 full can in the half recipe), skipped the chili powder, and forgot to add enchilada sauce or cheddar cheese on the top. I turned the crockpot on high and dumped in the butter to melt while mixing the rest. Then I just brushed the butter around the bottom and sides (up a couple of inches). I turned it back to low before adding the egg mixture. Mine came out a little browned, but it didn't hurt it. When done, I turned it over onto a plate and served it in slices like a frittata. I think this is a very robust recipe and I now think that the crockpot may be the perfect way to cook frittatas and tortilla espanola.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
okinok October 12, 2007

This was delicious and very easy to make. I think my crockpot gets extremely hot though, because the sides were burning at less than 3 hours. Keep an eye on the time or the eggs will get too firm.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VanessaJ October 11, 2007

Yummy! Just made this for dinner. Quick to make, so easy, and very good taste. A dish that I will make again and again. Thank you for posting this wonderful recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
forthefunofit March 18, 2007

Wow, who woulda thought cooking eggs in the crockpot! My DH and his friend and I all loved it! I halved the recipe and it made enough to serve 4. Thank you for a great idea!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 September 27, 2006

My husband whipped this up the other day and it was wonderful. The eggs came out so fluffy and the entire thing tasted great. It made good leftovers, too. I think this would be a good dish to serve to kids or adults who usually don't like eggs.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Napoleon Dynamite January 15, 2006

wonderful recipe. i have made it several times now and it always is amazingly good. i follow the recipe exactly...but top with salsa. made for a brunch at work one day and everyone loved it. thank you for sharing this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
somemome October 22, 2005
Crock Pot Huevos Rancheros (Mexican Ranch-Style Eggs) (Low Carb)