25 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great tasting bean recipe. Followed recipe to the letter and ended up with way too much liquid, maybe a error on my part or my beans, but after blending with my imersion blender I had refried bean soup! Added a can of kidney beans, mashed, and cooked on high uncovered in slow cooker for another 3 hours and they were perfect. Flavor was great and have 4 small containers in the freezer of good, fat free beans after dinner last night. Will make again, next time I will remove the liquid before blending and add as needed to avoid bean soup. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GIBride01 February 24, 2012

No one in our family was overly impressed with these. They were way too watery and the flavor was off. I made these with cilantro, wishing I would have used the onions. I may try to doctor them up. Can't say we'd make these again, sorry!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whtbxrmom February 05, 2015

I followed everything perfectly. I did add a few slices of celery as well as onion. My only complaint was it was way too runny. Next time I will drain a lot of the fluid before I start mashing. The coffee seemed weird but the flavor was great, just not the consistency I was going for.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
932ninja May 07, 2014

Super recipe! I cook lots of beans and I'm always looking for something new and a little different.I've never cooked beans with cilantro before and I'm not sure why. Its a marriage made in heaven. These smelled amazing while cooking. My DH had worked all night and I started these in the morning when he got home. He went to bed and woke up a few hours later asking me how I can expect him to sleep when the smell of delicious things cooking kept waking him up. It'll be so nice to have these ready in the freezer to use whenever needed. So much better than canned. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview October 22, 2012

I did this recently and it worked out wonderfully. I keep my beans whole incase I need them for chili or baked beans, instead of refried beans. I use my food processor to mash them up for refried beans. Delicious, easy and cheap.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
viviansmomma January 29, 2012

Loved these beans! I used 1 lb. black beans and 1 green onion. I also added a little more water to make 1 inch over beans, which was good because my crock was on warm 3 hours longer than I expected. Still turned out great. Not too watery and mashed quickly with my hand blender. We got 4 ziplocs for the freezer plus 1 for dinner that night. I can't wait to experiment with other beans and flavors.
Also, I used the recipe builder for Weight Watchers, and it's 10 points plus for 1/4 the entire crock. Then divide by your number of servings.No HFCS like canned beans, low points, and SO easy! Thanks, Tish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pampered Kris January 13, 2012

Yum! Used an onion. Drained cooked beans before running through with the hand blender. Added salt and about 1/2 cup of Wonderful Salsa. Absolutely cannot believe I forgot to double the recipe. I would highly suggest doing so if making for the freezer. Tonight I used these for simple bean burritos which I threw in ziploc bags for the freezer. My notes: use regular-sized flour tortillas, beans, cheddar cheese, spray with oil and bake at 350 for 15 minutes. Makes 28. Thanks, Tish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama December 31, 2011

These beans are phenomenal! I used a hot salsa so they had a great kick to them. I was worried about adding the coffee, but did it anyway and was not disappointed. I wouldn't change a thing. I used one yellow onion and a small celery stalk. Thanks Tish for a fabulous, fool proof way to make refried beans in the crock!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Emstar July 30, 2011

i loved my beans. i didn't use the coffee and used only an onion. i cooked them and used them in bean and cheese burritos that i put in my freezer. they are great for lunch. i pureed them with a little bit of the liquid until i got the consistency that i wanted.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
talko80 May 25, 2011

These are wonderful! They taste just like refried beans should, and they were very easy to prepare. I used 1 diced onion AND one diced celery stalk.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
acbinsc February 28, 2011
Crock Pot Fat Free Refried Beans for the Freezer - OAMC