Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Hot Whole Grain Cereal Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Hot Whole Grain Cereal

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on October 15, 2010

      A great and innovative new type of breakfast for me and so wonderful to do it in the crock pot. Timing was perfect for me and as I had no millet I just doubled the burghul. I added cranberries and banana instead of dried fruit. Made for Sharon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2008

      Excellent recipe! I used brown rice, wild rice, oats, barley, and flaxseed as the grains, with dried cranberries and whole almonds. I tripled the recipe while using your 3 cups of water to 1 cup of grains rule and it turned out perfectly - it's so great to have a healthy hot cereal before work and not have to spend all morning at the stove. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2010

      Sadly this recipe doesn't like me. I made it twice and it didn't turn out either time. It's too bad, because I was excited to find an easy healthy recipe that used a lot of grains I had in my pantry. The first time I used medium bulghur, long grain brown rice, whole barley, millet, white cornmeal, steel-cut oats, dried tropical fruit mix, golden raisins and goji berries. The rice and whole barley weren't cooked at 8 hours...The rice cooked after about 10 hours but the barley never did...I've never used whole barley, maybe it was supposed to be pearl barley? I also didn't like the weird flavor the dried fruits infused the whole thing with. Anyways, the next day I made it by just adding the grains to a 1 cup measuring cup and used: medium bulghur, short-grain brown rice, millet, steel-cut oats, raisins and dried cranberries. This time it took about 10 hours again for the rice to cook but I still didn't like the whole mushy texture and flavor from the dried fruits. Most of your recipes are excellent so I'm sure I'll find others to use my grains in. Because this seemed to have worked out for other people I'm not going to leave a starred review.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2006

      I'm a huge fan of hot, whole grain cereals as well as my crockpot. As such, I wanted so very much to like this recipe, but... it was just a crock full of dull grey goo. Even the fruit was grey. Maybe the flavor of the grains just overwhelmed each other. Back to the stove with me.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2005

      This was really good. I used cranberries instead of raisins. Very yummy. Only serves two people tho (your recipe says 4)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2005

      So healthy and easy to prepare, and great for the whole family, even if you don't eat all at the same time. It can just be scooped out as it's needed. I used 1/4 c. large flake oats, 1/4 c. brown rice, and 1/6 c. each millet, bulgur, and cornmeal. For the fruit I used mostly raisins, but included some dried blueberries, cranberries, and cherries, as well as an apple fruit leather I found in the cupboard. The result was very creamy and naturally sweet. My 19 month old loved it and shovelled in 2 bowls. This is a tasty way to include a variety of whole grains in your diet. I'll definitely be making it again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2005

      I made this with steel cut oats and chopped up dried apricot. added 1 teaspoon vanilla and found that was enough. I sprinkled the top of my serving with a mixture of brown sugar and ground walnuts. It does get thick around the edge but I found that scraping the Crockpot and mixing it around worked for me. Had no problem cleaning the pot after.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2005

      This is a great healthy alternative for breakfast. The taste of the cereal completely changes depending on what fruit you use as it flavours the grains. I used brown rice and oats as I had no other grains and they are my favourite and did one with mix dried fruit and another with dried apricots, mangoes, pawpaw, pineapple, peaches. Use any fruit you want I like the tropical flavours best. I also plan to use dried apple or anything else I can find for that matter! Great for the kids too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2004

      Yum, this is great. Having opted to leave out the cinnamon, I loved the flavor of the vanilla permeating the dish. I used all brown rice and raisins. Next time I'll try a mixture of grains and fruits (I was lazy last night when I set this up!). Dried cherries and cranberries would be wonderful. I cooked this on low for 6 hours, and had no trouble with sticking. The raisins were softer than they'd be if they were cooked for a briefer period, but I didn't find this to be problematic. Thanks for posting! A great recipe with lots of options for variation.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2004

      I had really high expectations when I selected this recipe, especially so since DH and I both love cooked breakfast cereals for breakfast. I also had problems with the cereal sticking in the crockpot. I think our biggest disappointment was the texture of the fruits... I plan to try this recipe again, but will wait until about an hour, or two at the most, from the end of the cooking time. With a little tweaking, I think this recipe has a lot of potential. Thank you for sharing Sharon!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2003

      I enjoyed this rib sticking hot cereal. I added amaranth in place of the cornmeal,1 teaspoon of ground cardamon. For the dried fruit I used chopped figs, dried cranberries and chopped prunes, which added alot of sweetness to the cereal.I did have to stir because of sticking so watch it and stir.Yes I did spray the crock first. I also added more 1 cup of extra water.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Hot Whole Grain Cereal

    Serving Size: 1 (215 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 133.4
     
    Calories from Fat 10
    82%
    Total Fat 1.1 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 8.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.7 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 3.9 g
    15%
    Sugars 0.6 g
    2%
    Protein 3.7 g
    7%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    dried mixed fruit

    dried mixed fruit

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites