108 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was a big hit. I used dried lima beans, to recreate my father-in-law's butter beans. DH said it was very close, and gave it a thumbs up. It did take longer than 8 hours to cook - next time, I'll start on high for a few hours, then switch to low. Served with cornbread. Thanks for sharing! -- Update: I've had good luck with cooking it for 3.5 hours on high, then 5 hours on low, or just 5 hours on high.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori in NC January 10, 2010

These are the best beans I have ever had. I did my bean on the stove top. Soaked my beans over night, Drained and rinsed. left in the strainer while I added my onions and pepper to the pot, with a couple Tbsp olive oil. Sweated the onions on high, while I readied my garlic 5 cloves (left whole). Added garlic. Omitted the salt because I knew I was using ham and chicken stock. Added my beans back to the pot (this being about 9 am) then added 4 cups of water and 2 cups chicken stock. I also omitted the cloves. Added 1 Roma Tom, cut in half, and one small potato pealed, cut in half. (The tom and the potato are an old wives tale about helping with the gas...Maybe some truth to it?? Plus adds to the flavor and creaminess.) Tossed in two pork chop sized ham slices (thick peices) Once the pot came to a boil, I reduced the heat and covered, stirring occasionally. About 11 am (or two hours later) I added 2 more cups of water..(you have to watch the water on the stove top) Removed the Toms, garlic, potato and ham. Removed the skin on the tom. Mashed the garlic, tom and potato, returned to the pot. Flaked the ham apart and returned to the pot, adding the parsley at this time. mixed well. Re-covered, and simmered about a half hour and was done. Very good. Better than my mom used to make. =)

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sandesnow July 17, 2007

This was fabulous! I used lima beans since that is our go-to bean, with smoked ham. I did throw in a dash or two of cayenne. I let it cook on low for 7 hours. I will definitely make these again. I made homemade buttermilk cornbread to accompany this and to soak up some of the juices left in the bowl. Yum!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
msmindyf September 10, 2013

This is delicious and easy to make. Because we try not to eat pork(because of health and religious reasons) I use smoked turkey wings or drumsticks. I throw in a package of onion soup and a shot of liquid smoke to the recipe. Thanks Sue.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mandabears June 30, 2013

I had a lot of leftover pork roast, and chose this recipe because of it's good reviews. I must admit I was a little disappointed. I made it exactly as written, but when it was done, it was really a thin broth like a soup, and was bland. I added more of the spices, 2-3 times what the recipe called for, plus some cayenne pepper and nutmeg. I also added some cornstarch to thicken the broth. It was good after the adjustments, and we did like the clove/allspice seasoning.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tbern128 January 06, 2012

This is very good!!! I followed directions exactly, but my my beans were still hard after 8 hours ( crock pot must be getting old) and the broth did not taste so good, so I let it cook over night and I also added a chicken cube. Was really good next day the broth was delicious and creamy,the beans and ham were also good, will make this recipe again.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mmsbin December 05, 2009

This recipe was so good I even joined up so I could review it. I grew up on my mom's ham and beans and never tried anything different. I was looking for directions for crockpot beans and came across this recipe. I didn't like the way it smelled the whole time it was cooking and thought maybe I had made a mistake, but it is scrumptious! And I prepared it exactly as the recipe states, using chicken 'stock' made with vegetarian chicken flavored base I got at the health food store (simply because I had no stock available) and only a small piece of a ham steak we had for Easter. We all liked it very much and that's saying a lot for me to switch to this from my Mom's recipe. We'll be eating it again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katrinka58 April 06, 2013

I am making this for the second time today, and I can't wait. This is the best ham and bean that I have ever had. This makes the old celery-and-onion version just seem bland! I also appreciate the "quick soak" method for pre-softening the beans. I think this makes all the difference in the world for a nice, soft yet whole, bean. I don't have a crock pot, so I followed the recipe exactly and just cooked it on the stove top with excellent results. Leftovers didn't make it past Day 3 last time I made this. We LOVED it!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elielia March 17, 2013

After cooking until done, I have found that I can remove the clear liquid before stirring the first time. Then I add back the liquid as needed for the consistency I want. Also, not all ham hocks are made equal. A large well smoked Hock makes a big difference over an average supermarket one. I add salt add pepper after I have adjusted the amount of liquid. I use the removed liquid to continue extracting flavor from the inedible pieces of Hock for the next batch of beans. A good hock has plenty of flavor to share. My favorites are Split Peas and Butter Beans (large dried limas), but the others follow close behind. I do think the an over night soaking is better than the one hour technique. The texture is different - unless you are cooking until the beans are very soft, then it doesn't matter.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
old spice November 18, 2012

I make this all the time. My kids love it. And to the previous post who said it was bland...pork roast is not ham!!! If you don't follow the recipe then don't give it a bad review!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kimberlyholst March 02, 2014
Crock Pot Ham and Beans