Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Slow-Cooker Favorites

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    52 Low-and-Slow Meals
    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    Try Potatoes, Pizza or Cake
    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Effortless One-Pot Treats
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Garlic Brown Sugar Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Garlic Brown Sugar Chicken

    Average Rating:

    321 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 321

    Sort by:

    • on July 05, 2002

      Yummy, yummy dinner! I substituted plump skinless boneless breasts for the recipe's stated chicken pieces (which would be with both skin and bone) and cut the cooking time down to 4 hours at Low. Please remember, those that complained of this being dry, that this recipe is designed for both white and dark meat, with skin and bone -- which would take longer to cook and be moister than plain breasts. My chicken was tender, but I believe if I had let it cook even 30 minutes longer than the 4 hours it would have started to turn dry. The only other change I made was to reduce the sugar to 3/4 cup. This was extremely easy to put together and having it cook away on the counter on a hot humid day was certainly a blessing. Thanks to this recipe, my rice cooker, and a green salad, I had an excellent hot dinner without using the stove or oven! Thanks for the recipe Mirjam; it was delicious and everyone enjoyed it -- no leftovers at all!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2002

      I fell in love with the recipe but didn't have the time for a crockpot meal so I made it on top of the stove. All the same ingredients just in my new cast-iron skillet. It only took about 45 minutes from start to finish. (the boneless chicken breasts were frozen so some of that time was for thawing) Once I tasted the sauce, I HAD to double it so that I would have PLENTY left for lunch tomorrow. I also topped it with chopped green onions. Absolutely AWESOME!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2002

      I always love the tenderness of chicken cooked in the crockpot. The combination of garlic, brown sugar, and soy sauce was great. I'd never thought to put them together in that manner before now. I used skinless chicken breasts instead of the whole chicken. I don't think it made much difference in the recipe - just my personal preference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2002

      I made several changes to this recipe as suggested in a couple of reviews. I used 1 and 1/2 boneless skinless breasts and a pound of boneless and skinless thighs. I added a small onion, 1/2 green and 1/2 red peppers chopped. I also sautéed the garlic onion and peppers first. I then browned the chicken in a little safflower oil to seal the juices. I used 1/2 teaspoon black pepper and 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper. Total cooking time was 3 hours and 15 minutes. It is absoulutely delicious tender and juicy!! I can't wait for dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2002

      The taste was great, but the meat was somewhat overdone after 8 hours cooking - I will make it again, but next time try only 6 hours.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2002

      This was really good, and different from anything I usually make. It was easy to make. Next time I think I'll try it with onions and bell peppers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2002

      This sauce is delicious and makes a perfect topping for rice. It flavors and marinates the chicken wonderfully while cooking. Since the chicken literally falls off the bone when finished, I also cut the meat into small pieces, mixed it with the rice, then topped all with the thickened sauce. Made a great meal with a side combo of broccoli/carrots and sliced fresh tomatoes. I did reduce the cooking time. Great recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2002

      My whole family loved this chicken recipe and it was so easy to prepare. I also used the boneless chicken breast the second time I fixed it. This is a keeper!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2002

      I made this with boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut into strips about the size of the breast tenderloin. The chicken seemed a little dry, but I figured that's the nature of the cut I used (I'm sure it would have been fine with a whole cut up chicken, but DH doesn't like dark meat!); some of it still fell apart on it's own, though. The combination of flavors was wonderful; I thickened the sauce with some cornstarch & served it over penne pasta. I will make this again! -M

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2002

      I made this yesterday; I thought it was pretty good but my husband loved it. Said it reminded him of sesame chicken. Was very easy to throw together - I used regular boneless chicken breasts and served with rice and carrots. Would definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2002

      This was really great! I ended up pulling the meat off the bones and shreding it into the sauce which I thickened with cornstarch, served it over a pan-fried noodle cake. Awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2002

      This recipe is excellent. I used a whole cut up chicken but took off the skin. I noticed that the liquid was below the level of the chicken, so I turned the pieces about an hour before the end. If people are using skinless chicken pieces (especially breasts only), this might be why theirs dried out. Ours were succulent and falling off the bone.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2002

      This was a HUGE hit with my family! Not that my toddler is a fussy eater, on the contrary he is a tiny kid who eats like a truck driver, but even he literally SCARFED this down and bugged for more! Hubby loved it as well. I served it with plain rice that we added the juice to. I used drumsticks, and I think next time I would rather try boneless or shredded chicken to mix with the rice altogether. FABULOUS!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2002

      I love the taste but it was very, very dry. Is there anyway to keep the chicken moist?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2002

      I made this with boneless skinless chicken breast. The chicken was very tender, but was very dry. Any suggestions? The favor was excellant, served it over noodles.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2002

      I have made these twice now. I also use boneless/skinless chicken breasts. My crockpot cooked them to "perfection" in just a little over 4 hours. I used apple vinegar and Sprite, however I used 1/2 teaspoon of regular black pepper AND 1/2 teaspoon cayenne and it was just right for us. The second time I made them and after they cooled down, I cubed the chicken in bite-size pieces and added them to a meat/cheese platter that I had already prepared for an appetizer party I attended. The crowd went wild and asked for the recipe. The next time I make the platter, I will definitely cut back on the trail balogna, pepperoni, etc that I normally put on it and add MORE of this fabulous chicken. It really added a nice zip to a normally boring platter. Mirj, I am so glad I found this recipe. Thank you so much. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2002

      Wow! We did this while we were on vacation last month, used chicken thighs and left it cook for about 10 hours...It was so tender the meat fell off the bones and the chicken was delicious! We served it over plain white rice, and I didn't have anything with me with which to thicken the sauce, but it was still wonderful. I think I may add a little more soy sauce next time, just for fun. Thanks for an easy meal - and it did smell great!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2002

      When I read that the chicken got dry for some cooks, I didn't believe it, but it did. Weird! Acutally, I think all this recipe needs is a little oil or something similar to seal in moisture. The vinegar and soy dried the chicken out, I'm sure. The taste was great - a little too sweet, so I added a beef bouillon cube (didn't have any chicken ones) and about 1/4 cup of cooking sherry. Served this over noodles w/a side of corn and homemade bread. Thickened the sauce too. I may make it again, but will tweak the recipe a bit. It does remind you of a Chinese dish. I'm really not trying to plug one of my recipes, but if you like moist chicken in the crockpot, try Chicken Delicious... very easy and yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2002

      I made this yesterday. WONDERFUL!!! My husband and I both loved it, it fell right off the bone when done cooking. I had no problem with dryness it stayed very moist for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2002

      This was okay, but not what I had hoped for. Again, I tried a recipe that I would normally pass over(lack of info) because of the glowing reviews. I had no idea as to what type vinegar to use, white, rice, sherry, balsamic, so I opted for apple cider as I thought that was a common type. What type did other reviewers use? I cut the amounts for everything in half because I was using 4 boneless chicken breasts and that is roughly equal to half a chicken. I cooked 6 hrs on low and the chicken was quite dry, and the sauce way too sweet. I may try again with half the amount of sugar called for and perhaps sherry wine vinegar. And definitely cook for less time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 17

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Garlic Brown Sugar Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (236 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 486.5
     
    Calories from Fat 208
    42%
    Total Fat 23.1 g
    35%
    Saturated Fat 6.6 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 115.0 mg
    38%
    Sodium 454.7 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.5 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 36.6 g
    146%
    Protein 29.4 g
    58%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes