Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Ham and Beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Ham and Beans

    Average Rating:

    108 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 108

    Sort by:

    • on January 10, 2010

      This was a big hit. I used dried lima beans, to recreate my father-in-law's butter beans. DH said it was very close, and gave it a thumbs up. It did take longer than 8 hours to cook - next time, I'll start on high for a few hours, then switch to low. Served with cornbread. Thanks for sharing! -- Update: I've had good luck with cooking it for 3.5 hours on high, then 5 hours on low, or just 5 hours on high.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2007

      These are the best beans I have ever had. I did my bean on the stove top. Soaked my beans over night, Drained and rinsed. left in the strainer while I added my onions and pepper to the pot, with a couple Tbsp olive oil. Sweated the onions on high, while I readied my garlic 5 cloves (left whole). Added garlic. Omitted the salt because I knew I was using ham and chicken stock. Added my beans back to the pot (this being about 9 am) then added 4 cups of water and 2 cups chicken stock. I also omitted the cloves. Added 1 Roma Tom, cut in half, and one small potato pealed, cut in half. (The tom and the potato are an old wives tale about helping with the gas...Maybe some truth to it?? Plus adds to the flavor and creaminess.) Tossed in two pork chop sized ham slices (thick peices) Once the pot came to a boil, I reduced the heat and covered, stirring occasionally. About 11 am (or two hours later) I added 2 more cups of water..(you have to watch the water on the stove top) Removed the Toms, garlic, potato and ham. Removed the skin on the tom. Mashed the garlic, tom and potato, returned to the pot. Flaked the ham apart and returned to the pot, adding the parsley at this time. mixed well. Re-covered, and simmered about a half hour and was done. Very good. Better than my mom used to make. =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2013

      This was fabulous! I used lima beans since that is our go-to bean, with smoked ham. I did throw in a dash or two of cayenne. I let it cook on low for 7 hours. I will definitely make these again. I made homemade buttermilk cornbread to accompany this and to soak up some of the juices left in the bowl. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2013

      This is delicious and easy to make. Because we try not to eat pork(because of health and religious reasons) I use smoked turkey wings or drumsticks. I throw in a package of onion soup and a shot of liquid smoke to the recipe. Thanks Sue.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2012

      I had a lot of leftover pork roast, and chose this recipe because of it's good reviews. I must admit I was a little disappointed. I made it exactly as written, but when it was done, it was really a thin broth like a soup, and was bland. I added more of the spices, 2-3 times what the recipe called for, plus some cayenne pepper and nutmeg. I also added some cornstarch to thicken the broth. It was good after the adjustments, and we did like the clove/allspice seasoning.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2009

      This is very good!!! I followed directions exactly, but my my beans were still hard after 8 hours ( crock pot must be getting old) and the broth did not taste so good, so I let it cook over night and I also added a chicken cube. Was really good next day the broth was delicious and creamy,the beans and ham were also good, will make this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2013

      This recipe was so good I even joined up so I could review it. I grew up on my mom's ham and beans and never tried anything different. I was looking for directions for crockpot beans and came across this recipe. I didn't like the way it smelled the whole time it was cooking and thought maybe I had made a mistake, but it is scrumptious! And I prepared it exactly as the recipe states, using chicken 'stock' made with vegetarian chicken flavored base I got at the health food store (simply because I had no stock available) and only a small piece of a ham steak we had for Easter. We all liked it very much and that's saying a lot for me to switch to this from my Mom's recipe. We'll be eating it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2013

      I am making this for the second time today, and I can't wait. This is the best ham and bean that I have ever had. This makes the old celery-and-onion version just seem bland! I also appreciate the "quick soak" method for pre-softening the beans. I think this makes all the difference in the world for a nice, soft yet whole, bean. I don't have a crock pot, so I followed the recipe exactly and just cooked it on the stove top with excellent results. Leftovers didn't make it past Day 3 last time I made this. We LOVED it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2012

      After cooking until done, I have found that I can remove the clear liquid before stirring the first time. Then I add back the liquid as needed for the consistency I want. Also, not all ham hocks are made equal. A large well smoked Hock makes a big difference over an average supermarket one. I add salt add pepper after I have adjusted the amount of liquid. I use the removed liquid to continue extracting flavor from the inedible pieces of Hock for the next batch of beans. A good hock has plenty of flavor to share. My favorites are Split Peas and Butter Beans (large dried limas), but the others follow close behind. I do think the an over night soaking is better than the one hour technique. The texture is different - unless you are cooking until the beans are very soft, then it doesn't matter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2014

      I make this all the time. My kids love it. And to the previous post who said it was bland...pork roast is not ham!!! If you don't follow the recipe then don't give it a bad review!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2013

      One more thing.....I cooked them in the crock pot on high for 6 hours as I did not have 8+ hours. They were perfectly done!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2013

      This is hands down the best ham and beans I've ever had. I don't even typically like ham and beans, but I made this for my husband and we both loved it. I made as directed except I added 1/4 cup of brown sugar (packed). Also, I cooked it on high for 3 hours and then on low for about 4-5 hours. If you make this and it's not thickening up yet, it's just not done. Mine started to thicken around the 7 hour mark, and there was a HUGE difference. Thank you for a fantastic recipe, we will enjoy this one a lot this winter!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2012

      This was so good! Thank you!!! My son just had spacers put in yesterday preparing for braces, and his mouth aches terribly. I knew I needed to make something for dinner that he could eat, and came across this. If I remember correctly, I had a dry socket when I had my wisdom teeth pulled and they used clove oil with gauze to pack it. This was perfect for the soon to be brace face. Yummy, Filling and Medicinal. The whole family enjoyed this! My husband even liked it, and he is not a bean fan.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2011

      We made this with our leftover Thanksgiving ham bone and it was really good. I added some diced carrots, and let it cook all day. Thank you for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2011

      I made this once and thought I had the recipe down, because it's so simple. I used nutmeg instead of clove. Hope this isn't too weird tasting. Anyway, we love this recipe. I'm serving it with sweet potato biscuits and apple fritters. Since it makes way more than what we eat, I'm even taking some across the street to my grams'.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2011

      Loved loved loved how it wasn't too salty! I used more beans than called for, but also used more ham, so it all worked out. Even my non-bean eating son tolerated this, while usually he makes a gaggy face. I'll be making this again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2014

      I made this and made a few changes. I soaked the beans for 24 hours in water. Used garlic power and not the real stuff and cooked it in crockpot on high for 8 hours. Was very good and not a real thick and Heavy ham and beans. Was a big hit with my family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2013

      2 thumbs up

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2013

      It was too watery and bland. I was hoping for a hearty dinner with depth of flavor. really worried but was able to salvage it. An hour before it was finished doubled the pepper & added bay leaf & a teaspoon of crushed red pepper. I left the lid ajar hoping the broth would thicken for the last hour. didn't use corn startch as some reviews used, ended up thickening the broth with 1/4 cup instant potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2013

      This was a big hit. I used dried lima beans, to recreate my father-in-law's butter beans. DH said it was very close, and gave it a thumbs up. It did take longer than 8 hours to cook - next time, I'll start on high for a few hours, then switch to low. Served with cornbread. Thanks for sharing! -- Update: I've had good luck with cooking it for 3.5 hours on high, then 5 hours on low, or just 5 hours on high.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Ham and Beans

    Serving Size: 1 (653 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 636.0
     
    Calories from Fat 131
    20%
    Total Fat 14.5 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 4.8 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 78.1 mg
    26%
    Sodium 2208.4 mg
    92%
    Total Carbohydrate 76.9 g
    25%
    Dietary Fiber 23.7 g
    95%
    Sugars 4.1 g
    16%
    Protein 51.7 g
    103%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes