11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

In my opinion, 4 onions is too many for this. I only used 3 and still had to add some more broth. It was very good. I added an extra clove of garlic - couldn't help it. I placed the bread and cheese in the bottom of the bowl and poured the soup over it so the bread got nice and soft. Very nice recipe Miller. Thanks.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jill77 January 28, 2003

After looking at many of the french onion soup recipes I made several changes.I added a half teaspoon of dried thyme, and used less butter. I used regular onions because sweet onions are hard to find this time of year. Croutons were used to save time. I topped with a combo of romano and parmesan cheese. This is the best french onion soup I have ever tasted and my husband agrees. I tried freezing it and it was delicious. Do remember not to add croutons and cheese if you will be freezing it. Thanks to all the recipes that helped in this process. Enjoy!! Robyn a.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
robyn anton January 26, 2003

pretty good, easy to make; good as well the next day when I added some blue cheese. Wow, what a taste!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
woodland hues January 15, 2003

As much as we love French Onion Soup, this recipe was a disappointment. The soup did not have as much flavor as I would have liked, was rather thin and we ended up just eating the loaf of bread I had gotten to go along with it...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HGnaien August 20, 2008

Excellent, made it for New Years Day-DH raved! The only substitute ingrediend was ale instead of white wine.( Didn't have any white wine opened). I also added a bay leaf and some thyme. Will definitely make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katsmutti January 01, 2008

This was so ridiculously easy to make! My family LOVES french onion soup and this is the recipe I used to make it at home for the first time. Now, they can't stop asking for more. I loved it and will use this recipe every time I make it. Thank you for sharing this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jodenic November 20, 2007

My first time making/eating French onion soup. It was easy to make, and the flavor was very strong.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yogiclarebear October 06, 2007

better than any restaurants i have had!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sat.rudd December 26, 2006

Me: *sniff*sniff* What smells like onions? DH: The whole house. You just spent the entire day yesterday cooking onions, what do you expect? LOL!!! This is wonderful! I screwed up and didn't saute the onions (which I will do next time) but the soup was wonderful. Don't skip the sherry. It adds a very nice flavor. We had ours topped with shredded swiss cheese. YUM!! I'll be making this again. DH loves French Onion soup and this is easy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dicentra November 06, 2006

Wow! I first made Miller's Beef Stock #23285 and then continued with this awsome onion soup recipe. Four onions is not too many! I cooked mine until they were brown and caramelized then adding them and the rest of the ingredients to the crockpot. I followed the recipe to a T except for adding salt and pepper to taste. My husband and I both loved the deep rich flavor and will scrap every other onion soup recipe in favor of this one.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Geema June 14, 2006
Crock Pot French Onion Soup