326 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Yummy, yummy dinner! I substituted plump skinless boneless breasts for the recipe's stated chicken pieces (which would be with both skin and bone) and cut the cooking time down to 4 hours at Low. Please remember, those that complained of this being dry, that this recipe is designed for both white and dark meat, with skin and bone -- which would take longer to cook and be moister than plain breasts. My chicken was tender, but I believe if I had let it cook even 30 minutes longer than the 4 hours it would have started to turn dry. The only other change I made was to reduce the sugar to 3/4 cup. This was extremely easy to put together and having it cook away on the counter on a hot humid day was certainly a blessing. Thanks to this recipe, my rice cooker, and a green salad, I had an excellent hot dinner without using the stove or oven! Thanks for the recipe Mirjam; it was delicious and everyone enjoyed it -- no leftovers at all!

154 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lennie July 05, 2002

I fell in love with the recipe but didn't have the time for a crockpot meal so I made it on top of the stove. All the same ingredients just in my new cast-iron skillet. It only took about 45 minutes from start to finish. (the boneless chicken breasts were frozen so some of that time was for thawing) Once I tasted the sauce, I HAD to double it so that I would have PLENTY left for lunch tomorrow. I also topped it with chopped green onions. Absolutely AWESOME!

93 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Malriah June 13, 2002

I always love the tenderness of chicken cooked in the crockpot. The combination of garlic, brown sugar, and soy sauce was great. I'd never thought to put them together in that manner before now. I used skinless chicken breasts instead of the whole chicken. I don't think it made much difference in the recipe - just my personal preference.

80 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elizabeth Fullerton February 05, 2002

I made several changes to this recipe as suggested in a couple of reviews. I used 1 and 1/2 boneless skinless breasts and a pound of boneless and skinless thighs. I added a small onion, 1/2 green and 1/2 red peppers chopped. I also sautéed the garlic onion and peppers first. I then browned the chicken in a little safflower oil to seal the juices. I used 1/2 teaspoon black pepper and 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper. Total cooking time was 3 hours and 15 minutes. It is absoulutely delicious tender and juicy!! I can't wait for dinner!

57 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rossana leblanc August 21, 2002

The taste was great, but the meat was somewhat overdone after 8 hours cooking - I will make it again, but next time try only 6 hours.

50 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kstein April 07, 2002

This was really good, and different from anything I usually make. It was easy to make. Next time I think I'll try it with onions and bell peppers.

44 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ClassyMarySue March 09, 2002

This sauce is delicious and makes a perfect topping for rice. It flavors and marinates the chicken wonderfully while cooking. Since the chicken literally falls off the bone when finished, I also cut the meat into small pieces, mixed it with the rice, then topped all with the thickened sauce. Made a great meal with a side combo of broccoli/carrots and sliced fresh tomatoes. I did reduce the cooking time. Great recipe!!!

41 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ninja April 29, 2002

My whole family loved this chicken recipe and it was so easy to prepare. I also used the boneless chicken breast the second time I fixed it. This is a keeper!!!

39 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HELEN42 February 12, 2002

I made this with boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut into strips about the size of the breast tenderloin. The chicken seemed a little dry, but I figured that's the nature of the cut I used (I'm sure it would have been fine with a whole cut up chicken, but DH doesn't like dark meat!); some of it still fell apart on it's own, though. The combination of flavors was wonderful; I thickened the sauce with some cornstarch & served it over penne pasta. I will make this again! -M

35 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary Scheffert March 20, 2002

I made this yesterday; I thought it was pretty good but my husband loved it. Said it reminded him of sesame chicken. Was very easy to throw together - I used regular boneless chicken breasts and served with rice and carrots. Would definitely make again.

34 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen Willson March 26, 2002
Crock Pot Garlic Brown Sugar Chicken