60 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this for our supper last night and we enjoyed it very much. I was a little leary after reading some reviews about not having enough seasoning, but decieded to not add extra seasoning until we have tried it. I made sure I liberally seasoned each layer (I think I had 5 potato layers all together) with salt and pepper. In the end, I'm glad we didn't add anything extra ( and we like well seasoned food), it was perfect. Thank yo for sharing this easy penny pinching meal.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour May 16, 2010

I used this recipe for the basis of our dinner tonight. I browned the hamburger, added the onion and garlic, then the soup and milk. I let this simmer down just a bit then added half a bag of hashbrowns and then topped this with montery jack cheese. Seasoned to taste with salt and pepper .... thanks for a meal my 3 yr old called "Delicious"

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ceezie December 15, 2010

I made this recipe and at the very best I can say that it's a low end meal. I had to do so many tweaks that it became a different dinner. The posters that said they made it and like either have no tastes or there lying.If I could give it a minus score I would and food.com should be embarrassed for posting crap like this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brunions October 01, 2014

Horrible! What a waste of time and effort. No matter what I added to this "dish" it just got worse. Someone must've been stoned to have enjoyed this. This is one of the most tasteless dishes I have ever had. Ewwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww! Gross! I had to dump all of this in the trash. I will think twice before I ever use this website for recipes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
houtex77 September 07, 2014

Have made many times as written and it's really good - not bland at all. Have also added a packet of Lipton Onion Soup Mix and it's really good as well. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Charly* April 30, 2014

This is a great recipe and one my husband and 20 mo love (since the onions are so large we just picked the big chunks out for the LO). The flavor was exactly what we expected for potatoes, beef and onions. We will be making this one again and often, especially on cold winter days.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rachael J. November 28, 2013

I have made this for ages, everyone loves it. One thing though is that my family has issues with milk products so I just use water with the soup. My mother used to make it as well, but we didn't use a crockpot just an oversized fry pan with a lid on the stove. I have also made it in an electric fry pan. We call it Lazy Shepherds Pie. It is very easy and inexpensive and tastes great. I was going to make this but since I will have to dirty a pan anyway might as well make it my way. I always thought cooking with a crockpot meant fewer dishes to wash but it seems a lot of recipes call for pre-cooking before adding to the crockpot. It's so nice to see others posting old family recipes, like minds have wonderful recipes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
S N. October 10, 2013

needed more flavor

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nclpalacios September 14, 2013

I am sorry to say that we did not care for this recipe. I read the reviews and added extra spices (garlic, worcestershire, Montreal Steak Spice) but it still turned out very bland. If I were to try this again, I would try it with cream of celery soup and spice it up even more. The recipe was very simple though. Thx for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mums the word April 19, 2010

Delish! We do not care for cream f mushroom so I used cream of potato and spiced it up some. I think next time I will try cream of celery. Thanks for the easy and great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tonda February 28, 2010
Crock Pot Hamburger 'n Potato Casserole