Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Garlic Mashed Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Garlic Mashed Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on September 15, 2002

      These were wonderful ChrisMc. So easy to throw in the crockpot and forget about them. I used a potato masher and the potatoes came out very smooth and not lumpy. We all loved the garlic flavor. Thanks :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2003

      I had to have a meal ready when my daughter got home from school so she had enough time to get ready for her dance recital. This was easy to get together in the morning. What made it more appealing is I was able to mash them right in the crockpot. Turned it to low to keep them warm while I sliced my roast and got it ready for my company. Served it with #32215.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2014

      Like some others, my potatoes turned brown too. This method didn't save me any time, and I ended up dumping out my batch for brown potatoes. I see other had success, but I don't think I'll try the crockpot method for potatoes again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2014

      These were excellent! I utilized this recipe for Thanksgiving to save real-estate on my stove top. I added chives and cream cheese and the addition made for a creamier mash. Considering using this recipe on game-day, with a variety of toppings on the side so guests can tailor their potatoes how they prefer. Who wouldn't love a mashed potatoe buffet!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2013

      Okay, first things first. If you like white, perfectly whipped mashed potatoes... move on. The best way I can describe these is rustic. They are yellowish, lumpy, have skins.... and are freaking delicious! Seriously. I made them overnight so they'd be ready for dinner the next day, and I wanted to eat mashed potatoes for breakfast. I had some garlic parmesan butter (sold at Sam's Club), so I just used that instead of the garlic. I used a masher and probably could have kept mashing away to get them smoother, but I don't mind lumpy mashed potatoes. My only piece of advice would be to add the milk gradually when you mash them. I threw it all in and probably could have just used 2/3 of it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2013

      When I first found this recipealso thought it was , I was excited! Not so much when serving them. I didn't like the texture. I also thought the garlic taste was too strong.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2012

      I liked this easy recipe along with the taste, I served it with butter and sour cream. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

      I had a bit of trouble with these. First of all This recipe only made 5 servings for me. I cooked them on low for about 5 hrs. and some of them, not sure if they were the ones on top or on the bottom) got rubbery and didn't mash. I also had to use more than 1 cup of milk to get them to a correct texture. They were very stiff with the amount called for. That said, I really enjoyed the connivence and they tasted great. I will use this again when I want a quick meal when we get home from church.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2010

      This was wonderful. The only change I made was I only cooked it for 3.5 hours on low because my crock pot seems to cook faster/hotter than others and I added a bit more salt. This was a wonderful recipe that I will use again and again. The potatoes were extremely creamy when I blended them. Two thumbs up!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2009

      The method worked great, and the end product was a success!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2007

      Yum! These were delicious! Easy too. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2007

      After looking at these in the crock pot after six hours, I got really distressed when it appeared the milk had curdled while cooking. After smelling and asking DH's opinion, we went ahead with whipping them with a hand held mixer. They actually turned out really good. The garlic flavor came out really nice. This is a great recipe for Thanksgiving when you have a million other things to make, and just need something easy to set aside. Doesn't really beat out your typical home style mashed potatoes, but is a good alternative.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2007

      These were just okay. My teen-age kids did not like them at all. I will not make this recipe again,I will just stick with my classic mashed potatoes recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2007

      These were wonderful. I was home all day so stirred them a couple of times. I cut the potatoes into 1 inch cubes and cooked on high for 2 hours and they seemed to be cooking fast so I turned to low for another 2. They were finished in exactly 4 hours. I have a large, oval crock pot so it may cook a bit faster... I also added a teeny bit more water because I was worried about them browning. I ended up just using the hand mixer and blending them right there in the crockpot before dinner and they had the consistency of red potatoes even though I used regular. The garlic in them mashed right in (I added an extra couple cloves). YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2006

      I followed the recipe exactly, and I just can't agree with most of these reviews. First, I found this to serve 4-5 people, not 8-10. I followed step 1, then put my crockpot on low (planning on 7 hours). Less than 5 hours later, the potatoes were all soft, but the exposed ones on top had gotten a brown tough exterior so they didn't mash smoothly. The garlic was too strong and odd-tasting after roasting that long, and I added probably over 2 cups of milk and still had very stiff mashed potatoes. They were edible; I told my guests (hubby's boss and wife!) that they were "smashed" potatoes to explain the texture. Sorry, but I won't be making again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2006

      I used red potatos as my baking potatos had gone bad...This was really easy and really good. I took the easy way and used a mixer mash mine up...just let me worn you that even with a deep crock pot you need to mash them a little yourself at first...to avoid spraying your kitchen walls with potato mush and juices....its and easy clean though even if you do...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2005

      This was a wonderful tasting side dish. I served it with Chicken fried chicken and it was a big hit. This will be served often at my house. Thanks Chris

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2005

    • on December 03, 2005

      I made these for Thanksgiving, and it was so nice to have a free burner on the stove. The potatoes did turn out a little yellowish, but no one seemed to care. I added 5 cloves of garlic, which made them very garlicky. This made enough potatoes for about 10 people.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2005

      This recipe is great! Although the potatoes seem to take on a slightly yellowish color, the flavor and ease well make up for it. I might not ever make potatoes on the stovetop again! I will also be trying out this recipe for the holidays...as my family thinks mashed potatoes are way too much work, (and as a result, they only make instant!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Garlic Mashed Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (126 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 146.3
     
    Calories from Fat 37
    25%
    Total Fat 4.1 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 2.5 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 11.9 mg
    3%
    Sodium 408.6 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.8 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 1.0 g
    4%
    Protein 3.2 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes