Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Crock Pot Fat Free Refried Beans for the Freezer - OAMC Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crock Pot Fat Free Refried Beans for the Freezer - OAMC

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on February 24, 2012

      Great tasting bean recipe. Followed recipe to the letter and ended up with way too much liquid, maybe a error on my part or my beans, but after blending with my imersion blender I had refried bean soup! Added a can of kidney beans, mashed, and cooked on high uncovered in slow cooker for another 3 hours and they were perfect. Flavor was great and have 4 small containers in the freezer of good, fat free beans after dinner last night. Will make again, next time I will remove the liquid before blending and add as needed to avoid bean soup. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2014

      I followed everything perfectly. I did add a few slices of celery as well as onion. My only complaint was it was way too runny. Next time I will drain a lot of the fluid before I start mashing. The coffee seemed weird but the flavor was great, just not the consistency I was going for.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2012

      Super recipe! I cook lots of beans and I'm always looking for something new and a little different.I've never cooked beans with cilantro before and I'm not sure why. Its a marriage made in heaven. These smelled amazing while cooking. My DH had worked all night and I started these in the morning when he got home. He went to bed and woke up a few hours later asking me how I can expect him to sleep when the smell of delicious things cooking kept waking him up. It'll be so nice to have these ready in the freezer to use whenever needed. So much better than canned. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2012

      I did this recently and it worked out wonderfully. I keep my beans whole incase I need them for chili or baked beans, instead of refried beans. I use my food processor to mash them up for refried beans. Delicious, easy and cheap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2012

      Loved these beans! I used 1 lb. black beans and 1 green onion. I also added a little more water to make 1 inch over beans, which was good because my crock was on warm 3 hours longer than I expected. Still turned out great. Not too watery and mashed quickly with my hand blender. We got 4 ziplocs for the freezer plus 1 for dinner that night. I can't wait to experiment with other beans and flavors.
      Also, I used the recipe builder for Weight Watchers, and it's 10 points plus for 1/4 the entire crock. Then divide by your number of servings.No HFCS like canned beans, low points, and SO easy! Thanks, Tish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2011

      Yum! Used an onion. Drained cooked beans before running through with the hand blender. Added salt and about 1/2 cup of Wonderful Salsa. Absolutely cannot believe I forgot to double the recipe. I would highly suggest doing so if making for the freezer. Tonight I used these for simple bean burritos which I threw in ziploc bags for the freezer. My notes: use regular-sized flour tortillas, beans, cheddar cheese, spray with oil and bake at 350 for 15 minutes. Makes 28. Thanks, Tish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2011

      These beans are phenomenal! I used a hot salsa so they had a great kick to them. I was worried about adding the coffee, but did it anyway and was not disappointed. I wouldn't change a thing. I used one yellow onion and a small celery stalk. Thanks Tish for a fabulous, fool proof way to make refried beans in the crock!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2011

      i loved my beans. i didn't use the coffee and used only an onion. i cooked them and used them in bean and cheese burritos that i put in my freezer. they are great for lunch. i pureed them with a little bit of the liquid until i got the consistency that i wanted.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2011

      These are wonderful! They taste just like refried beans should, and they were very easy to prepare. I used 1 diced onion AND one diced celery stalk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2010

      These are awesome. Great authentic flavor. Thanks for a great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2009

      Amazing!! I spread some on a tortilla with a slice of low fat cheese for my lunch, it was really great!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2009

      Don't really know what happened here but my beans had absolutely no taste. I don't know what I could have did wrong. I had to do a lot of doctoring to this recipe. I may have messed up after all of the "or this or that" ingredients. I read most of the reviews too. Not a keeper here.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2009

      I was intrigued by the coffee in the ingredient list so had to try the recipe. I thought they turned out well. I used the one cup of celery option & also added 2T onion flakes. The beans were tender, mashed easily, & I have packets in the freezer. A good day using the crockpot. =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2009

      I love refried beens!!! I lived in Mexico for 10 years and i miss them soo much. I haven't really tried this recipe but i will try it soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2008

      I so wanted to like this Tish! I had to throw the whole lot out because it tasted horrible! I am sure it was something I did wrong though. Onions sometimes have a bit of an odd taste if I put them in the slow cooker uncooked so it might have been that. Sorry but it didn't work for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2008

      Delicious. I scooped beans out and pureed without the extra liquid. I added a tad of the liquid over the beans before freezing. I also wilted the onion and garlic the night before (personal preference.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2008

      I put mine in the blender to mash and it worked great. I made these to go with my Mexican Fiesta along with Chicken Burritos, Jack-In-The-Box Tacos, and Mexican Rice. Great addition to our meal! I will be making again soon. Thank you Tish

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2007

      I followed the recipe to a tee and ended up with way too much liquid! I scooped the beans out of the crock pot with a spoon and mashed them that way. They are a little bland - probably because all the liquid was not absorbed. However, I think if I add some cheese, etc. the beans will be good. I am going to try this recipe again using less water.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2007

      I didn't have much luck with this recipe. The smells coming out of my kitchen all day were wonderful, but there was just way too much liquid in the end. I had to scoop out cupfuls of juice to have any luck at mashing the remaining beans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2006

      I'm going to try this again and rate it later ... but my first attempt was unsuccessful. My crockpot instructions warn against slow cooking beans without boiling them first (due to contaminants), so I boiled them first (in their soaking water) on the stove. The beans did soften, but they did NOT absorb anywhere near all the liquid. I should've just completely drained them, but instead I scooped about 3 cups of liquid out and attempted to mash them. It made a big squishy mess! I also think they are a bit bland ... but again, probably because they did not absorb enough of the "broth". Next time, I will put ALL the ingredients on the stove, bring them to a boil, and tip them into the crockpot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crock Pot Fat Free Refried Beans for the Freezer - OAMC

    Serving Size: 1 (1322 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 42.7
     
    Calories from Fat 10
    24%
    Total Fat 1.1 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1230.9 mg
    51%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.9 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 2.6 g
    10%
    Protein 1.6 g
    3%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    dried beans

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites