12 Reviews

I was so anxious to try this method. The ease and flavor I would give it 5 stars but what I noted with all that bacon it seemed to be a little bit too greasy for us. I think next time I will cut down on the bacon and add some ham base to make up for the smoky meat flavor, or maybe use some diced ham. Even though your really didn't need any moisture, I think I will add just a small amount maybe 1/2 c worth. That's just my thoughts.
The flavor was great, just too greasy.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rit October 03, 2012

Served this sunday night for a gathering of friends. #1) What a space & time saver doing it in the crock and #2) Grown-ups and children who "don't really like green beans" went back for seconds and thirds!!! I even passed this recipe along! This doubles well, also I cooked it on High for 3 hours, stirring twice. I will certainly use this recipe again!!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SoupCookie December 22, 2009

Super easy to make. Tasty.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jagmichigan August 24, 2012

Made this for an office luncheon...was perfect and a huge hit! The smell while cooking was amazing. I tripled the recipe, but only used enough bacon to line the crock pot. MAking it for Christmas Eve and beyond!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pklariviere December 18, 2013

I put two pieces thick cut peppered bacon in bottom of crock pot then cut up about a cup of 1/2 inch ham. Put ham in bottom of crock pot with bacon slices, then cut tips off fresh green beans, cleaned them, added to crock pot with the onion, olive oil, salt, minced garlic, stirred & let go for 6 hours. Added a tbsp of butter in last hour & pepper to taste! These were amazing loved them!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maseyluv March 09, 2013

Do you stir the bacon into the green beans after adding everything?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gparker0417 July 26, 2015

Love this recipe! I used 2 pounds of fresh green beans but kept the rest of the ingredients the same. This one goes to the top of my list and will be using again and again. Thanks, "like2create" for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
M. Joan July 12, 2015

I loved this and could not stop eating it!! I only like my green beans soft, so slow cooking them was perfect. I used thick cut bacon with very little fat and it cooked fabulously, it really did smell fabulous whilst cooking and I would definitely make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anniesnomsblog February 13, 2015

Like previous reviewers, I used cottage ham pieces or less bacon. I saute the pork separately, prior to placing it in the crock pot bottom. I place the green beans in the crock pot. I then caramelize the onions with garlic (which is pressed and cured for 15 minutes to release its beneficial antioxidants). Once the onions begin to appear clear, I add fresh, ground, white pepper and a little salt and one-two pinches of ground cayenne (red) pepper along with 1/4 - 1/2 cup tomato sauce + 1/4-1/2 cup vegetable broth. The amount varies based on the amount of green beans. I always use fresh green beans. Once this mixture simmers for ~ 5-7 minutes, I pour it over the green beans. Cover and after 4-6 hours, it's done.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joni J. December 20, 2014

This is an excellent recipe. I found it to be a tad greasy, so I made another batch with a ham hock and almost 1 tsp of bacon grease and 1 T real butter. I increased the amount of beans and made it in a larger crock.Salt/pepper same. No garlic. Liked both recipe tastes so will likely add garlic again in the future.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Phoebe$ August 07, 2014
Crock Pot Green Beans & Bacon