Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot French-Ish Chicken & Barley Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot French-Ish Chicken & Barley

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on February 10, 2010

      This is fabulous. My DH, who can't get over barley that's not in soup, did not get this concept; I boldly told him that I can get another husband! I made as directed -- the French way -- sans crockpot -- and couldn't be happier with the results! Could be happier with the DH, but that's another story! Lol! Made for Aussie Make My Recipe tag game.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2011

      This was great, however I did not use the crockpot. I took MsSally's advice and changed things a bit. I boiled the broth and let the barley soak in it while I browned the chicken and then sauteed the vegetables. Once the vegetables were done, I put everything together in the pot, covered, and cooked at 350 degrees for 30 minutes. I was absolutely wonderful and I didn't have to dirty the crockpot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2011

      I must say I did make a mistake first off by reducing hte amount made. There are only 2 of us so I cut the recipe in half. MY MISTAKE! This is comfort food to beat comfort food. I was a bit skeptical, I use barley in soups and stews but thought what they heck. I am so glad I did. With each bite a different flavor was highlighted from the celery, to the carrots, to the bacon pieces mixed over the chicken. An explosion so subtle on the tongue you had to savor each bite. I had a lot of bites as I ate 2 small servings. I need to save some for leftovers LOL. This is wonderful. And so easy in the CROCK! I got to smell it all day! Thank you. Made for AUS/NZ Swap 48

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2010

      I loved the concept of this recipe - but it didn't sit well in my belly - with all the fat from the bacon and fat from the chicken intermixed with the barley....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2009

      I took a few liberties with this one! I used the ingredients listed but at Step 4, I took a left turn! I decided to make this into soup because I love barley in soup. I cut up the chicken, threw everthing in the pot, added about 8 cups of broth and let it simmer! The flavours are delicious so you definitely get 5 stars! The Herbes de Provence adds a great taste. I have to admit that I didn't use the crockpot. Usually I use it for an all day cooking method. I made this for my ZWT5 Kitchen Witch buddy. Thanks! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2009

      This was easy to make and tasted very good. It came out of the crock just perfect without any burnt edges. I used the whole 10 pack of legs that I bought. The barley was very tender at then end. I will be making this again. Made during * Zaar World Tour 5* 2009 game for team *Genies of Gourmet*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2008

      This is wonderful and will definitely serve 6 people. By adding a few more chicken pieces I think it would make 8 nice servings. I wasn't sure if the barley was quick cooking or not. I used a medium pearl which worked beautifully. The ingredients list shows 1/2 cup water but I'm not sure where it would go. I didn't need or use it. Due to diet restrictions, the chicken was browned in a little olive oil and the bacon fat discarded. I really liked that it was precooked and finished up in the crock-pot. That allowed me to come home, get dinner on and tend to other business. This was an excellent use of contest ingredients and very original. Good luck in the contest.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2008

      This was great flavor wise, however, IMHO defeats the use of the crockpot. With that said, I made this in my oven in about 40 mins with boneless skinless thighs. Wonderful array of flavors. I braised the chicken throughly, then removed from the pan. Sauted the veggies and added the broth, brought to a boil, added barley and chicken covered and put in 350 oven for 30 mins. Cooked to perfection. Like I stated this is a great recipe, just not for the crockpot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot French-Ish Chicken & Barley

    Serving Size: 1 (330 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 779.5
     
    Calories from Fat 436
    55%
    Total Fat 48.4 g
    74%
    Saturated Fat 14.8 g
    74%
    Cholesterol 157.0 mg
    52%
    Sodium 992.5 mg
    41%
    Total Carbohydrate 45.8 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 9.1 g
    36%
    Sugars 3.1 g
    12%
    Protein 39.0 g
    78%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    herbes de provence

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites