45 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Taste great.I'm going to try substitute the butter with olive/canola oil.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aidakalik February 12, 2015

I read these reviews before trying my hand at the recipe and it helped me modify it. Instead of 6-8 hrs on high in the slow cooker, I did about 2.5 and the texture was perfect. Very juicy, but not totally falling apart like pulled chicken. The problem is the seasoning this recipe calls for. While it only asks for a tbsp to coat 6 halves, I probably used more like 3-4. I also used an extra .5-1 cup of broth. The result was just a bit too bland but I can tell it has potential. On a scale from 1 to 10 in blandness, it was about a 5. I'll definitely reuse this recipe again though but will be a bit more heavy handed on the salt and see what other seasonings popular Rosemary chicken recipes call for.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bhaynes February 02, 2015

Great base recipe. I added sautéed onions, carrots, grape tomatoes, a splash of champagne salad dressing, bay leaves, cinnamon, nutmeg and sea salt. Only cooked for 2.5 hours. It came out great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie W. February 10, 2014

My hubby prepared this and started the crock pot before we left for work this morning. We both questioned whether five cloves of garlic might be too much, but it really was the perfect amount. The chicken turned out juicy and tender with a nice, subtle garlic-rosemary flavor. My only complaint was the amount of butter indicated in the recipe, as we felt 1/2 cup was just way too much for our liking. I would recommend decreasing the amount of butter to 1/4 cup. Otherwise, this was a delicious and easy dish. Thanks so much for sharing your recipe, Foxfyre!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarthaStewartWanabe March 06, 2013

I modified the recipe by using only 3 tablespoons of butter to cook the garlic in a pan with salt and pepper then added 3 tablespoons of flour and cooked for 1 minute. I added 1.5 cups of chicken stock to make a rue. I pored the rue over the salted and peppered chicken and added potatoes and the herbs and set to cook for the 8 hours. This was a hit at my dinner table. I served it with brussel sprouts and my boyfriend suggested i add mushrooms to the crockpot next time. I cant wait to make it again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cesilv February 12, 2013

Made this today - 8 hours on low. I added enough chicken broth to cover the meat to protect against drying out. It was perfect!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ajwills November 27, 2012

Excellent ! The chicken did become dried out. So I wont leave it in so long. 6 Hours was too long. Would definately make extra sauce.. Will make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mammabear720 June 19, 2012

good but a bit dry

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VivaLaVaites January 03, 2012

QUICK AND EASY!!!! I did not put this in the Crock Pot because I needed it in an hour for Christmas Dinner. I browned each side then added 1 cup of broth (because I had 2 lbs of chicken), garlic, salt, pepper, butter, parsley. I did add my own touch and added a pinch of thyme and a splash or two ;) of white wine also a few slices of onions. Then I let everything cook over medium heat for about 25 minutes. Then made my mom try everything and she said it was great! So I picked the lemons out and through them away then picked out chicken and onions and put them in a dish. I added a bit of flour and thickened up the liquid to make it a bit thicker. Topped the chicken with the 'gravy' and fresh parsley. I served the chicken ontop of a bed of arugula and tomatoes. I do not eat meat but I do not have any leftovers and only 4 people eating it so must have been good! Will do it next time in a crock pot to test it out.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jacki314 December 25, 2011

decent recipe. flavor is a bit bland and the chicken was a bit dry. easy prep though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lmt425 September 13, 2010
Crock Pot Garlic-Rosemary Chicken Breast