10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Just made this today and we loved it! I cooked it for 1.5 on high then lowered it, because I wanted to make sure it was done before we had to leave. It cooked a total of about 4.5 hours and the potatoes were just starting to get too mushy. I also used peas because that was what I had. Very good recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
krisjd March 29, 2011

I would give this 4.5 stars. I am always looking for a Crock Pot chicken recipe that is not so "cream of anything(mushroom, celery, chicken)." I know this has cream of chicken but you would not know that it did. I did two or three shakes of oregano. The oregano is a little bit much for me but I did not measure it. I will try italian herbs next time. I added about 1/2 cup of chicken broth b/c it looked like it was going to dry out. I love sweet potatoes. The sweetness of the sweet potatoes blends well with the stuffing. My Crock Pot is old so it was filled to the max. I cooked on low for 5 hours and high for 1 and 1/2 hours. Super yummy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ck2plz May 05, 2010

Well, like FloridaNative my DH said this is absolutely a five--a rare honor from him! I used chicken thighs and drumsticks, and a combination of white and sweet potatoes. I also used reduced fat cream of celery soup instead of cream of chicken to compliment the stuffing mix. DH forgot to add the green beans for me (I was working late) so I just quickly steamed them and threw them in at the last minute--worked fine. All in all I really enjoyed this, and will certainly make it again either when the temperature drops or when DH begs for it, whichever comes first :). Thanks, bluemoon! Made for Went to Market Tag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smellyvegetarian August 16, 2009

This was very good! My kids took second helpings and I added spinach in the last half hour! I used frozen boneless skinless chicken and a mixture of sweet potatoes and regular white potatoes. Thanks for a keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mary winecoff November 29, 2005

Great. We have made it twice and planning on making it a third time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teachfcs2003 April 06, 2012

Wow - my whole family LOVED this! My only mistake was that I was in a rush to throw this together, and didn't cut up the sweet potatoes small enough...so they were kind of crunchy! :-) But it all tasted amazing! I used a cut up chicken w/breasts, thighs, wings, and drums, and added a can of no-salt-added green beans in the last 30 minutes. A DEFINITE keeper! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LillyZackMom November 15, 2009

DH really, really loved this dish. I did not have any stuffing mix, so substituted mahogany rice, and used green beans. Loved the different flavors of the spices with the sweetness of the potatoes. I only needed to add a bit of salt :) Another for the keeper cookbook! Thanks bluemoon, made for PRMR, March 2009.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FloridaNative March 29, 2009

I didn't do this in the crockpot but in the oven with breast fillets. I love the simplicity of this and it went lovely along with some rice to soak up the sauce, even toddler DD ate some with no complaints. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Mandy** July 21, 2008

I chose to make this for a coverdish supper. This was different and quite good was the reaction I got. I personaly agreed. And may I add Very easy to make . The only change I made was I doubled the stuffing and vegi's. Excellant!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BLUE ROSE November 15, 2005
Crock Pot Herbed Chicken With Sweet Potatoes