Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot French Onion Soup for the Lazy! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot French Onion Soup for the Lazy!

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on January 03, 2014

      Delicious and TOO easy! I had large, softball sized onions, and a small 2 qt crock pot, so I cut the recipe in half, and just used 1 onion. It was superb and simple! Thanks, Mimi!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2012

      Although I'm sure it enhances the flavor of this soup, the French onion dip mix is probably the culprit contributing to the excessively high sodium content of this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2011

      nice to wake up to!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2009

      Oh, this is awesome! I put some garlic, a diced jalapeno, and sliced portobello stems for extra flavour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2008

      Wow! This was great. My very picky husband LOVES French onion soup and I've been meaning to try making it for him. I made it today and it was a HIT! Yay. I used 5 large white onions, 2 - 900ml boxes of fat free beef broth and 2 pkgs of onion soup mix. The flavour is great, but I think I would use only 4 large onions next time. I topped them with cheese and garlic croutons, a sprinkle of parmesean and a handful of mozzerella. I had mine without the onions as I don't care for them in large pieces, and it was great! This made more like 8 servings for me. I think I used more broth than was called for, but it was still very thick and rich.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2007

      So easy and so good! My first time maming onion soup from scratch and now I will be a fiend with it. I did make some changes as I was out of onion soup mix, subbed in dried onions, beef granules, garlic powder to compensate. I also added in some salt and pepper to taste and some worchestire sauce (1 tbsp) to kick it a bit. Thisis an excellent and so simple recipe to make. It will be on my holiday table for Christmas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2007

      You could retitle this "french onion soup for the frantic and disorganized!" This soup was awesome and I did everything possible to mess it up. I had a crazy morning and didn't get a chance to start the soup until 11:20 when I had to leave again at 11:30. I only had concentrated beef broth and wasn't sure if onion dip mix was the same as onion soup mix, the latter being what I had on hand. And I only had enough ingredients for half a recipe. So I used the concentrated broth but added some extra water, and used the onion soup mix. I had Vidallia onions, and they were so big, I only needed two. I started the soup on low and cranked it to high for 1.5 hours in the middle, then back to low for a total of 5.5 hours. Definitely did step three with the bread and cheese. We all loved it! Thanks Mimi for a real winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2007

      Excellent tasting and so easy to make! I did add 1 T brown sugar and 2 packages of the dry French Onion dip. I did add step 3 using French bread and Swiss cheese. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot French Onion Soup for the Lazy!

    Serving Size: 1 (505 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 98.3
     
    Calories from Fat 5
    49%
    Total Fat 0.6 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1670.4 mg
    69%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.6 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
    11%
    Sugars 7.0 g
    28%
    Protein 7.6 g
    15%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    onion dip mix

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes