34 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have to say this is an awesome meal! WOW Thanks Tish! I have to share this story! I made this for my family everyone just loved it we served it over rice.The meat just melted in your mouth. Ok so a few weeks later we went on a camping trip with a bunch of friends during the winter,we all decided to bring a dish to share. I thought hmm.. I think I will make this in the RV. so we can go out & enjoy the day & not have to worry about cooking later. I did it was a huge hit! I kid you not, everyone said it tasted as though I slaved away at cooking all day :o) Oh & the RV smelled yummy! I had printed off this recipe. It got left in the RV & on another camping trip My husband needed something to start the camp fire with, well yep you guessed it, it was my printed out recipe of this. He had no idea it was this recipe. It had gotten a little wet & was hard to read. so a few weeks went by the family wanted this again for dinner. I go to look I can't find it. Then hubby say's I think it was a fire material. ;o( Im like OH GREAT! Ever since Jan (6mo) I had been serching the internet looking hoping id find this recipe ya see I didn't put this web site in my favorites. DUH! Well it is now ;o) So here we are right now remodeling our home & my hubby finds a recipe that had fallen in the back of my hutch I looked at it & said hey I think that is the web site I got that crockpot beef recipe off of! I ran to the pc & look here it is WOW wheeehaawww Im making it tomorrow! & now I have this in my recipe box here & i will make a print out! I wont loose this one ever again. Hey everyone ya gotta give this a try it is soooo yummy! Thank you thank you Tish for a VERY good dish. Oh & What I did was doubled the recipe it served 10 people & we still had left overs for our family of 7. I served rice & broccoli with it again. yum yum! ;o) Funny how the recipe we found is also from Tish it is called, Crockpot Chiken Fricassee am going to give that one a try too sounds very good! Happy Crockpot cooking with this one! Suzanne ;o)

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Suzanne Johnson June 22, 2003

Suzanne's "exuberant" review made me try this. (It was also a very hot day today and I thought I could get out of heating up the kitchen) Very easy, minimal prep time, with a great home-made taste. We had this over rice with broccoli on the side. I'll do this again. Thanks, Tish!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Claire de Luna June 24, 2003

Great recipe! I replaced the red wine with sherry, and prepared everything the night before, refrigerated it and tossed it in the crockpot before I left for work. I cooked it on low for about 11 hours, and it was delicious. My toddler liked it so much, he ate two helpings! Thanks for a keeper, Tish!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bunkie68 November 24, 2003

I made this recipe last night with one major difference...I forgot to get it all ready in my crockpot yesterday morning, so I cooked it in the oven last night. I browned the beef as stated and put in a casserole dish. I topped it with the remaining ingredients, covered and baked at 325 degrees for 1 1/2 hrs. This recipe had the most tantalizing aroma as it cooked and yielded a wonderfully rich gravy (which we used to top mashed potatoes). I was quite sceptical about using the cream of broccoli because my children don't really like broccoli, but you couldn't even really tell that it had broccoli in it. Thanks for a great recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamgoddess July 29, 2003

This was great!!!!! We used 1/2 cup of wine and cream of mushroom soup instead of the cream of broccoli soup.Omited the salt. I used fresh ground pepper and the dish was too peppery so next time i will use less. the flavor is great and the house smelled wonderful when we walked in. We will be making this often.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cassiesmydog July 05, 2003

I made this recipe tonight and it was so good. The garlic powder was a little strong for me, so next time I'll probably use less, but that's just my taste. Very good steak and oh so tender.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BlueHyacinth April 07, 2004

We really enjoyed this recipe. The meat was very tender and the gravy was delicious. We served it over Buttered Egg Noodles(11107), and it was great. This will definately go into my favorites.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BeckyF April 05, 2004

We enjoyed this recipe very much. The steak was very tender. I served over rice and green salad. It is very easy

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev. E. March 13, 2004

This was an excellent crockpot dish! I actually ended up using two cans of half fat cream of broccoli as I had no cream of celery. I also had to use red wine vinegar in place of the red wine. Other than that I followed the recipe and loved it! I cut my steak on the smaller side as I was late getting this on and it was ready in 4 hrs. on high in my crockpot. I would probably make the exact same way next time. This did smell delicious while cooking and tasted even better! I served over rice as suggested. I am sure the gravy would be equally delicious over mashed potato but probably much heavier, so it would depend on your mood I suppose. Good comfort food. Thanks so much Tish,we enjoyed this and will definitely make again.:)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rhonda *J* December 07, 2003

This was a pretty good recipe I thought, but it didn't go over very well with my hubby and kids. No one asked for seconds and I ate the leftovers alone. The meat was really tender, but the flavour was a bit too bland for our taste, I think. I will probably not make again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitchen Queen November 06, 2003
Crock Pot Herbed Round Steak