Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Ginger Beef Curry Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Ginger Beef Curry

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on July 12, 2009

      I was not terribly impressed with this dish. With most curry dishes, the spices need to be fried in the oil to release the full flavor potential. this dish was tender, but strange. Some of the other reviewers suggested the addition of vinegar,but intead if you have it, i recommend adding amchoor powder at the end.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2009

      Very good and subtle curry. We liked it a lot. I made a few adjustments based on what I had on hand: used venison instead of beef and no one noticed, added a bit more nutmeg, 1/4 tsp cinnamon in place of the stick, and added a bit more water. Cooked it 5 hours on high and served with peas. Very nice and will make again. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2008

      I found this to be a strange curry recipe. It was lacking... something. It's not that it tasted bad--I had no problem eating my portion. I added the balsamic vinegar that other reviewers suggested, but I'm not sure that helped. The flavors seemed to be lacking the blending ingredient. After tasting leftovers my husband took to work, a friend suggested that maybe coconut milk would help the flavors meld better. I'll try that next time--and I'll add veggies with about a half hour to go in the cook time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2008

      My hubby is a curry fan & he loved this recipe, so did I. The aroma was wonderful & it was quite easy to prepare. I will definately be making this again. Thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2006

      I made this yesterday on the cok top. It did take more water, about 1 3/4 cups to cook all day. I also added about 2 tbs of wine vinegar and 2 tbs of balsamic vinegar. Fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2006

      Good recipe. This was my first crockpot recipe so I thought the spices might overwhelm the dish but they turned out to be just right! Took skunkgalloway's suggestion and added some peas, which were great. The only problem I had was that the beef disintegrated into shredded beef instead of remaining as chunks (I didn't coat it in flour like the instructions said so maybe that was my fault). My husband liked it very much too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2006

      Hubby is a curry fan in a big way. While it was cooking away in the crockpot, I asked him to taste to see if it needed anything else. He said it needed more "tang", so we added 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar. I also used part water part white wine for the water ingredient. Hubby and our dinner guest went back for seconds and it was pretty much gone from there. Next time, I would add chopped carrots, more onions, and maybe some peas towards the end of the cooking process. Good recipe, and a keeper according to hubby. It was EASY to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2004

      I used boneless leg of lamb instead of the beef, and it was awesome! I had a request for lamb curry for my parents' anniversary dinner, and found this recipe to be just the ticket. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Ginger Beef Curry

    Serving Size: 1 (61 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 407.9
     
    Calories from Fat 257
    63%
    Total Fat 28.5 g
    43%
    Saturated Fat 11.3 g
    56%
    Cholesterol 97.8 mg
    32%
    Sodium 176.0 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.7 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 3.1 g
    12%
    Protein 27.6 g
    55%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    chuck steaks

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites