Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Garlic Smashed Red Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Garlic Smashed Red Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on December 24, 2009

      These were so easy! I loved that about this recipe for our Christmas Eve dinner. We really enjoyed them too! Only difference I would make is next time add a little butter the last 20 minutes or so of cooking to make them a little creamier but not quite as thick. The taste is terrific! Thanks so much for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2010

      This recipe is awesome! Very simple to make. I accidentally added the whole tub of cream cheese and it was still wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2010

      These were simple and tasted amazing! I only had one pound of red potatoes so I divided the recipe into thirds and it turned out great. I also only had regular cream cheese...next time I will make sure I try the cream cheese with chives and onions. DH kept saying these are awesome potatoes! Definitely a keeper in our house! thx!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2009

      These were an hit with our dinner guests last night! Not only are they tasty but they are incredibly easy to fix. I love recipes that I can utilize the crock pot for, especially during the summer when it's too hot to turn the oven on. These will be prepared many more times in this house. One of my closest friends not only requested the recipe but took the leftovers home! I doubled the recipe for 8 of us and am I glad I did, there was only about 2 cups of potatoes left. I can't imagine how these would come out gummy, ours were the perfect consistency for potatoes. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2009

    • on January 04, 2009

      These potatoes were great! I didn't have any cream cheese so I substituted sour cream and omitted the milk. Every single one in my family made a comment about how delicious the potatoes were! Will definitely make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2007

      My family just loved this recipe. Very easy. I carmelize the minced garlic with about 1/2 cup diced onion in olive oil, and add that to the pot at the beginning of cooking. Low-fat cream cheese without additions is added at the end of cooking. I have now made it twice, and there are never any leftovers!! This recipe is a real keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2007

      DH and I realy loved this recipe. I cut it in half, there is just DH an I. I thought this came out perfect. Based on the other reviews, 1/2 thought it was great and 1/2 thought it was over done. I only cooked on high for 2 hours, mashed and tasted, this really needs more salt. I added an additional 2 tsp. (I never add salt to a recipe, this is the 1st time.) I also added some ground pepper. This was so easy and I plan to make this again, Thanks, Lvs2Cook for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2006

      Mine were too gummy too and were an unattractive brown color. I chopped the potatoes in the food processor before throwing them in the crockpot. Maybe my pieces were too small. Other than that, I followed the recipe. Didn't keep the leftovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2006

      I was looking for a way to use up some red skinned potatoes without heating up my whole house, and this was perfect! I cooked them on low for about six hours (I was out of the house for that long) and they were a little brown - but still good. This is a keeper recipe - easy and tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2005

      A little too gummy for our taste - Tossed the rest and probably won't make again...sorry...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2005

      We didn't seem to enjoy these as much as everyone else. With the exception of using "light" cream cheese I followed the directions exactly as written. I also had to add a little extra water twice as the potatoes started burning.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2005

      These have to be the EASIEST smashed potatoes to make and are just like what you get in the restaurant. Love this recipe and it works wonderfully with crockpot beef barbeque (14220) -- make one ahead and reheat to have a fabulous dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2005

      These were awesome! I loved the flavor. The cream cheese added such a nice touch to these great potatoes. Like another reviewer said, I am sure they are a lot healthier than potatoes that are loaded with butter. Made these for company, and got a "tastes like I'm in a restaurant" comment! Will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2005

      OK, I have one word for these potatoes: Luscious!!! And so easy. I made about 2 1/2 lbs. of red potatoes, and they were tender after 3 hours on high (my crockpot runs hot). I followed the recipe exactly, and let me tell you -- just like a fine restaurant. And I'm sure that these are healthier than potatoes that are loaded up with butter -- the cream cheese makes a nice consistency. Thank you for sharing your recipe. I will be making these often! --Marla, AZ

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2004

      Well I used ontario white potatoes but the results were still great. I didnt leave a lot of skins on and couldnt find the right cream cheese but I used Ranch flavoured. However It was a perfect mix and everyone loved them! They were so moist I couldnt believe it but just perfect! Thanks for a new Christmas keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2004

      Mashed potatoes just don't get any easier than this...throw cut up potatoes, peels and all, in a crockpot. Mash and stir some stuff in. That's it! I made these just as stated in the recipe, the garlic and flavored cream cheese were very nice. Served them with a roast made in the other crockpot. It was a lovely dinner on a day when I had no time to cook. Thanks, Lvs2Cook, I'll use this one often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2004

      Oh My Oh My! I highy recommend these. I mashed them in the Kitchenaid, leaving a few chunks which I love. Yummy. I'll make these again, and again. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2004

      Great recipe! I never would have thought to make mashed potatoes in the crockpot, but these turned out very nicely. They have a nice creamy texture, and I always enjoy garlic flavored potatoes. Savory enough to serve without gravy, but also fine with gravy. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Garlic Smashed Red Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (264 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 319.0
     
    Calories from Fat 70
    22%
    Total Fat 7.8 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 2.1 mg
    0%
    Sodium 610.5 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 55.8 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 5.8 g
    23%
    Sugars 3.4 g
    13%
    Protein 7.1 g
    14%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    cream cheese with chives and onions

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites