16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this today & it is gone already! I cut back on the tomato paste & condensed soup, as we do not like "tomato-ey" stews. I also added some beef stock and later added some macaroni. I did pre-boil my carrots so that they would be more tender. I made seasoned meatballs with the ground beef and fried them a bit prior to mixing it all in the slow cooker. Delicious & easy. Thank you for posting.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Srb~ January 23, 2010

We really liked it! I increased the meat by substituting the ground beef with 3/4 lb. ground turkey and 3/4 lb. ground sirloin to keep it lower in fat. I combined everything and cooked it on low for 10 hours and it came out wonderful. I served this with crescent rolls and a jello salad. This is a great family meal - perfect for weeknights. I will definitely be making again during the cold winter months. Made for Please Review My Recipe tag.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Claudia Dawn August 20, 2008

A great tasting, easy to make stew/soup. I replaced the tomato soup and paste with a good tomato sauce because I'm not a tomato soup fan. I cooked the first step for 4 1/2 hrs on high and the second for 2 1/4 hrs still on high. The potatoes were firm but well cooked and tender the carrots were still *quite* firm and I used small baby carrots cut in half. I think I'll pre-cook them a bit next time so they will be a bit more tender. DH loved the flavor. I made a 1/2 recipe and I would say that it made 4 servings even though DH and I aren't big portion eaters. If you have men with hearty appetites or teens allow for that. Thanks Bonette, I love your crock pot dishes :D.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia July 11, 2008

Here I thought this was just going to be alright, something I'd not make again. Boy was I wrong, what a great twist on a can of tomato soup! This is an easy creamy tomato based stew which I'll be happy to make many more times! I made it on the stove top as I was in a hurry. I brought it to a boil then simmered for 20 minutes. Added soup and paste, heat for another 5 minutes and it's ready to serve. Made for Please Review My Recipe tag game

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlotte J February 24, 2011

yummy and easy makes for a perfect dinner! I liked how easy this goes together and how it really is a sort of comfort food without being high in fat. I was concerned it was going to have a tomato-y tasting meal, (not being real fond of tomatoes) but with the soup it's a subtle taste and it blends well with the onion soup mix. I doubled the recipe for my crew (6 kids, 5 of them boys! lol) and we had a little leftover for dad's lunch.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cuistot July 12, 2008

Made this to take to our Super Bowl get together. Was a great stew and so easy to whip up. I loved the addition of the tomato soup! Everyone loved it; we had a crock pot of this and of chili and this was gone first. Made for 2011 Best of Cookbook Tag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AZPARZYCH February 06, 2012

Wonderful! made a few changes by using an onion instead of the soup mix and adding the soup and tomato paste at the beginning rather than adding it at the end. Very good and easy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellie_ February 04, 2012

Excellent!! Kids ate it all up. One of my kids even had the leftovers the following night (my kids normally don't like leftovers...) Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
busymomof5 October 08, 2008

What a great way to have stew without the expense of stewing beef! I used pre-cooked with peppers and onions ground beef. I used french onion soup mix and found it made it taste just like mom's stew! I think this will become a crock pot staple in my house!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sam #3 August 24, 2008

Good hearty and easy! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charmie777 July 22, 2008
Crock Pot Ground Beef Stew