Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Ground Beef Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Ground Beef Stew

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on January 23, 2010

      I made this today & it is gone already! I cut back on the tomato paste & condensed soup, as we do not like "tomato-ey" stews. I also added some beef stock and later added some macaroni. I did pre-boil my carrots so that they would be more tender. I made seasoned meatballs with the ground beef and fried them a bit prior to mixing it all in the slow cooker. Delicious & easy. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2008

      A great tasting, easy to make stew/soup. I replaced the tomato soup and paste with a good tomato sauce because I'm not a tomato soup fan. I cooked the first step for 4 1/2 hrs on high and the second for 2 1/4 hrs still on high. The potatoes were firm but well cooked and tender the carrots were still *quite* firm and I used small baby carrots cut in half. I think I'll pre-cook them a bit next time so they will be a bit more tender. DH loved the flavor. I made a 1/2 recipe and I would say that it made 4 servings even though DH and I aren't big portion eaters. If you have men with hearty appetites or teens allow for that. Thanks Bonette, I love your crock pot dishes :D.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2011

      Here I thought this was just going to be alright, something I'd not make again. Boy was I wrong, what a great twist on a can of tomato soup! This is an easy creamy tomato based stew which I'll be happy to make many more times! I made it on the stove top as I was in a hurry. I brought it to a boil then simmered for 20 minutes. Added soup and paste, heat for another 5 minutes and it's ready to serve. Made for Please Review My Recipe tag game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2008

      We really liked it! I increased the meat by substituting the ground beef with 3/4 lb. ground turkey and 3/4 lb. ground sirloin to keep it lower in fat. I combined everything and cooked it on low for 10 hours and it came out wonderful. I served this with crescent rolls and a jello salad. This is a great family meal - perfect for weeknights. I will definitely be making again during the cold winter months. Made for Please Review My Recipe tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2008

      yummy and easy makes for a perfect dinner! I liked how easy this goes together and how it really is a sort of comfort food without being high in fat. I was concerned it was going to have a tomato-y tasting meal, (not being real fond of tomatoes) but with the soup it's a subtle taste and it blends well with the onion soup mix. I doubled the recipe for my crew (6 kids, 5 of them boys! lol) and we had a little leftover for dad's lunch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2012

      Made this to take to our Super Bowl get together. Was a great stew and so easy to whip up. I loved the addition of the tomato soup! Everyone loved it; we had a crock pot of this and of chili and this was gone first. Made for 2011 Best of Cookbook Tag.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2012

      Wonderful! made a few changes by using an onion instead of the soup mix and adding the soup and tomato paste at the beginning rather than adding it at the end. Very good and easy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2008

      Excellent!! Kids ate it all up. One of my kids even had the leftovers the following night (my kids normally don't like leftovers...) Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2008

      What a great way to have stew without the expense of stewing beef! I used pre-cooked with peppers and onions ground beef. I used french onion soup mix and found it made it taste just like mom's stew! I think this will become a crock pot staple in my house!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2008

      Good hearty and easy! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2013

      It's a good stew but with a lot of tomato taste. Maybe too much for my taste. This stew reminds me of the one my mother made when I was young. Thanks bmcnichol :) Made for PRMR tag game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2012

      This was really good and so easy. I made a couple of changes because of what I had on hand: dried onions instead of the soup mix and I added a soup can of water along with the tomato soup and omitted the tomato paste. It needed a little salt added right before you eat, but it was very very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2012

      I made this on 3/12/12 for the " Peppercorn~Black Pepper Event " in the Food Photo Forum, and most importantly mine and my SO's Dinner. Now I did use all the ingredients that the recipe called for but a few other things were tossed in.I added some seasoned salt,pepper,and garlic powder to the beef as it was browning.Except for not adding the carrots(at this time),tomato soup, and tomato sauce all the other ingredients were added.Instead of cooking on high for 4 to 5 hours, I let the stew cook on low for 7 hours,then added the carrots(which were pre-cooked & partially frozen )tomato soup,and sauce.I tasted the broth and felt like it need something, so more Italian Seasonings were added along with some crushed red pepper flakes.After the final hour, the potatoes were cooked to perfection,but the carrots were still too much on the firm side. I think that if I make this again, I'm going to add the carrots when the recipes states and make sure they are cut into smaller pieces.Other than that the carrots being too firm, the stew had a pretty good flavor. Thanks for taking the time to post and, " Keep Smiling :) "

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2012

      We really enjoy this recipe. It's so good and so easy. I've used stew beef in place of ground beef, bottled garlic, reduced sodium tomato soup and omitted the italian seasoning. If the tomato taste is too strong, I throw in 1-2 beef bouillon cubes. It always turns out great. I think this could easily become a vegetable beef soup by omitting the potatoes and carrots and adding a couple cups of mixed frozen vegetables. Thanks so much for sharing. It is much appreciated.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2012

      As with the majority of the recipes I try, I like to follow the recipe exactly as posted, then give my
      rating. I make changes later if I choose to. This deserves 5 stars for the being easy, quick to put together, and tasty. I'm thinking next time I make it, I'll use a bag of frozen pre-made meatballs in place of the ground beef and some greenbeans. Thanks for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2012

      Delicious crock pot stew and so easy to make. For the cooked hamburger I used Cook First Ground Beef Mix that I had in my freezer and Homemade Dry Onion Soup Mix for the onion soup mix. I used peeled carrots cut into 1/2 inch slices, partially boiled, for the carrots because I did not have any baby carrots on hand. This is a great meal in a bowl recipe served with thick slices French bread and green salad. A very good recipe for busy laundry, gardening, or housework days.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Ground Beef Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (283 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 207.7
     
    Calories from Fat 54
    26%
    Total Fat 6.0 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 2.3 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 25.7 mg
    8%
    Sodium 567.1 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.7 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 4.4 g
    17%
    Sugars 6.4 g
    25%
    Protein 10.5 g
    21%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    italian seasoning

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites