Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Ham Bone and Beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Ham Bone and Beans

    Average Rating:

    32 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 32

    Sort by:

    • on February 10, 2012

      Outstanding! I didn't monkey around with the ingredients, and used 8 cups of the chicken broth and a meaty ham bone. It was absolutely delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2009

      This was very good! I had a very meaty ham bone leftover from Christmas dinner. I used kidney beans that I soaked overnight (I had already started soaking when I found this recipe), more onion and some carrot, but left out the celery since I don't like it. This cooked all day on low. We took the ham bone off and cut the ham and put it back in, and then added 2 bags of boil in bag brown rice (we opened the bags and poured it in) with it cooking on high. Nice on a cold windy night, and there is enough to freeze for another meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2012

      Holy yum! I followed the recipe but I added an 8oz can of tomato sauce and 3 coarsley chopped sweet potatoes to my crock pot. The sweet potatoes came out incredibly creamy/tasty! I also added about 2/3-3/4 of a cup of orzo to the crock pot about 15 min before serving (I used orzo only because it was left over in my cupboard. It was fine but elbow macaroni would have been more appropriate). Wow. I will certainly make this again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2010

      This was a great bean soup! I failed to use low-sodium broth and it was a bit salty but thats my fault. The beans were cooked perfectly. Everytime I have a ham bone I'm going to cook this soup. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2009

      Very good and filling! I soaked my beans and used 3 ham hocks. I also used 2 cans of chicken broth and 1 can of beef broth along with 1 small can of V-8. Delish! Thanks for sharing this keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2014

      I was so hoping this would be a great recipe and based on the reviews I thought I had a winner. This was horrible. The only thing I did differently was I DID soak the beans, but how does that account for how extremely OILY and bitter this was? I cooked on low most of the day. I used a meaty ham bone left over from Easter dinner. all those tasty ingredients just went to waste because this was a huge fail. So so disappointed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2014

      This is a great ham and bean recipe. Just like my mom makes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2013

      Excellent recipe. I used the 15 bean blend and a package of ham hocks. Since I wanted a more meaty dish I added a pound of smoked sausage which I cut up into manageable pieces. I wish I had doubled the sausage as it was perfect in it. I also added a pinch of Oregano and Red Pepper flakes to jazz it up a bit and a can of Tomato Sauce and Diced Tomatoes at the end along with a cup of Elbow macaroni as some had suggested. I tried it before adding the extras and it was good but it did help to thicken it and add a little spice to add the other ingredients and again the sausage was perfect as I didn't have ham. I don't think I would add the noodles again. I would just add two packs of beans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2013

      I pretty much followed recipe as written. I just increased ingredients by 50% or so and added a can of diced tomatoes. As it turned out more was better. I soaked the beans over night and it still took 7 hours on the high setting for them to get done. This dish was served with cornbread, both were great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2013

      Outstanding! I loaded mine up with 6 ham hocks (in my nice, big slow cooker) and otherwise followed the recipe, using 6 cups of chicken broth and an assortment of beans. I was also surprised that this one didn't require pre-soaking the beans, but I went ahead and skipped the soak, and the beans did indeed turn out perfect! I would also recommend using reduced-sodium broth (at least in part), as I found it to be just a little bit too salty for my taste. Otherwise it was delicious, and I could definitely see adding assorted veggies as others have recommended. I made homemade cornbread to go with it, which made for a perfect cold-weather, comfort-food supper! Plenty left over, too, which is great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2013

      Just the recipe I was looking for :-) Really yummy soup and so easy. <br/>Thanks !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2013

      Easy and delicious. I've made many times. A variety of vegetables can be added, green & red peppers. Whatever left over roasted or steam vegetables I have left over goes in here are well. I used black eyed peas because I like the creamy taste. Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2012

      This was really good!!!! Served with cornbread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2012

      These were so darn good! Even in the summer! I cooked them exactly like the recipe instructed, and they were good...but...my husband doctored them up with tomato sauce and some chili spices and holy moly. I ate the entire pot by myself over the week. I can see this being an amazing winter dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2012

      Wonderful soup! Made as written, but with two ham hocks and I doubled the carrots as we love them. Made in honor of PapaD for his Cookathon, June 2012.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2012

      Super! Didn't have a ham bone, and didn't feel like going to the store. I had some frozen ham and 3 smokey sausage dogs. After I quick soaked the beans for 1 hour, I threw them in a large pot with all the other ingredients (extra carrot!). Simmered it on the stove and behold, dinner in 2 hours. Will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2012

      Love this recipe! super easy! I don't layer all of the items since I chop everything the night before and just dump it all into the crock pot in the morning. So nice to come home to the beautiful smells and dinner ready. We serve it with rolls.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2012

      Grocery Cart Challenge brought me to your recipe, and it was fabulous. It was just like my mom's.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2012

      Great recipe. I will make this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2012

      This. Is. Delicious. I followed the recipe exactly. The beans are tender and flavorful, the ham fell off the bone. The flavor is rich and complex. My neighbor literally came to the door and asked what smelled so good. I am going to buy another ham just so I can make this again. Perfect comfort food on a cold day. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Ham Bone and Beans

    Serving Size: 1 (218 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 104.8
     
    Calories from Fat 12
    11%
    Total Fat 1.3 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 64.0 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.2 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 4.4 g
    17%
    Sugars 1.2 g
    4%
    Protein 8.5 g
    17%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    ham bone

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes