35 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was good. We tend to like stronger flavours in our house. I used boneless skinless chicken breasts and cooked it on high for four hours. It would probably be better with boneless skinless thighs if I make it again. We don't eat whole chicken and especially chicken with skin on. The serving suggestion for French bread was spot on and actually our favourite part of the meal. The garlic spread was flavourful. I will try this again with thighs. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cyaos May 08, 2008

This was intense! Came home to SUCH a fragrance of herbs and garlic. It was wonderful made with skinless thighs and breasts and was done in 5 hours on High.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarpea February 24, 2004

I only give 5 stars to recipes that I'll be making again! This was really good! It's going to be a great winter dish. The only thing I did different was to use skinless chicken pieces.Left one with the skin on and added sauteed onions.I used my electric roaster,will use the crockpot next time,late start!Thanks for the wonderful recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cindy in PA. September 05, 2003

This is only ok.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cuppycakes March 29, 2014

This was tasty... smearing happy garlic cloves on French bread was wonderful. I skipped the celery and user white wine instead of chicken broth.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Soldier Girl October 02, 2011

VERY, VERY good! The roasted garlic was AMAZING! You definitely want fresh bread to spread this on. I added potatoes to the bottom and rubbed the chicken with a packet of onion soup mix. Otherwise followed to the letter. We LOVED this! I cooked on high for one hour and 4 hours on low. My pot cooks hot so base this on your own pot. Wonderful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RedVinoGirl April 22, 2010

It falls to pieces when you take it out of the crock pot. I used dried herbs, and don't be afraid to be a little generous with them. Don't skimp on the garlic. Very yummy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Steve & Patty May 25, 2009

This was very nice. Next time I will add more garlic though. I will also try with wine instead of stock.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tanya84 December 20, 2008

I added way more garlic (already peeled), but next time I'll add much more than that. The garlic kind of melts and spreads really well onto baguette bread. The meat was really tender and flavorful. I'm going to cook two at a time, loaded with garlic, so I can have lots of left-overs.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Grace-AK September 19, 2008

I don't know how big your sprigs of herbs are, but mine are LARGE (thank goodness !). The flavor of the meat was amazing. I didn't use chicken broth, instead I use 1/2 cup alcohol free white wine, and later added boiling water. We used 6 thighs as that is what I had. I also made some french bread. The meat was fabulous, but the garlic wasn't. I ended up giving the garlic to the chickens. There was no "broth" in my crock pot. This new one runs hot ! It boils on low! Not happy with this new CP, but I was happy with the flavor of the meat. All the kids liked it and were asking for more .

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
razzintaz July 23, 2008
Crock pot GARLIC GARLIC GARLIC Chicken!